1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Windows 7 Start is Extremly SLOW

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Szaby59, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yes, and I uninstalled all Toshiba apps and HDD protection Software, no improvement...
     
  2. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,911 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Singapore
    I'm seriously running thin on ideas. Try what FordGT suggested? Also if it is indeed a HDD/Network issue, you could maybe set up Windows Resource Manager to start at boot and look out for any weird HDD/Network activity.
     
  3. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    would you kindly check your BIOS version please? is it the 1.70?
     
  4. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
  5. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I have enabled but I read it can cause the constant HDD activity at boot time.

    My BIOS is 1.50, European products don't have 1.70, yet.
     
  6. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    I see... hmmn? Running out of ideas here too!:banghead: What about your power settings for the laptop? Is it in the High power setting?
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,717 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,675
    What are the boots times on a completely fresh install, no drivers or anything installed? If it's a lot better, start installing one driver at a time, rebooting after each one and see which is causing the issue.
     
    Szaby59 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yes, High performance.
    But I think the laptop HDD is not in maximum performance mode (is there any app to manage HDD power saving setting?)
    The experience index score is only 5,3, my old Maxtor ATA HDD gets 5,4.
    In the resource monitor svchost generates the most HDD load.
     
  9. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Umm, can you please provide me the exact model no of your laptop? Is it an exclusive release for the european market?
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,717 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,675
    5.3 is perfectly normal for a laptop drive, actually it is a little above normal for a 5400RPM drive. My 500GB in my netbook only scores a 5.4, and it is one of the fastest 5400RPM drives you can put in a laptop.
     
    Szaby59 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,799 (11.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,040
    [​IMG]

    have a look what your settings are like in device manager, see if they're similar to mine
     
  12. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    err have you any antivirus software (i know some don't have any:shadedshu) try malwarebytes from here at tpu link here
     
  13. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yes, Write cache is enabled.
    My Model: Toshiba Satellite A500-132 (PSAM3E)
    Yesterday I did a clean install, now I have Win7 Ultimate x86, a bit faster but I think it's because the x64 needs more data to load, this boots 1:32
     
  14. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You stated that the HDD was a 5,400 RPM drive, could it also be that the drive is SATA 1.5Gbps instead of 3. My boot times are getting close to 1 minute now that I'm back onto a 16MB cached HDD. I can't help but think you're worrying over nothing.
     
    Szaby59 says thanks.
  15. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    But my boot with x64 OS close to 3 minute...
     
  16. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I thought you said it was 1:32?
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,799 (11.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,040
    with win 7 x86
     
  18. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Arrrrh, I see.
     
  19. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,911 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Singapore
    I get similar boot times(~1min30sec) with win 7 x86 on my toshiba. Don't think you can get much lower than that, I run a pretty clean setup.
     
  20. Tyrael

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    274 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Windows 7 = Resource hog = same as its children: Windows Vista!
     
  21. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    umm... can you navigate to this registry key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\msahci\Controller0

    please tell me if you see any "DIPM" entry there.
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,799 (11.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,040
    That wasnt aimed at me, but i checked anyway: i dont even have that controller0 erm, 'folder' present in mine


    [​IMG]
     
  23. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Sorry Mussels but that was for our thread starter! My bad!:slap: The DIPM registry key is usually found in laptop systems with power management in their HDDs. I checked with mine too and i also have none!:eek:
     
  24. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,155 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    451
    i had this problem to but when using a ext harddrive with e-sata its to do with your IDE ATA/ATAPI / STORAGE CONTROLLERS , Windows will read the hole drive before starting and it will lagging your system when running aswell, depending on your laptop search for the newest drivers it fixed the problem for me, let me know how it goes

    http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/tais/support/jsp/home.jsp
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,799 (11.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,040
    one forgotten possibility: windows defender. Make sure its disabled.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page