1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my tax time upgrade

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by xBruce88x, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    well here are the parts i've decided on for my upgrade.

    Option one, if my tax return isn't as high as i'd hoped...

    Motherboard

    Video Card

    Power... module? (i've read pretty good reviews about the 350w model)

    Total $300USD

    or...

    Motherboard

    Memory

    CPU cooler

    Plus the video and power from above

    I'll be using HDD, dvd, power supply, memory (if needed) from my specs plus an Athlon II x4 630

    so... please give me your...

    [​IMG]
     
    More than 25k PPD
  2. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,395 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    AZ
    edit: nvm

    will post back in a sec

    keep your memory, new mobo should be able to unlock its potential and most ddr2 800 can clock to 1066 if you really need to. Also ditch the power module.

    for an ati card
    Open Box: PowerColor PCS+ AX6870 1GBD5-PP2DHGJ Rad...
    with ASRock A770DE+ AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Mother...
    and CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 CMPSU-430CX 430W ATX1...

    for an nvidia card.
    GIGABYTE GV-N560OC-1GI GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) ...
    with ASRock N68C-S UCC AM3/AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 7025... mobo

    and see if your current psu will handle it.

    performance reference http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Palit/GeForce_GTX_560_Ti_Sonic/28.html
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2011
  3. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,484 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    536
    if my tax return is pretty decent i'll be looking into upgrading to a 560 and selling my 460 for the cheap if your intrested. either way what you picked out looks good i dont know how i feel about that secondary psu though
     
  4. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    yea i understand about the secondary psu, as i've seen similar products with very poor reviews, but this one seems to have pretty good ones.

    maybe my psu will be enough... the 9600gt i have draws about 100watts, 8.4A, and a gtx460 draws only 60w/ 5A more. According to a psu calculator http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine the config i'll have will require a Recommended psu wattage of 468w, and that's with a %20 capacitor aging... what should i set the capacitor aging to for say... a psu reviewed in 2003 lol.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  5. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    well time for an update... i took my cpu to a comp shop nearby and it tested good, posted fine and everything. so that's a plus. also got a tax estimate and i should get over 1k so i'll have enough to get these parts.

    I just want to be sure about the current psu i have, its 480w, with a single 22A rail. the thing is about 8 years old. what's my video card options for that psu? will a GTX460 for sure work in it? I may end up going with a GTS450 depending on bills.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  6. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    you already have a decent psu. If you're not fussed about brands then go for an ATI card. They use less power and are just as fast. A 6850 or even 6870 will run fine on your existing power supply. That card with an i5 2400k processor, 4gb DDR3 and a new mb will make a sweet little machine.

    I would stay clear of the power module thingy, never heard many good things about any of them.
     
  7. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    thanks for the tip, I've already got an athlon II x4 so i'm gonna have to get an amd board. and i've already got 4gb ddr2. i guess i just need to pick a board and video card. (i guess i could jump for 4gb ddr3...)
     
    More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page