1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Windows Vista key is not valid?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by ShadowFold, Jul 18, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    A message just popped up saying my key is not valid and I have to buy another or call ms.. How come ive been on it for a week and it just now says its "not valid"? Its a Home Premium key I bought off of newegg, do I call them or call ms?
     
  2. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    You're best just calling microsoft and getting them to sort it. :)
     
  3. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Usually Vista will call home and activate itself. Several things to check. Is the date and time correct? If this is a Upgrade copy and u did a full install instead of "Upgrade" then you have to activate with them over the phone or just install your upgrade over what you just did and then it should activate. If it is an OEM copy then I don't know what to tell you cause it should activate without any issues unless you installed the wrong one(Vista discs contain all versions but if the key entered does not match the version installed then you cannot activate).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Oh I used a Ultimate disc to install and used a home premium key.. Would that cause the problem? But why would it ask NOW? I've had it installed for almost a week..
     
  5. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Did you install ultimate? Or did you just use a disc that said ultimate, but chose home premium when it came to installing?
     
  6. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,466 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,267
    yea it sounds like you installed the wrong version for the key you bought.
     
  7. bassmasta Guest

    Ms made me buy a new key when I did that. good luck
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page