1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Windows 7 Start is Extremly SLOW

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Szaby59, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Actually I want to suggest that he upgrade to the 1.70 version(toshiba of america) of the laptop's bios but problem is his laptop is a european model and i checked with toshiba's european website and the latest they've got to offer is the 1.50 version BIOS. The 1.70 BIOS version has a fix for the DIPM problem for windows 7.
    here's the site:
    http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/...500-ST5601&selCategory=3&selFamily=1073768663
     
    Szaby59 says thanks.
  2. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,000 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    the bios shouldn't be the problem it more along the line of the drivers windows loads on start up, i only had this happen to me on my Evga X58 classified 760 board never on my Evga X58 SLI 758 and there both the same chipset.
     
  3. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The SATA settings from registry:

    [​IMG]

    Windows Defender and Windows firewall are disabled.
     
  4. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,000 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    changing setting in windows wont fix the problem
     
  5. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Szaby, here's what I'm driving at: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/932079.
    its a link to a vista fix but in my opinion, your system has the case. Its a guide on how to disable/enable DIPM on laptop systems. Disabling DIPM could be done by putting a value of "0" in the registry entry and "1" to enable it. The DIPMenabled entry is not shown in your registry entries because I think it is hidden. please see the link for microsoft and see if it will give you any ideas towards a solution with regards to what you are experiencing right now.:)
     
    Mussels and Szaby59 say thanks.
  6. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Wow!
    I added this option to registry, now the x86 Ultimate boot time is: 0:59s to responsve desktop!
    Thanks everyone for help!

    Edit: with pagefile on different partition 0:53s
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
    neoreif says thanks.
  7. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Nice work man!:toast:
    Glad to be of service!:D
     
    Szaby59 says thanks.
  8. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Singapore
    neoreif's suggestion got me curious. Tried it on my lappy, but didn't notice any difference. I guess my hardware doesn't support it. Does moving your page file to a different partition(same HDD) do anything? I have it on the same partition as windows.
     
  9. Szaby59

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yes, if you create the swap partition first (so phiscally at the begining of the hard drive).
    I have 4GB ram, x86 only recognize 2,98 my SWAP partition with x64 was 5 GB with 4GB pagefile.
     
  10. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Singapore
    Bah I have to Relocate my entire drive, taking at least a day. I'll pass thanks :D. But will remember it for next time I format.
     
    neoreif says thanks.
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I found this today, might help even more.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    interestingly, that hotfix is for 32 bit only


    edit: nevermind, stupid MS. "you got a 32 bit browser! so you must have a 32 bit OS!"
     
  13. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    WTF MS...:banghead:
    and I wonder why logging in is much faster after I started using wallpapers.
     
  14. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,172 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,725
    Even though this particular problem seems to be solved, I did have the same issue that was caused by bad Intel Chipset drivers. Made my Netbook take about 3-4mins to boot, after I removed the driver its less than 45sec if not under 35.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page