1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    one continous loop,

    Starts at the pump, then to the 320, then the 220, then the 2 video cards, then the proc, then the rez.

    Im thinking of re-doing it with a better layout and adding another pump to the mix and breaking apart the radz. Im not to happy with the temps on my proc, dont get me wrong, they are not horrible, just not ideal.

    33 idle, 48 load. Sometimes the cores can get into the 60s with a full load on the GPUs also.

    Its time I break apart the system anyways, my videocards are voltmodded now and dumping more heat in the mix than before. So its time to re-do the water. Ive been thinkin of adding TEC for the proc.
     
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    I would add another pump for 2 rads of those sizes thus creating 2 loops. You should notice reduced temps by doing so. Most 2/3 fan rads setups need their own pump from what I've seen so far.
     
  3. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    Thanks for the tip!

    my pump is a mcp355 with a petra top, the thing has some crazy head! It has been very good to me, however, I still plan to add a pump and make 2 seperate loops
     
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    No problem just use the 220 for the CPU and the 320 for the 2 video cards and you should be good to go. Post your results when you finally get it done!
     
  5. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    After talking with fitseries3 a bit more, he's telling to me (as the shop guy did) that it's best to have the bigger flow on my block ... so the 1st loop will be the best yet, running rad back to back.

    Do you agree with my first intuition, fit's and shop guy recommendation?

    I don't want to be draining and filling testing and/or searching my best setup now, since both tasks are a pain in the ass ... i prefer just to be sure with your advice and mount it and leave it for a few months.
     
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Pump > Cpu > Rad > Rad > Res > V
    ^--------------------------------
     
    SirKeldon says thanks.
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    What is bigger flow on my block? In any case I stand by what I posted earlier. Per my own experience I found better results with a single PA 120.3 then I did with a 2 fan and single fan rad.
     
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    he's only cooling the CPU for now.
     
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Doesn't matter...besides it's counterintuitive to use 2 separate rads for just 1 cpu.
     
  10. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    I wanted to mean the highest pressured flow point, which it's just the pump discharge to something, since i'm just w/c my cpu, the "bigger flow" it's suposed to be on pump->cpu to sure the good circulation through the block ... and i repeat, there's simply no room for a 120.3 rad, i have to "resign" with the stuff i have, ty all! :toast:
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2008
  11. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    OK, I see thanks for the additional information and good luck with your project, the decision is ultimately yours :toast:
     
    SirKeldon says thanks.
  12. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    NP dude, i know i should mount the rad vertical to achieve better temps and also that i'd need a better pump to sure good flow around the loop, but actually can't be done, no more budget at the moment.

    Fitseries3 told me also in first instance to use just the MCR-220 rad cause the GTS120 hadn't enough room to blow all the hot air outta the case, after the modding now it has ... so it should work at maybe 50%-75% of efficiency as a exchanger ... the only thing i'm affraid (but also i think it's almost impossible) it's to get worse temps with MCR-220 + GTS120 back-to-back than just with MCR-220 alone just for a flow question cause the GTS120 it's not that big to bleed ... even it's a 1º-2ºC win with both, i think it's the best chance i can take right now since i'm just watercooling my cpu.

    And if i'm wrong please tell me why ... i mean, i want to understand this as a thermodynamics thing, benefits or drawbacks of using the two rads back to back, how it's the flow stopped or how it affects to the total results of the CPU cooling.

    I'll be very appreciated, ty :toast:
     
  13. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    BUMP, any more ideas? i'm gonna mount the loop tomorrow and i'll be happy with a lil more of advice =)
     
  14. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Sorry about that, I didn't get your posts/PM until today.
     
    SirKeldon says thanks.
  15. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    Well, past friday at least i installed all the stuff, finally the loop it's designed as my first idea: res->pump->block->MCR-220->GTS-120->res

    In all the webs i read, switching from a simple 120 radiator to a "normal" dual one (not GTX240 or TC PA 120.2) you should notice a 4-5ºC win in full tasks, but that's all ... in my case connecting the radiators back to back ... with a increase of 5ºC on ambient temp (past week we were at 19ºC, now my room it's at 24ºC) ... i still win 7-9ºC at full tasks (sometimes 10) in comparison to my previous setup (i did temp tests along the week, not just one ;)) so ... in my case, connecting radiators back to back has worked flawlessly, not a gain of just 1ºC as EastCoasthandle experience, i'm winning 3-5ºC constantly ... so i'm really happy finally

    Hope this helps to anyone too :) :toast:

    ps: the idle temps are almost the same (maybe 1ºC better) than previous setup ... but since my ambient temp has upraised 5ºC in the last week i think it's pretty normal ... i'll gotta wait till next fall-winter to see my low 20's in idle =)
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2008
  16. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Please post your before and after idle and load screen shot temps. Also provide your ambient temps during the observation. Your post is a bit vague.
     
