1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

n00B SLI question

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by VulkanBros, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    I am not into SLI at all - so I have a couple of questions

    The hardware:
    GPU´s: MSI N285GTX−T2D1G−OC and a XFX GeForce 285 GTX
    MOBO: ASUS M3A79T-Deluxe
    The software:
    Vista Ultimate 32 bit (SP2 RTM) dualboot with Windows 7 Ultimate

    FIRST:
    Will this mobo run SLI? (ASUS M3A79T-Deluxe)

    SECOND:
    Will two diff. card manufacturer run in SLI together? (MSI / XFX)

    THIRD:
    Does the memory/shader/core clocks have to be the same on both cards?

    FOURTH:
    Do I need special or modded drivers in order to get SLI working?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,723 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    FIRST:
    Will this mobo run SLI? (ASUS M3A79T-Deluxe) Yes

    SECOND:
    Will two diff. card manufacturer run in SLI together? (MSI / XFX) Yes

    THIRD:
    Does the memory/shader/core clocks have to be the same on both cards? It'll downclock the highest of the two.

    FOURTH:
    Do I need special or modded drivers in order to get SLI working? I'm using ATi, so im not sure. But its the same driver for us. Best off waiting for someone who knows.
    VulkanBros says thanks.
  3. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Hmm...no one with SLI experience??
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. FlclAdam12

    FlclAdam12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    No you do not need a special driver in order to use SLi, the ones on NVidia's site support it, you just have to enable it in the drivers control panel.
    VulkanBros says thanks.
  5. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    You do not need modded drivers to get SLI to work. Just attach the bridge, enter the nVidia control panel, and enable SLI.
    VulkanBros says thanks.
  6. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    I asume it´s totally irrelevant in witch GPU card the DVI goes.....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. FlclAdam12

    FlclAdam12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    With my SLi set up i have used any of the two on the top card. (never tried bottom, but it should work)
  8. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    No it doesn't matter. Basically you just joined 2 cards together, so you have 4 outputs of video now.
  9. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I always use the top left slot!!
  10. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    should always be using the top left spot. never use the other ones unless you're hooking up a second monitor.
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Guys his mobo won't do SLI, it will however do CrossfireX. 790FX Chipset.
    VulkanBros says thanks.
  12. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    +1
    good catch Jr.
  13. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Crap......then I have 2 GTX 285 for nothing....maybe I should get another motherboard
    Any suggestions for a good mobo with SLI support (AM2+/AM3)?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    VulkanBros says thanks.
  15. Matt Sakko

    Matt Sakko New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    151 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    J-Bay, South Africa
    Please tell me that you had both the cards before you decided to SLi them.
    Anyone who buys ANOTHER GTX 285 without checking SLi compatibility is insane. Seriously if you had those crazy components, I would assume that you knew the answers to all three questions.
  16. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Everyone messes up every now and again its no biggie. But if you are using a 20" lcd you may want to sell one of the 285s (one would be PLENTY)
  17. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    Do I sense a sale? :D

    You'll still have a nice setup if you only use a single card.
  18. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,835 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Florida, US
    he needs new mobo and monitor :D
  19. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Well .. I got the XFX card for building a rig for a friend....so no big deal.
    Maybe I should sell it .. it´s brand new, never been installed.. the only thing that is missing is Far Cry (a game included with the XFX card) .. my friend kept it.

    How much can I take for the card? Remember I live in Europe - I´ll post some pictures tomorrow
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Matt Sakko

    Matt Sakko New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    151 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    J-Bay, South Africa
    I will buy it.
  21. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Here are some pics.....what are you budget?
    The card has never been out of the box - the anti static bag is sealed

    Attached Files:

    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Matt Sakko

    Matt Sakko New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    151 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    J-Bay, South Africa
    Oh well if it is not second hand then I cannot afford it.
  23. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    lol, keep me posted man if you do sell the extra card, i have just gotten one and would like to sli these bad boys, they are beasts all by themselves, i can only imagine them with sli. i would get an m3n-ht deluxe and keep the cards, i'm loving my rig and being able to cream any game out there maxed out is always nice.
  24. NeotonicDragon3

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    450 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    lol hell i dual graphic set up with Nvidia and Intel...
    and once with ATi and Nvidia xD
  25. iBeer&Knife

    iBeer&Knife New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    iEarth
    how much do u want for it i live in europe too :rolleyes:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page