1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Windows 7 Start is Extremly SLOW

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Szaby59, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. neoreif

    neoreif New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    294 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Actually I want to suggest that he upgrade to the 1.70 version(toshiba of america) of the laptop's bios but problem is his laptop is a european model and i checked with toshiba's european website and the latest they've got to offer is the 1.50 version BIOS. The 1.70 BIOS version has a fix for the DIPM problem for windows 7.
    here's the site:
    http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/...500-ST5601&selCategory=3&selFamily=1073768663
    Szaby59 says thanks.
  2. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,861 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    the bios shouldn't be the problem it more along the line of the drivers windows loads on start up, i only had this happen to me on my Evga X58 classified 760 board never on my Evga X58 SLI 758 and there both the same chipset.
  3. Szaby59 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The SATA settings from registry:

    [​IMG]

    Windows Defender and Windows firewall are disabled.
  4. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,861 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    changing setting in windows wont fix the problem
  5. neoreif

    neoreif New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    294 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Szaby, here's what I'm driving at: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/932079.
    its a link to a vista fix but in my opinion, your system has the case. Its a guide on how to disable/enable DIPM on laptop systems. Disabling DIPM could be done by putting a value of "0" in the registry entry and "1" to enable it. The DIPMenabled entry is not shown in your registry entries because I think it is hidden. please see the link for microsoft and see if it will give you any ideas towards a solution with regards to what you are experiencing right now.:)
    Mussels and Szaby59 say thanks.
  6. Szaby59 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Wow!
    I added this option to registry, now the x86 Ultimate boot time is: 0:59s to responsve desktop!
    Thanks everyone for help!

    Edit: with pagefile on different partition 0:53s
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
    neoreif says thanks.
  7. neoreif

    neoreif New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    294 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Nice work man!:toast:
    Glad to be of service!:D
    Szaby59 says thanks.
  8. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,832 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Location:
    Singapore
    neoreif's suggestion got me curious. Tried it on my lappy, but didn't notice any difference. I guess my hardware doesn't support it. Does moving your page file to a different partition(same HDD) do anything? I have it on the same partition as windows.
  9. Szaby59 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yes, if you create the swap partition first (so phiscally at the begining of the hard drive).
    I have 4GB ram, x86 only recognize 2,98 my SWAP partition with x64 was 5 GB with 4GB pagefile.
  10. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,832 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Location:
    Singapore
    Bah I have to Relocate my entire drive, taking at least a day. I'll pass thanks :D. But will remember it for next time I format.
    neoreif says thanks.
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I found this today, might help even more.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,698 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,221
    interestingly, that hotfix is for 32 bit only


    edit: nevermind, stupid MS. "you got a 32 bit browser! so you must have a 32 bit OS!"
  13. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,301 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    WTF MS...:banghead:
    and I wonder why logging in is much faster after I started using wallpapers.
  14. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,097 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,620
    Even though this particular problem seems to be solved, I did have the same issue that was caused by bad Intel Chipset drivers. Made my Netbook take about 3-4mins to boot, after I removed the driver its less than 45sec if not under 35.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page