  17. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    Unfortunately i don't have screenshots of the temps on the new setup but i'll tell you my results:

    GTS120: 3,54Ghz @ 1.52V -> 10 hours Overdrive stability test -> ambient temp: 19-20ºC -> MB Temp: 25ºC -> max temps on core's 56/46ºC

    MCR-220 + GTS120: 3,54Ghz @ 1.52V -> 8 hours and a half Overdrive stability test -> ambient temp: 21-22ºC -> MB Temp: 27ºC -> max temps on core's 46/37ºC

    MCR-220 + GTS120: 3,54Ghz @ 1.52V -> 8 hours and a half Overdrive stability test -> ambient temp: 24-25ºC -> MB Temp: 30-31ºC -> max temps on core's 48/39ºC
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2008
  18. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    What a shame, it would have been nice to have. From the look of things, you went from a single fan rad to a dual fan + single fan rads. My test was from a 3 fan rad to a 3 fan + single fan rad setup. Thanks for sharing...:toast:
     
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    East my buddy is getting the DD water box,D5 pump
    TDX CPU block, 2xMAZE5GPU(I tell him he needs 3 because he has three cards but he took the 3ed one out)Dual 5 1/4" Bay Reservoir and 2 GTX240 rads..


    I told him that he might need another pump, but how should he start his run. I'm thinking res, pump, CPU, rad, video cards, rad, and back to res. I think he might need to add another pump before the video cards for one loop.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2008
  20. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    Now i understand your lil win better, yes, my past setup was just the GTS120 ... now it's MCR-220 + GTS120, and as i see the things and reviews, it's running nearly as good as a "normal" triple 120 radiator (not GTX or PA 120.3) ... anyway, within a months i'll improve my pump too since the flow and pressure are clearly being affected.

    And talking of pumps, clearly the D5 is your favourite choice, but i think it adds too much heat to the fluid with its 24W (in my setup the block it's the first element right after the pump) ... and watching the custom LC tank CyberDruid was building i saw the AlphaCool AP1510 which delivers till 6m of head pressure (19 feet) and 1500LPH (~396GPH) with a tiny power consumption of 17W ... so ... which one to choose? i'm looking for 1200LPH or more with a considerable head pressure and not too much heat added ... help me to decide ;)

    :toast:
     
  21. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    I would go with a 2nd pump to be honest. From what you posted that orientation sound good if he's only using one pump.




    Your post is a little hard to read/understand so for the first part I cannot address. As for your pump comment, all water pumps add heat at varying degrees. As far as the AP1510 goes I read that it requires a lot more then 17 voltage to get 6m head and it's noisy. However, I have not found any reviews of this pump yet.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2008
  22. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    I was trying to say that now i understand better your little win of 1ºC connecting rads back to back ... i just changed the order on the "better" (spanish legacy) ... and as i always say, english it's not my primary language, not even my secondary, it's the third one and i don't have any official title, i just learned it at school and then music, series and more things ... so excuse my typos ;)

    I suppose those 17W are produced under 12V, as the 24W of D5, sure are measured under 12V too ... and yes, i saw about the noise level but i didn't see the levels of D5 anywhere, do you have the dbA specs?

    ps: my temp's post was wrong so i'm gonna edit it, i just noticed, the ambient temp of 24-25ºC as well as the 30ºC-31ºC on the MB was today ... i just confused data, gonna fix it.
     
  23. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Do you use core temps or Real Temps to monitor your temps? I Know core temps should work but I am not sure about Real temps.
     
  24. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    RealTemp works better in new Intel's, specially Wolfdales and Yorkfields as far as i read (on XS and also in TPU) ... i always used Core Temp and since this february i'm also using CPUID Hardware Monitor which reports the same temps on cores as Core Temp does :)
     
  25. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    The new fuzion is available at some uk retailers now, has anybody seen any tests yet?
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page