1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Natural Selection 2 (NS2) - FPS/RTS with depth

Discussion in 'Games' started by james888, Mar 27, 2012.

  1. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I am over 400 hours right now. Played 3 hours tonight scrimming.

    Those all exist. You just havn't seen them yet. They don't happen in pubs very often either because they require coordination. In semicompetitive games you see more stuff like that. In pubs you can come back but in competitive games your one mistake is often your last. Give the game more hours. You will start to see some awesome games.

    If you want ns1 with better graphics check this out. http://steamcommunity.com/groups/ns2c
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I cannot get my mic to work in game for the life of me.

    Love this game, but lack of mic is killing me, literally in game.

    Mic works everywhere else but NS2.
  3. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I've had a problem before where my mic would not work in ns2 but a quick restart fixed the problem. Glad to see another TPUer playing NS2.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I've restarted... and just in the spirit. I'll restart once more.
  5. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Lol. Most problems are easy enough to be fixed with a simple restart. The worst ones arn't.

    I would point you to the NS2 technical forums but it looks like you are already there. RobSpewack? This is the thread. If it is not you this guy has a similar problem.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Eternalchaos

    Eternalchaos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    59 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
  7. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I'm on there in two discussions (As Nonlin). One being the one you linked. No help from there or the steam forums. So I turned here as a last resort.

    I'm playing but not entirely with content.
  8. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Ya. Ns2 is a team game and you almost need a mic to communicate effectively. If you feel like playing with some more competitive players let me know. I am in a clan but we don't scrim much.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    As soon as I get my mic working XD.

    I think the game fails to pick up sound because its set to accept feed when its 20db. The current drivers for the Ps3 eye don't let you adjust the mic volume and windows recognizes it as 0.00dB. If the game reads that then it might think my mic has no volume. Complete guess though.

    So any other USB mic that is the same way would have to suffer from this. Aux mics wouldn't have this problem.
  10. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I use my usb webcam for a mic and I don't have any problems really. My clan also has a ts3 channel we are usually on instead.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    It would be of great help to me if you could tell me what your USB mics volume is?

    And yeah I'll play via teamspeak.
  12. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    Played it once and uninstalled it. You either roll the other team or get rolled and i don't see how they can fix it.
  13. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    That does happen from time to time. When I am just playing by myself I often go from server to server till I find one that works for me. I really like very balanced games, even more than my team rolling the other, so I look for that. Thats why I try to play with the same people if I can so I know it will be better.

    Playing a game once makes a person have a great opinion. Just saying...

    In windows->sound->Microphone properties it says the microphone is set at +45db. If there is an ns2 setting for mic volume I can not find it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Exactly my point. I believe those who have the mic issue are with USB's that have their mic volume value stuck at zero. I can't change mine, I think it would help but I can't. So the game should have such a restriction removed or fixed, assuming that is in fact the issue.
  15. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    You could try to search the ini file or its ns2 equivalent for such a setting. Just use cntrl f to make it quick. If those threads brought you nothing, maybe pm a dev or a good modder and just shoot your theory.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
  17. Eternalchaos

    Eternalchaos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    59 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    NS depends alot on the players knowing the maps and being able to follow the commander's suggestions/orders (if you have a good commander ;) ) and player stacking is not new to the game.

    You need to remember that this is was a HL1 mod before becoming a standalone game, plus balance and new feature are going to be added over time.

    just give it a good 20 hours and you will enjoy it
    james888 says thanks.
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    still no test weekend... if they want to stay alive, they rather make one...intesting game but pretty unfriendly regarding newcomers
  19. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    There was the people in beta who most of them had already been ns1 players. Then there was the total biscuit video during beta that brought in soooo many more people. Then there was the games realease that brought in soooooooooo many more people. Just recently there was a holiday sale bringing the game below $10 that has brought in a big bunch of people. I would think the next thing to do would be a free weekend but that is just a guess. Just wait velvet, the devs said they would do it.
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Actually ns2 is still on sale until the 5th. 40% off. I apparently lied when I said the sale brought the game below $10... Heard that from another player.... My bad.
    http://store.steampowered.com/app/4920/
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    So the game is complaining about my recording device.

    Found this located in C:\Users\(Insert Name)\AppData\Roaming\Natural Selection 2

    Render Device: ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series (8.17.10.1169)
    Error: Couldn't start recording (Unsupported file or audio format. )
    Sound Device: Speakers (2- Creative SB X-Fi) 7.1
    Record Device: Microphone (USB Camera-B4.09.24.1)
    Error: 2 memory leaks in 'Sound' (136 bytes)


    I think on the second line there that is due to my microphone having its sample rate and bitdepth fixed due to driver restrictions. The games won't except my 16bit 16000hz tape recorder quality.
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  22. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,279 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    One step closer to getting your mic working.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well I've done as much research as I can and other than me getting a different mic or the game being patched to accept my mics format there is nothing that can be done. :ohwell:

    There are a few others that have had my issues but I've posted everywhere possible about this and commented on every thread with this issues and have heard no reply from anyone lol. Except here of course :)
  24. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    493 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    How long does this game take to learn if you have played competitive FPS's in the past, but not NS? How is the competitive community maturity wise?
  25. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well no matter how many FPS you've played your going to have to learn how to track down aliens and what their weaknesses are (Since aliens can cloak, walk on walls, gas you, etc...). That might take you a few rounds to figure out. Killing alone won't guarantee you a win, you need to be able to work with the team to push forward and having a commander who knows what he is doing is absolutely essential to win a game.

    The game can get pretty competitive and its a matter of how serious you, your team and your commander are.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page