1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Two New Builds (Primary and Secondary)

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by shovenose, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Primary PC:
    AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-Core CPU
    16GB (2x8GB) Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3 RAM
    ASRock 970 Extreme3 ATX Motherboard
    WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA 6Gbps Enterprise Storage
    Geforce 550Ti 2GB for displays one and two
    Radeon HD 4350 1GB for display three
    3x 22" LCD @ 1680x1050
    Liteon SATA DVDRW
    Corsair Carbide 200R case
    Seasonic 360W PSU

    Secondary PC:
    Intel Celeron G540 2.5GHz Dual Core CPU
    8GB (2x4GB) Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3 RAM
    MSI H61M-PC31(G3) MicroATX Motherboard
    Seagate 500GB Hard Drive
    Intel onboard graphics
    Cooler Master 430 Elite case (modded)
    Seasonic 300W PSU
  2. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,419 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,496
    Welcome to TPU:)
    Are you looking for some advice on your two new builds?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    yeah I'm just wondering what you guys think I could do to improve, if anything.
    Also what you think as far as whether it's rounded out well.
    Thank you.
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,030 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,926
    two things

    I've never heard of running a AMDand Nvidia video cards in the same computer as display adapters,and have them work together.Is this possible?

    360 watts, even for a seasonic, is not enough wattage for a dual video card system, especailly with a power hungry CPU like the 8350.
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  5. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    thanks for your response!
    No it is no problem at all to run both NVIDIA and ATI/AMD at once. :) but I recommend you install NVIDIA then get drivers and then turn it off and put ATI/AMD and then boot up and install those drivers
    Don't just install two in one go if you understand what I mean :)

    As far as the PSU I am sure it will be fine. I can test with my Kill a watt meter for you to be assured :)
  6. Xenturion

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    To really be able to help, we'll have to know what sort of usages you intend for both systems. They're both pretty curious setups. Would you mind indicating which parts you already have and which you've yet to purchase? That might enable us to be a little more helpful.
  7. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    527 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    I see the title,,I see your build's. But what's the question/Topic??

    "yeah I'm just wondering what you guys think I could do to improve, if anything.
    Also what you think as far as whether it's rounded out well.
    Thank you. "

    Found it. My bust.
  8. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    It would help if I even know what I needed help with.
    I just want to make sure they will last some years without upgrades or trouble. I love computer related projects but I can't have downtime and oops i fucked it up sort of situations on my main pc because i do my work on that, the secondary i dont care so much but anyway...

    typical usage of main pc:
    three firefox windows with about two dozen tabs open in each window
    two chrome windows with about ten tabs on average open total
    three instances of filezilla
    several putty ssh logins
    skype
    live chat software staff end, for hosting customers
    voip software to talk to hosting customers
    many things open in notepad plus plus for working on websites
    in between work i play minecraft and gta san andreas

    no i am not kidding, sometimes it can get a bit crazy on there!

    secondary pc usage:
    single browser window with less than five tabs
    one or two instances of putty ssh
    my friend might come over occassionally and play gta san adreas or minecraft on that one as well, but i will not use it much personally...
    might put all my music on there since it's got bigger disk...

    anyway feedback on that? and what you mean they are both curious :) thansk
  9. Xenturion

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    It's not often you see an enterprise VelociRaptor in a build. The 2 different cards are interesting as well, but considering there's no onboard with the FX series and the Geforce 500 series are limited to 2 monitors, I guess it's expected if you want to drive 3 screens for productivity. 16GB of RAM isn't too common, and not a lot of people go for the 8350, preferring to get the 8320 and bump it up instead. The 970 chipset limits a second card to 4 PCIe lanes, but, the 4350 isn't going to be doing any 3d work, so I suppose it doesn't matter.

