1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Watercooling Setup

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Heldelance, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hi all,

    So I'm looking to jump into watercooling and have just put together a bunch of parts. I'm located in Australia so I don't really have access to as many products.

    I've got an AMD Phenom 2 X4 and the GPU is a Gigabyte GTX570.

    The parts I've come up with are below. (I'll probably use car coolant + distilled water in a 1:3 ratio for the coolant)

    GPU - EK Full Cover VGA Block EK-FC570 GTX SE Acetal+EN Nickel = $69
    CPU - Koolance CPU-380A CPU Water Block for AMD = $75
    Pump - XSPC X2O 750 Dual Bay Reservoir and Pump V4 = $65
    Tubes - 1/2" ID 3/4" OD tubes, just plain clear tubes // Koolance Hose Clamp for OD 19mm (3/4in)
    Fittings - XSPC G1/4 Chrome 1/2 Barb Fitting
    Radiator - XSPC RX480 Radiator =$120 / OR / XSPC RX360 Radiator = $84
    Other - XSPC LCD Temperature Sensor Blue = $6
    - Bitspower UV Reactive O-Rings UV Blue = $4.50 (best to have spares)

    If anyone knows of any good stores in Australia (for W/C parts), please do tell.
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    2 rads? 1 x 120.3 rad is plenty for your CPU and 2 GPU's. Just get the RX360 and your set. The RX360 is plenty to dissapate the heat on your system. the RX480 is overkill.
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,575 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  4. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,819 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    666
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    DO NOT USE CAR COOLANT.

    Just distilled will work with a silver coil, or a premixed coolant. RX series work great.
  5. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    What's the problem with car coolant? I had someone mention not to use pure coolant but that diluted, it works quite well?

    Also, is the CPU waterblock I chose that much worse than the other two you mentioned?

    The way I'm going to be setting this up was to have 2 separate tubes for the GPU and CPU.

    From the Radiator, 1 tube to the CPU and 1 to the GPU. The 'exhaust' from both would link together and feed back into the reservoir.
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
  6. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    You might want to draw your loop out on paper so you get a better handle on things. What you have invisioned isn't possible. First, water cannot flow OUT of both fittings on a rad. Secondly, you need to get water back to the rad, as well.
  7. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    489 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Ive been using 100% car coolant for 10 years no issues.
  8. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Oh, what I meant with the loop is that I'd have a splitter coming out of the rad into 2 separate tubes feeding into the CPU and GPU. After that, the outlets from both GPU and CPU are brought back together into a single tube to the reservoir.
  9. DJCyclone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    You don'y need a splitter. Just go from the Rad to the CPU then to GPU then back to Rad.
    CPU is more temp sensitive so needs the coolest water. After the CPU has dumped some heat to the water it will still be cool enough for the GPU.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Actually the koolance block is the least restrictive best performing block sold right now.

    Why not? Several people here run it instead of all those silver coil and terrible pc coolant that gum blocks up. I wouldn't run 100% because water has better cooling properties as well as being thinner. Hence why I said in the other thread 25% coolant and the rest deionized water.

    That only gives each part a 120mm radiator surface it would hardly be worth the cost at that point. A single 480 would allow lower speed fans and give better overall temps.
  11. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    There would be little difference with the system he has.
  12. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,819 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    666
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Well i have heard some people that used it and it messed up the pump, but I'm not for sure what ratio they used.
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    How so the 480 can dissipate roughly 200 watts more, would allow a lower tdelta and allows the use of quieter lower speed fans for a minor price difference. If anything the 360 is a minor change in price for negative performance. He is on AMD and they Mem to be pushing out higher and higher watt cpu's it makes sense to overbuild the loop so he is not rebuilding the loop for the next upgrade.
  14. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,011 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Location:
    Central Israel
    The 420 rad is kind of an overkill for that system,you would usually only go for a 420 with 3 gpus,but if he can afford it and has room in his case then why not?
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    +1
  16. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs


    its simple. The 360 is large enough to dissapate. I ran one on a multiple Phenom setup and ran mid 50's at 1.62 volts with 2 x 5870's and the GPU's barely touched 60 overclocked and overvolted...... a 480 ain't gonna cool any better. The 480 is overkill and much more difficult to manuever inside a case.
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Mid 50's sucks on water thats higher than my aircooled one runs at 4.2ghz 1.65v. A 480 rad will lower the tdelta. No if, ands or buts.
  18. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    :nutkick:
    Bullshit 1.65 volts mid 50's on air on a Phenom II quad core? What are you smoking? I wish you would quit trying to prove you have testosterone. I reviewed air coolers on Phenom II's and also the actual chips in the past..... You high CD. BTW this is under load. I thought you would figure that out.:nutkick:
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    My air cooling may or may not be considered air cooling by most. CM V10 with a 96W TEC and 90+ CFM high static pressure fans installed :laugh:
  20. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    thats not air cooling
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    But but it's still an air cooler!
  22. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Just to clarify, does the radiator actually need to be on the case?

    I was going to make a "cage" for it so I could put it on the window and thus have the hot air blowing out of my room. (At the moment my air cooled PC makes the room rather warm after a few hours)

    Thanks for the responses people, this really clears up a lot for me.

    ---

    My AMD is currently on stock (first AMD in a while, don't really know how to o/c it properly. Only done Intels up to now) and has an OCZ HS, that huge tower one. I've got a Scythe Kama (I think?) fan on it.
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    The radiator can be external no issues with that. Just make sure you have a good pump.
  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs


    uggh.:twitch:
  25. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I use mine external. It makes things easier if you tinker with your system a lot. I actually migrated to a tec station.

    I think u mean ultra kaze?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page