1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. alphadog0309 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Unfortunely i'm in the US and it would cost a lot to get shipping for such a large case... Thanks a lot though I would definetly buy your cosmos s as it's already modded and ready for w/c... Sucks to be in the US huh??? Haha
     
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,230 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,135
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Honestly, I could ship you the Cosmos S for around $25-30. It would just take like 5 days. Fedex and UPS ground can be cheap if you do it right.
     
  3. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    finishing the first version of my water build tonight..I've taken pics all the way through so expect a couple screenies ;) :)
    now to take it all apart again as soon as I have the cash for my custom paintjob..lol
     
  4. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    as the loop goes from GPU to CPU, I see no difference from air temps on the CPU...but I still get 33c on the two cores of my X2 so I'm happy with that :D
    now to save and add in the quad rad + fan controller..
     
  5. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    what about load water can idle as air but load is where it shows ;)

    oh yeah wheres the pics :p
     
    Exavier says thanks.
  6. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    well in this UK weather (was snowing today) I hit 25c on the CPU and 22c idle on the GPU...up to 40s/50s load for both
    I'm happy with this but I need a fan controller :( lol
    I'd also quite like money to buy my two DDC pumps with the new EK/XSPC tops..

    pics I took all the way through, bear with me as I host them :D
    FIRST OFF here's some quad pr0n; if popular I can host the original size images.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    just to whet your appetite :laugh:
    my new best friend in delrin flava, thanks aquacomputer
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    a tight fit but perfect for my sandwich-stack 3+4 rad combo :D
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    as it is on my desk atm...HDDs hit a whopping 12c load like this..:eek:

    [​IMG]
    closeup, props to Fitty for shipping UK :) the green is just a reflection off the rounded edge..

    sorry if this kills anyone's 56k..:rolleyes:
     
  7. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,230 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,135
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Looks sweet! What water dye is that? I'm doing a mATX DFI case, and I'm going all out UV Orange :D
     
  8. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    sweet DD, I personally have something to confess:

    my name is ex and I have a UV orange addiction :shadedshu

    but yeah, feser one, with all the DFI gear should look sweet, and just in case you didn't see a reminder of the case when it's done:

    [​IMG]

    so now you can see what's gonna happen with that aquatube, which is mighty hot AND has holes for LEDs - white delrin is semi-opaque = UV BLING :pimp:

    my second rig (lan rig for a friend who only has an integrated lappy, shed a tear) is going to be a cheap Phenom 1 tri-core + 790GX rig which I can watercool as soon as I get my upgrades for this rig (superceding + upgrading means spares) so that'll be yellow, and done in a miniature style of the TJ07..rounded ;)
     
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,230 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,135
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Looks incredible man. I also have something to confess.

    I convinced my girlfriend to pitch in $400 cash to solve my PC and UV Orange withdrawals :p

    Speaking of UV Orange, I'm looking to sleeve my brand new Enermax all UV Orange, but I've got a choice. I can get the AC Ryan sleeving kit, or I can get a generic one. I'm trying to find the best deal.

    I'm also doing individual cables (like seperate sleeving for each cable on the 24 and 6 pins at least) and am trying to get a kit and matching sleeving by the foot, and I'm having a really hard time doing that. Any suggestions?
     
    Exavier says thanks.
  10. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    lmfao :laugh: dude my gf would if I'd let her, I can't bring myself to steal her uni fund...yet :rockout:

    by the foot? you might want to try industrial or commercial electrician-style sites, rather than kits...you'll need a molex tool, and appropriate end connections, but other than that you can find it in bulk online on such sites...might help rather than paying $10-20 for a kit and realising you need several...I'd go AC Ryan as a basis then buy in bulk over the top of it perhaps? if you can..
     
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,230 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,135
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I'd love to buy AC Ryan bulk, but I can't find it ANYWHERE!?!?!? HALP ME!!!
     
  12. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    maybe contact them or a US distributor? talk direct and say

    o ac ryun
    kings of moddinz
    plz gief halp in form of lots of sleeving KTHX TYVM


    or just ask normally, but that's no fun :D
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth


    I bought the pump add on.. I thought what the hell.. Needed something nice for my birthday! lol So, I'll be showing it all when I get it in!!

