1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

N460GTX HAWK down clocks while testing

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by puma99dk|, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,362 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    760
    i am testing my MSI N460GTX HAWK atm in FurMark and suddenly efter 40mins it downloaded the core to 405mhz and after 3mins it booted up to 900mhz again, how can that be? :wtf:

    my card crashes at the MSI Afterburn settings when i am playing "Need For Speed Hot Pursuit 2010" but it's benchmark stabile :wtf:

    (screen time isn't updated ino that >.<)
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,043 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,151
    Me think it is not stable and I'm also pretty so that 3300 rpm is max rpm and not 62 %. Try 100 % fan speed and see if rpm changes. I have never seen my MSI cyclones higher then 52 C and that is with two in a poorly ventilated case folding 24/7. My bet is that it downclocked because of high temperature despite the 104 C thermal limit.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,878 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,621
    did you see a TDR notification ?
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,933 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    I'm pretty sure that would be a driver crash and recover, meaning it isn't stable. Mine do the same thing when I push them too far.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. nesco1801 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Happens to me in DCS:Black Shark.

    How's your FPS in DCS:Black Shark?


    I contacted Nvidia. Reported the issue. Twice.

    Sent driver feedback. Did I received any response? Hell no!


    PS

    HAWK's max is 4500 RPM
     
  6. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,043 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,151
    thx
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,362 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    760
    what notice? sry for asking.
     
  8. nesco1801 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    what's a TDR? and I'm not apologizing for not knowing :p
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,878 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,621
    the little box that pops up on windows vista/7 that says the display driver has stopped and recovered

    [​IMG]

    that resets your clocks, possibly to a low performance state
     
  10. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,362 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    760
    nope, and now FurMark has been running for 1hour and 28mins.
     
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,878 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,621
    and reducing clocks fixes the problem?
     
  12. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,362 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    760
    nope, as i said it only did it automaticly for about 3mins and that's about 50mins ago :wtf:
     
  13. nesco1801 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    zomg maybe that's Furmark mixing the operating modes?

    that's what Kombustor does. at least for me.

    switches between 2d and 3d load, right?

    I thought that was normal :confused:

    EDIT: My 2d/3d switches normally.
    I have weird situation only in DCS: Black SHark where 2d mode kicks in, almost right after game loads.

    EDIT#2: Oh I dont know... Kombustor seems to stay in 3d for me atm, but I remember seeing him work at 405 MHz GPU. Damn PSU.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,933 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    405MHz is not 2D mode, 2D mode is something like 50Mhz.

    405MHz is a middle state, I've only ever seen it after a driver crash from overclocking too high, or as a step down from full load after exiting a game.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. nesco1801 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    yeah my bad. when referring to 2D I was actually talking about 405MHz
     
  16. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    887 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    I have i different problem with my Gigabyte GTX460 OC. I oveclocked it to 900/1800/2000 and the problem is only when i run Furmark. When the temperature reaches 80°C it turns my monitor off and there is nothing i can do, except hard reset.
    Does any one have a clue what this could be?
    I thought the max temp was 104°C or something like that, i mean 80°C is not that close to 104°.
     
  17. nesco1801 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    You dont want 80C on GTX 460. God knows my HAWK's PCB runs hot even at 65C @ GPU.
    Would really like to know that temperatures are around VRM, RAM area.

    EDIT: 104 C is Nvidia telling GPU to throttle down. That doesnt mean GPU can reach it before crashing, as GPU temp. is not the only thing preventing it.
     
    heky says thanks.
  18. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,362 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    760
    some cards freeze or stops working even they reaches 60grades my own Gainward did that.

    it can be running too hot, or crappy connection between heatsink and gpu...
     
    heky says thanks.
  19. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    887 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    I will try reseating the cooler, becouse i think it is really getting too hot for only 1.062 volts. It has a dual fan cooler, and really shouldnt get that hot. I mean some of the GTX460 models have 1.150 volts at 3d load and dont get that hot.
    It is the model on the picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Andrea87

    Andrea87 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    This happens to me too.

    Searching a bit the web, I've found a possible answer.

    Go to the NVidia Control Panel, 3d settings, manage 3d settings. Under power management line, set "prefer maximum performance" or similar (default its set to adaptive). I'll restart my pc soon and check if this solves.
     
    nesco1801 says thanks.
  21. nesco1801 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    will try that Andrea87 and see how it goes.

    been running Kombustor for an hour and a half at default clocks 811/3900. 65 C max.

    It stayed at those speeds whole time.

    EDIT:I meant 66 C :)

    EDIT#2: No more silly downcloking in Black Shark for me (though still cr** FPS). Yet it adapts well enough on desktop. Thanks Andrea.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
  22. Andrea87

    Andrea87 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    nice indeed. Works here too, I'm not getting anymore fps issues in games :)

    For anyone having similar issues, I'll add some detailed guide to fix this: (cards stuck in 2d clocks, stuck in low power 3d clocks and such):

    - Open Nvidia Control Panel
    - On the left, navigate to 3d Options -> Manage 3d Options
    - In the global settings tab, search for an entry called "Power management options" or similar. At default it stays at "Adaptive"; set it to "prefer maximum performance" or anything similar that is shown.
    - Close The NV Control Panel
    - Restart your pc to reload your drivers

    - Now you should be ok having no more issues on low clocks :)
     
  23. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I've been having this issue for some time now. I tried that tip and reinstalled the nvidia driver a few times now. It still drops on me. I even tried upping the volts little by little but no luck there. My card doesn't go past 60c folding. Of course that'll drop some when the clocks do. Any other ideas?

    I have a eVGA gtx 460 768mb sc
     
  24. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    740 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    No GTX460 runs higher than 1.087v unless you modify the bios with that of the GTX470. IIRC even the Hawk maxes out at the equivilant of 1.087v.

    For what it's worth my pair of 460's routinely go above 75-80 degrees in SLI (overclocked to 850/1700/4300 @ custom voltage - cards arn't the same). They happily churn away even at 100% load in Metro 2033.

    As for the ops query - it definately sounds like the card is not stable at those clocks / voltage (combo). Both my GTX460's and my laptops GT335m do the same thing if I push them too hard (my laptop will stay at low power 3d clocks until it is shut down and then restarted (a normal restart doesn't work)).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page