1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Windows 7 Start is Extremly SLOW

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Szaby59, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. Tyrael

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    274 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Good News! There is no suspicious process! Your process is clear from infection.... :)
     
  2. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    Not so sure. Check out one of the svchost processes. It uses over 100mb memory. You can never know what is really inside them due to windows's stupid process package system. I;ve never seen a svchost process use up so much memory...

    Useful link on the subject: http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/tutorial129.html

    Basically go into task manager, right clock that fat svchost process and select go to service(s) and it will highlight the services that run under it. Check out what eats up so much memory and if it isn't a crucial process stop it. My bet is that it's some crapware from toshiba themselves.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 16, 2010
    Szaby59 says thanks.
  3. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    I had a problem with windows 7 booting slow with msdn copy, it was a service booting that sucked the memory dry but didn't actually show the memory was missing and didn't appear in task manager.
     
  4. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The 100 MB process is Desktop Window Manager Service, (I have aero enabled)

    This isn't a virus problem I did a clean install 4 times.
     
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Definitely go through and disable all the unnecessary services (like HalfAHertz recommended) that you're not using if you haven't already. For example, I disable the print spooler service and all the MCE and Windows Media related BS.
     
  6. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ehh how many windows do you have open at the same time, 50+ ? :eek: 100mb is too much methinks. Plus there should be a dedicated process for that called dwm.exe
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2010
  7. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    When I disabling Aero, the 100 MB process disapears...
    I tried to boot in diagnostic mode, only 20 seconds faster, so 1:37
     
  8. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    625 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Try turning it from AHCI to SATA mode, see if that helps.
     
  9. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    Heh 20s sounds like an improovement :D

    Could you press winkey+r and type msconfig, then go to the startup tab and take a screenshot? I just want to double check the startup processes. Something like this:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 16, 2010
  10. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Try another hdd. Maybe yours has too many relocated sectors. Disable all your network hardware also and try.
     
  11. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    Use skype, WoW, utorrent with some 15 torrents, sit in firefox, and you will see even more. That svchost deals with network, its normal.
     
    Szaby59 says thanks.
  12. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    You could be right, tho I use all of the forementioned and have never experienced such high memory usage from a single svchost process. Especially on a fresh boot.
     
  13. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I can set to AHCI and Compatiblity mode, no SATA entry.

    In Msconfig/startup: Realtek HD Audio Manager, Kaspersky Anti-Virus, ATi Catalyst, Toshiba HDD Protection Service, Toshiba Power Saver, Toshiba Flashcards Utility
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,105 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,167
    I'm almost postitive your problem is likely something that you have installed and starting up after you log in, because even my netbook is pretty much usable right away after I enter my password.

    And 100MB+ is not uncommon for a svchost, my desktop has one that is taking up almost 200MB, something related to the audio on my machine, but it can be a lot of things.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    But in diagnostic mode "welcome" process is takes 32 seconds with constant (high) HDD activity.
    And I installed 4 times a bad program? :)
     
  16. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    Remove the ticks besides all Toshiba software from within msconfig. I'm 99% sure the toshiba HDD thingie is doing something it's not supposed to. You don't need any of the Toshiba programs to use your PC. They only add "value" a.k.a. useless functions, you'll probably never need or can access through windows itself.

    Edit: Guys seriously if a svchost shell is taking more than ~50MB, you either: 1)need to restart your machine more than once a fortnight or 2) have a hidden memory hog.
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,762
    SVChost can use hundreds of MB's if it wants to. it just means that you personally dont do much networking/audio wise compared to us.

    [​IMG]

    Fresh boot.
     
  18. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Try "Ask Toshiba";

    http://www.justanswer.com/brands/To...Test2_Normal&gclid=CIuF862uqp8CFRMqagod_3Io0w
     
  19. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    Hmm to be honest I haven't done much observation on 64-bit mem usage, and I do know for a fact that they use more mem than 32-bit ones. You're probably right. Still looking at my current mem usage, if it spikes suddenly like in your SS, I'd freak out :D
     
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,945 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,785
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Every time I encountered an excruciatingly long boot time was because of a bad driver (most likely searching for device which it can't find causing the system to hang). Printers are a common culprit but anything on USB could (including integrated keyboard and mouse).

    I would set all keyboards and mice to use the standard Microsoft DLLs and uninstall printers. That should clear up the problem.



    svchost.exe is an executable that runs code in libaries (DLLs). It also monitors services which are their own executables (e.g. ups.exe). Everything running under services.msc is represented by one of the svchosts.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
    Szaby59 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. ObSo-1337

    ObSo-1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    234 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Scotland
    I have this problem too ;S
    And i dont think its anything to do with my system specs haha.
     
  22. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    HDD protection software is a driver for the shock sensor, and its recomended to install, but without it the boot time is the same...
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
  23. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Good day bro! have you tried loading default settings in the BIOS section and see if it makes any difference? if not then, would there be a BIOS update for your toshiba model in the toshiba website? If there is, please try updating your BIOS version to the latest one. Just did a BIOS update on my friend's Satellite A135 and I noticed a considerable improvement in the laptop's booth times! Im not guaranteeing though that this would also work on your laptoip but I hope it helps!:D
     
  24. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yes, Toshiba released 2 updates, last 2 weeks ago, but no change...
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,762
    have you tried the drivers i linked to yet?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page