    As for the fans... Yeah, I have 5 of the 110cfm/37db "slipstreams". I love those things! For some reason, those going, sound so Much better then the Yateloons that I had at 88cfm/40dbs... I also have one on the HR-03 GTX cooler, and one blowing upward.. I'm loving those fans! Can't beat them for $7.99!!!
     
  14. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    sound awesome matey :D what speed are you running them? brave man (with hardy ears) to run at 40db +
    I got migraines with my stock 4870X2 cooler..lol

    also I just went into town to meet Cuzza who came to Bath for a little sightsee and to drop off me a nice oldschool beige tower for my second pc.. :)
    so that beast (it is and all my limbs know it, carrying it by hand up a 1km hill :() will be modded and then watercooled when my new parts (waiting to see the new PA120.4 first but generally a x4 fan rad and two DDC3.2 pumps) arrive, transporting the old into the 'new' beige case :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2009
  15. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Can't wait to see it all done for you man! Can't wait!!

    As for dbs... I've had Delta fan's running on a Xig S1283 that had db rating of 55... Those where ones that would give you migraines from the start!!! lol.. After those fans, I went away from air cooling.. Couldn't take them anymore!!
     
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    rendered

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    w/ mesh

    [​IMG]

    watcha ya'll think
    will fit a 240/360mm rad on front and dual 4x80mm on bottom
     
  17. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I hope you can show us the real thing soon Cda!!! I think it looks sweet!

    All right guys got the Ek Top for the pump a few mins ago.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    As you can see, It has Ek's Stamp!!! So it's real

    [​IMG]


    Here is a picture with everything that came in the small lil box!

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    The last picture shows the o-ring that comes with the stuff. That way you can see that they do supply it. Also, you will need to change it out per Instructions stating to.
     
    cdawall says thanks.
  18. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    very nice C-dawg :D - as my TJ will be for silence I have a little plan up my sleeve involving throwing myself at possible sponsors once I get my case anodised/powdercoated ;)
    CS matey how loud does your D5 sound? I don't see it being worth the added cost for me over the DDC3.2 with new EK top..as I want two (for redundancy/flow)
     
    cdawall says thanks.
  19. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Well, for it the reason for the top was this.. It was birthday money.. Plus, for me, it was better to do so. It does give it a better difference to do the change, and I have more of the ability to mod this case for where ever I want to put this pump.. I don't have to worry about the the top since it would be two fronts..
     
  20. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    CDA is that triangular hole for looks or what? either way it looks good, I think I'd rather move the four rad holes on the base to the 'back' as there's a gap there? was thinking about a pyramid case build as they're strong due to the shape and offer good space if you can mount the motherboard suspended/on a shelf..hm :D
     
  21. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    A reviews of 4 (3 after market) D5 tops are now available.
    source
    Are you able to tell which top performed the best and the worst (between 1.0GPM and 2.0GPM) just by looking at the design?
     
  22. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Never seen the Detroit Therm tops... I gotta say, i do love my EK top rev 2!! Made my life so much better with the loop! SOOOO much!!!
     
  23. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,881 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    HAF case - 320 radiator inside on top - Modding case Fan?

    I orginally had this thread in Case Modding sneekypeet suggested it here (so blame him :)) - http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1223029#post1223029

    Here's the story:

    Building a W/C HAF case. Bottom part is done - plan to post that soon.

    I'm working on the top where the radiator will go. It's a 320 Swiftech, I'm also putting a Koolance fan/temp monitor control PCB at the front top.

    Wondering how best to use (or not use) the top 240mm fan in the mix. The radiators will have 3 x 120mm fans, with RPM controlled by the Koolance monitor.

    The idea of push/pull is good, so I'd like to keep the fan,

    Here's the top:

    [​IMG]

    Here's the top with the 240mm fan:

    [​IMG]

    Here's the radiator on the fan:

    [​IMG]

    Here's the radiator without the fan:

    [​IMG]

    Looking to reduce dead spots... so here's the parts to cut off. I obvisouly can't cut out the center of the fan. ;)

    [​IMG]

    What to do? Thoughs and advice appreciated.
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,152 (12.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,675
    That fan really isn't going to cut it for pushing air through a radiator. If you want push/pull, six low/med. speed 120mm's would work best.
     
  25. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,881 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Hate to leave the 240mm doing nothing, so in this pic, there are 3 x 120mm rads on the bottom of the radiator, the fan on top is helping - pushing air out (down towards the table).

    Trying to use everything at hand...

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page