1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Watercooling Setup

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Heldelance, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yeah, that's the fan.

    Are the tubes really that expensive BTW? I figure I'll need 8 tubes and it's 9 bucks a pop (nothing cheaper).

    ---

    edit: nevermind, found the same tube but in a 10ft length for $25 AUD.
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,480 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,990
    You get like 10 foot rolls for around $20 - $25.
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    [/sarcasm] :p I know were you are coming from that's why I mentioned what I was specifically using. :toast:

    I still vote RX480 no point in half assing something, but this is also coming from the guy running an MCR420/MCR220/MCR320 all internal of the case and only cooling maybe 800w of a maximum heat load. That being said idle temps and load temps are more or less the same.

    Any of your PC stores sell it by the foot? I went through 10ft doing my build, but mine was a bit more complicated than most (3 rads, 3 video cards, CPU, res, dual pumps)
  4. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I'll probably get the 10ft coil because I like a lot of extra headroom (if I screw something up).

    I am leaning on the RX480 only because I don't want to have to upgrade too much when I get new parts for my PC (At the moment I gotta wait a month or two before I have the scratch to get these parts).

    cdawall: do you happen to know where I could find a starter's guide on o/c-ing AMD Phenom 2s? I'm a n00b to AMDs.
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    You can check the Phenom II club out shoot me a PM and I can help some or post in there and I can share some wisdom. Basic idea is keep voltage under 1.6v if you want the chip to last forever keep temps under 55C load to keep things nice and stable with higher clocks and bump the HTT (bus speed) up and if you have an unlocked chip bump the multi up.
  6. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Just had a look in thread.

    Bloody hell mate, you don't do things by the halves do you? 4.9 ghz?!
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    Beat that one with a 5+ run latest I got the current b97 to pop 4500mhz on an h70 :roll:

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  8. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Sweet.

    I'm pretty sure I have a 955 but I can't recall what board it's on, UD5P kinda springs to mind though. Gonna have a dig through the BIOS tonight to check out how to clock it and get myself acquainted with the screen.
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I like the way the voltage is grayed out on the CPUZ shot and its on 2 cores. Nothing like pretending you got the clock on normal conditions. :slap:

    Give him realistic overclocks....:banghead:

    Here is a realistic overclock on water similiar to what your building that I pulled from my archives at about 1.6volts....


    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  10. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    831 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    790FX version of the UD5P? I gave that board to my younger bro last year its a good little board. His has a Phenom II X4 910 C2 chip chugging along at 3.7ghz ish for 3 years now(not bad for a stock 2.6ghz chip)

    He brought up that I hit 4.9ghz that post has photo's of DICE and what not used :laugh: CPUz is lacking voltage because it is a valid screenie from version 1.51 didn't support those things.

    With a GOOD C3 955 there is no reason he can't get 4.2-4.3ghz stable on water, but it will be with a good chunk of voltage. 4.0-4.1ghz is a lot more reasonable of a clock.
  12. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs


    Dice should get much higher....

    I see yours is a B96 but on a 980 I got over 4.7GHz on water suicide

    [​IMG]

    Here is my dice run

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    Most didn't that was a while back on a C2 chip. Still holds the number two spot for DICE on HWBOT. Heck it's even on a 790GX board :p

    Here is the guy who beat me on DICE.

    My B97 is a low leak chip I am going to try for higher on it, but the current board is a bit old kind of tapped out.
  14. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Just told a mate of mine that it's about $130 for the radiator I'm getting. He's a car nut and pointed me to a full aluminium custom radiator for $280.

    Am I nuts for thinking about getting that instead?
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    Don't get an aluminum radiator.
  16. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs


    Mixing metals will not work. The loop will corrode...The rad he mentioned is alluminum and that is a nono plus it will not cool any better than your 480. You need copper.
  17. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hey, that overclocking tool you're using drdeathx, is that what you'd usually overclock with for an AMD?

    I've only done my intels through the BIOS and didn't touch the RAM or Mobo clocks.
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    Most people still clock via the BIOS. His is specifically for Asus boards.
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Thats Asus TurboV Only on asus boards but ASrock has overclocking software as does Gigabyte. I OC through the bios and make tweaks with the software.
  20. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Oh just realized why you said no to aluminium. are any of the parts I posted going to react with the copper for the radiator? I'm pretty sure most are copper as well but I think the CPU is nickel.
  21. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs


    Your good to go with the copper and Nickel. Alluminum is a nono.
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    CPU cooler is a nickel plated base the internals should be straight copper, but as deathy said no reaction to nickel either way.
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    found pic's of mine over on XS

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Kicked a 363 bus speed out of that mobo as well. Heck of a thing that 790GX board.
  24. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    831 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    Kneaded eraser...keeps the board from freezing up and comes off without scaring the board.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page