1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Damn bro.. that's scary! lol..
  2. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Thats one of the reasons they call it the torture rack
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Lmao.. true on that! torture at the eyes that it be! :laugh:
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Actually, having both rads can hamper cooling performance if they hurt flow too much.

    And I also avoid full coverage blocks. Not only does it trap heat, like MK said, but it dumps the heat from your card's vregs and ram into the loop. Sure, you might be able to get the ram a little further, but I'll take a higher gpu clock over a higher ram clock any day. It's strictly universal blocks for me.

    As for fluid, I use straight distilled water, with no additives. Still the best performing fluid out there.
  5. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    The goal is to get the full covers out of there, and I think Im just gonna stick with Air cooling for my next video cards. Water cooled video cards are just a huge pain to do anything else in my computer.

    Could the length of hose be a hinderance?
    let me get a few...... Im at work now but the girl is home, hopefully I can get her to take some for me
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    longer hose would only hender the cooling of the parts only if the pump can't handle it. Meaning, the faster the pump can move water the better off you are. Thats the way i look at it... But i am no expert..
  7. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    yah thats kinda how i was feeling, and the pump is handling the length just fine, with the petra top i got 8 foot of head with 1/2 ID tubing. It prob could have gone longer than 8 feet but thats all the tubing I had.
  8. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    1.0gpm - 1.5gpm is pretty much all you need, anything over will only improve temp's if blox are designed to favour pressure (impingement/restriction style)

    more RAD will overcome low flow more often than not
  9. NeoCrisis

    NeoCrisis

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    382 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Hey guys so i finally finished my water cooling set up.
    I started out with cooling my just my CPU with a dual 120mm radiator. Then I decided to throw my sli 8800gt into the loop.
    They way I have my case setup (Silverstone TJ07) I wanna keep one hdd cage at the bottom so I can't fit a triple 120mm radiator. Would adding another single 120mm to existing dual 120mm into the loop be just as efficient as using just one triple radiator?
    Also any suggestions to better my cooling would be great

    Thanks

    and FYI im using D5 pump, DD mc-tdx, maze5 gpu blocks
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Information about Apogee GTZ

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    my computer is 100% done will post pics when i get home
  12. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    gabe's been buisy......

    look's nice on paper, any word on review tests?
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, it does look pretty nice... I would love to see a review myself.
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    It would be nice if they went to G1/4 fittings as well.
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    Well I got my new pump a while ago and that lead to me wanting new tubing. So here is the new loop with the pump moved indoors.

    [​IMG]

    The pump looks a bit croocked because it was before I made the plate for it. Had a chunk of the case steel left over from when I cut the fan hole for the PSU!

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  17. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    It looks good Cada, and the same for you Sneeky! :toast: That makes me want to throw up pictures for my loop.. lol..
  18. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    so what are you waitin' for? :p
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    i love my loop with my phenom @2.84ghz 1.4v its still not breaking 37C under 100% load for 30min
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I second this sentiment. lol.
  21. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    since i redid my loop i only turn the RAD fan's on while i'm gaming :rockout:

    she idle's @ 36c even in this heat (no A/C for me) and still running same clock's/Volt's :D

    calvary got killed before doin' my voltmod :cry:
  22. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    That's pretty nice Intel. :toast: on the work!

    Pictures you say... Lmao

    Before drilling

    [​IMG]

    After drilling

    [​IMG]

    The Rad up top

    [​IMG]

    Everything else

    [​IMG]

    I don't have the plastic tie with the hose anymore. I did that so I could make sure it wouldn't move so much when I was traveling back home with it. Plus the video card is my back up.. :roll:

    But, there you have it. I have more... But, know no one wants to see it! :laugh:

    Oh, forgot one thing... wires aren't like that anymore. Worked on that while I tried out the striker II board... Wile E... Board is dead, and I might have to rma my GTX now... lol
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Got my machine up and running....but had a leak on the board while it was on....now it doesn't turn on....fuck


    Maybe after it drys out it will be back up and running........
  24. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    where did the leak happen? I would just un hook everything and take the battery out and do a rest... But, i do hope after the board drys it works... What are you using for coolent?
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Christ man, you have the worst computer luck I have ever seen, and I've personally blown up a lot of shit. lol.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page