1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My watercooling setup

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Pete1burn, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Aspire and jbunch have been helping me out, so I want to get a general consensus of what they've helped me put together. I'll be getting most of it through Sidewinder, since they are a bit cheaper, but some stuff I have to get through Petras.

    The RX360 is sold out everywhere for like a month. I'm not building it until April anyway when the 955 comes out, so I'll wait for the RX360. The rad is the only item not on the list.

    This will be going on an Asus M4A79-T and a Phenom X4 955 when they come out.

    Here is what I have so far. Any changes you would make?

    D-TEK FuZion v2 x2 High Flow Dtek 1/2 ID fittings (Default)

    Swiftech MCRES Micro Revision 2 reservoir

    5x Scythe SFF21F 63 CFM S-FLEX, three for the rad, two in case I need another 120 or 240 rad after cooling two gpus and cpu. (to go on a sunbeam fan controller)

    Swiftech MCP355 12v DC Pump

    XSPC Laing DDC Top with x2 DTek High Flow 1/4 BSPP to 1/2. ID Barb

    Petra'sTech "Gel-Stuff" Vibration Absorption Block

    Petra'sTech PT_Nuke -PHN Concentrated Biocide

    2x Swiftech MCW60-R2 GPU Waterblock for the 4850X2

    20x Herbie Clip® Nylon Hose Clamp Size H - Blue

    15ft Tygon R3603 1/2in. ID 3/4in. OD Laboratory Tubing

    Logisys Dual UV 12 in. CCFL Light Kit

    Feser View - Active UV Dye - UV Blue

    Will be using distilled water.

    Thanks for any help.
  2. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Anyone?
  3. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,562 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Not sure what you want. Looking for ways to cut costs?

    Use normal tubing from a hardware store. .32 per foot instead of 3.20 per foot.

    IMO 1/2 tubing is a PIA to use.

    You could just use distilled water and antifreeze.
  4. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    No, just looking for a general opinion on the parts I've chosen.

    I will be using distilled water, along with some Nuke from Petras.

    Why is 1/2 tubing a pain? Too large of a diameter?
  5. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,562 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Its just a pain to manipulate in tight quarters.

    All the parts look quality to me.
  6. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,843 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,287
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    2-3 Drops PT Nuke, 10% G11 Pentosin, 90% Distilled Water. the -PHN is really meant for Distilled Water alone, any additives change to original.
  7. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    So the G11 is like a dye that also protects the components? And it's UV so I don't need to get extra dye. That sounds like a good thing to have.
  8. Icewind31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    215 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    the G11 is pretty much antifreeze, it'll give some lubricating properties, but it'll also color (not as dramatic as a true dye) your distilled which is nice. I've found putting independent dyes in the loop will only stain tubing and add deposits into your pump/blocks.

    if you want to save trouble mixing, you can always just get the Feser coolant or Primochill coolant. (whatever you do, do not get fluid xp). Personally I use distill + G11 + PTnuke.

    PS. Sidewinder is awesome, usually get all my WC stuff from them if they stock it, usually best price, and lowest fast shipping. Customer service gets back fast as well!
    Pete1burn says thanks.
  9. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Thanks!

    I'm getting everything I can through sidewinder. I added all of the things I need to get to both petras and sidewinder and the grand total was $49 in sidewinder's favor.

    Where in Mass are you? I live about 5 mins from Boston myself.
  10. Icewind31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    215 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    Like Zen said, 1/2in will be a pain if you have a smaller case or if you have to route your water lines tight. (e.g. if you're wc'ing your cpu, nb, sb, gpu, etc etc) However if you're only doing CPU/GPU, it shouldn't be too bad.

    Another idea is to actually use 7/16ID 5/8OD (on 1/2in barbs, it's a tighter fit, but it'll almost be as good as 1/2ID, easier to route, and you don't have to use barb clamps/zip ties.) Just make sure to rub a little cooler at the ends to ease the tubing into the barb if you go that route.
  11. Icewind31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    215 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    Woburn, right across the Raytheon there on the east side of 93
  12. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    I have a HAF 932, so it's pretty big and like you said, I'm only doing the cpu + 2xgpu. If I end up keeping this 4850X2, it might be hard to get the tubing from one gpu to the other, but I'll test fit it all of course first. Thank you for the tip on tube size. If the 1/2" is too big to make that tight of a turn, I'll get some 7/16 for that part of the loop.

    I know exactly where that is in Woburn. I fly down at an RC field in Burlington sometimes, and I used to live on Hanscom AFB.
  13. Icewind31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    215 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    Yea, the X2's are a pain to WC unless you have a Full Cover block, and since you have the 4850X2, the only option really is to use 2 GPU blocks (since 4870X2 blocks doesn't fit the 4850X2) Using 2 swiftech mcw 60's is an option. And if you need them, I might have two lying around that I will not need to use (but I'll have to check when I get a 9800gt low profile in [actually coming in today], planning a new WC project myself and trying to put a dual gpu, I7 system into the lian li HTPC case, and it's low profile lol)
  14. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Haha nice. I was planning on using two MCW60 R2s. I found one on sale brand new for $33 so I snagged that real quick, but they only had one left in stock. So I do still need another one. (If I stay with this card. I've been having problems.) So yeah, let me know and that would be great.
  15. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Have you taken a look at the water cooling thread (link below).
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    What kind of power draw would you expect from that watercooling system?
  17. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Yes, I did and it was very informative. I've done watercooling before but it was a very long time ago. I made a very custom setup using a 5-gallon aluminum keg for a res, and an aquarium 400gph pump. I just wanted to get some advice on the current stuff out there and see if I should change anything.

    I haven't the slightest clue. My PSU should be able to handle it in any case.
  18. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    From what is written in the OP everything seems fine. What rad are you using? One 3 fan rad should be enough.
    Edit: I just noticed you changed the -PHN to PT-Nuke...
  19. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Yep, I put in some PT-Nuke and took out the -PHN.

    Edit: Rad will be an XSPC RX360. Just ordered it today. (From England, no less. Sold out in the US for a month or two.)
  20. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Ok, you should be fine. As long as you know that the waterblocks will fit the 4870 X2.
  21. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    It's a 4850X2, but yes, they work. There are a few articles out there by people who have done it.
  22. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,843 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,287
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    yes it's a dye with anti-freeze and anti-corrosive agents. if your heart is set on UV then I would suggest that but I still think it's better to use a UV Tubing instead of a Dye or even Pentosin the less additives the better. Don't use Nylon Clamps use Steel Worm Drives or Cable Ties.

    Edit: oh and you should use GPU Coverage waterblocks (like so) regardless if there was a Full Coverage one available for the 4850X2 for obvious reasons compatibility and temperatures.
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2009
  23. aspire

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    290 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Best way to bridge between the two water blocks on the 4850x2 is to use a pair of Bitspower rotary 90's.
  24. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,843 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,287
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    those are a unnecessary expense and will just add restriction (minor)
  25. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Awesome stuff but Id like to recommend Gigabytes Board for your Phenom 955 instead of the Asus. Nothing against that board but for the Sata connectors, they have some that will be blocked by your card. Just a heads up. Your other stuff is great. I get most of my stuff from PEtras with an occasional dip into Frozen CPU. Sidewinders seemed a little more to me on a few things including shipping.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page