1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Native Resolution

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by bretts31344, Apr 25, 2007.

  1. bretts31344

    bretts31344

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    328 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Do LCD monitors look really bad when they are not displayed at their native resolution? I just ordered a 20 inch LCD monitor with a native resolution of 1680 X 1050. I am going to be running a X1950 Pro in my new computer. I just don't know how long it will output with a decent frame rate at that res with future games.
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2007
  2. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    I can't imagine that card even breaking a sweat with that resolution. I suppose you can say the native resolution looks the best, but the monitor isn't the biggest factor in making stuff look good. I would never have a resolution smaller than the native. Going larger probably won't be significantly different.

    Unless, of course, it's a cheap, generic display. What monitor, by the way?
  3. bretts31344

    bretts31344

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    328 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Awesome. I can always back down by lowering AA / AF / HDR , etc.
  4. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    should be decent man but if you like maxed graphics on all your games you might not be able to.. unless you oc it.. The 1950pro is not much better than my 1900gt rev.1 stock and at 1200/1024 The game fear made the game unplayable with maxed graphics unless I heavily overclocked (like 690/810).

    Is yours a 512 version if so you will be really set for high AA/AF @ high rez, prob without overclocking.

    Edit: FEAR could bring my card to its knees stock but with many other games it flies trough it.. Company of Heros is a breeze for my card will all but one thing maxed..

    ofc the 1950pro has way better memory clocks.. so you might not need overclocking since I think it uses 810mhz memory clock stock.. I think my mem is what slows me down when Im not overclocking it.
  5. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    Heh, you didn't mention gaming. That's a big resolution for a Radeon Pro card. I don't doubt you could OC it though. Just make sure to stop OCing if you run into any snags. If your case tends to be hot, you might want to refrain or OC slightly. Some games are insanely more graphically intense than others. Just be careful. Try to play new games with medium settings. Don't just max everything the first time you jump into the fray.
  6. bretts31344

    bretts31344

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    328 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    It's a Viewsonic VG2030WM by the way. I hope I didn't make a mistake ordering it...
  7. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    you should be ok I run that rez now aswell, you said you dont mind turning down AA/AF so your defilently fine.. what version did you get 256 or 512?
  8. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    monitors only look good or bad according to which video cards running them. thats your only concern about upgrading later on.
  9. bretts31344

    bretts31344

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    328 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    256 Version. The 512 one cost ~$40 more. I was stretching my budget really far. I bought an E6600 for $200 last night instead of a E4300 for $125. Then other "minor" upgrades in other parts added up to even more.

    And thanks for everyone's comments.
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    no, if its not at its native resolution it doesnt look bad, per se. It looks weird.
  11. bretts31344

    bretts31344

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    328 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Haha ok. I can't wait to get mine. The only other LCD monitor I have checked out throughly is a low end Dell 17 inch monitor.
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,867 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    sorta off topic but does this native resolution apply to CRT's too?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. bretts31344

    bretts31344

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    328 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    No. They adjust to whatever the resolution is set. They will always look the best at the highest resolution they support though.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page