    If you haven't purchased it all yet: If it were me, I'd drop the 8350 down to the 8320 and use the money to buy a 990X or 990FX based motherboard. I'd drop the 550Ti and 4350 for whatever Geforce 600 series card I could get and use that to drive the 3 monitors. That way, I could play games if I wanted to across all 3 (albeit, at low settings, but hell, I'd bet Minecraft could be fun at 5040x1050) and I could still enjoy the productivity boost. It'd drop power consumption, too. I was going to say switch the hard drive for an SSD, but it's actually cheaper than I thought. The same money only gets you 120 maybe 180GB in SSDs, which I suspect might not be enough storage for you. Perhaps a 90 or 120GB SSD and a 300GB 7200RPM might be a good compromise. SSDs are amazing.

    As a backup computer, the second build makes sense. 8GB of RAM is quite a bit, but then again it isn't really expensive.
  10. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Interestinmg thoughts,
    however i already have the computer assembled.
    i dont overclock so i bought the best cpu i could. also is why i got the cheaper motherboard.
    i have a 120GB SSD in my laptop but i wanted slightly more storage for a drive that is still very fast.
  11. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    OK I did some tests regarding power on my main PC. I have a Kill-a-Watt meter, so while not being the most accurate it will work fairly well to see how much power my computer is using.
    It uses 0 watts when off, around 130 during boot, and 70 while writing this post. I ran 8 threads of Prime95 and a Furmark Burn In Test at the same time and my power draw at the wall hovered around 390w. Yes that means that I'm basically maxing out my PSU.
    However, realistically when am I ever going to load all cores of my CPU to 100% and load my GPU up realistically crazy like that? Never!
    So, given that it's a Seasonic, it's 80Plus Gold Certified, and I will keep everything clean and not dusty, It will be fine :)
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    Consider a single AMD card, they can drive 3 monitors alone, save money and power rather than shoving 2 cards in, less hassle, less noise
    shovenose says thanks.
  13. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
  14. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,690 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    shovenose says thanks.
  15. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    That PSU is not going to be a enough if you do anything system intensive like gaming. It will work for a while, but it will fail within a 6 to 12 month range.

    A single ATI card for three monitors is fine if you game on one. If you are just productivity stuff, then the single 7850 with 2GB or a better card should be fine.
    shovenose says thanks.
  16. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    My PSU will be fine for any card that only needs one 6-pin PCI Express.
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    360 watt? Your kidding right?:nutkick:
    Aquinus says thanks.
  18. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    What? I only pull about 400W from the wall :p
  19. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    968 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    You did come onto TPU.com asking for advice, right?
  20. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    342 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    I've got a gtx570 and a R6950 running in a single rig with no problems on a 600W(it hasn't blown up...yet). It works fine as long as you have the correct drivers and are not running xp or vista... I dont remembre which one it wont work on. It really dosen't give a big performance boost with gaming but it does make a difference for WCG. that and the older Nvidia cards only support 2 monitors.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,887 (6.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    This.

    I've had friends who have had their PSUs damage other components as well, like GPUs and CPUs, and Motherboards. They all had 300-350 watt PSUs. Don't go testing your luck. Go get a new PSU before you do anything else because 360 watt is pushing it for the 8350 + any 6-pin GPU. Heck, it's pushing it for the 8350 alone.
  22. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,690 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Another thing is when you do look at buying larger power supplies, pay attention to the 80+ gold/bronze etc rating. If it unrated it probably really does not produce much power to rated specs because its a generic. Thats not the purpose of the rating however; Higher rated will also run more efficiently and also save you money.

    Another important thing to look at is the amperage on the 12 volt rail. This matters as much as the wattage.

    You should run a 600-700 watt minimum for the first system you described.

    Heres an example: CORSAIR Professional Series HX650 650W ATX12V v2.2....

    The Fx8350 is a very power hungry processor (125watt) and running two video cards is also very intensive.
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2013
  23. Cotton_Cup

    Cotton_Cup

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Rizal, Philippines
    good 560/660 seasonic/corsair or something along the lines of those numbers and brand should do you well, ^_^

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page