1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,207 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    That is one angry kitty :p

    I agree, push/pull with low/med yate loons would be best.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    Yeah, using 3 120's for push and the 240 as the pull should work well.:)
     
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Eh, she looks evil, but she's just a creampuff with claws ;)


    I think so to... going to trim off the shroud where it covers the radiator, that should give a few more square inches of flow, hence the angry kitty pic:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Has anyone tried a Swiftech F fitting. I was thinking about using this right before my CPU block so I would have 1/2 tubing going to my CPU and 1/4 to my NB. Would this help or hurt flow rates?
     
  5. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    I don't have any experience with those, but it stands to reason that if your NB block currently impedes the flow, it could help.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    H, 2, oooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

    I've been whoring these pics lately cause I'm excited about the new setup.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    D-Tek Fuzion II
    D-Tek DB-1
    D-Tek 1/2in Fittings
    Swiftec MCP320-Res Radiator
    7/16in ID | 5/8in OD Tubing

    Loving it so far. I plan on getting the D-Tek GFX II combo to cool the video card. Do you guys think my current setup would be up to cooling the video card as well? I know the D-Tek pump is not the strongest, but I'm going for quietness and not MAXIMUM overclocking. I should be okay with the 3x120 Rad no?
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2009
    EastCoasthandle says thanks.
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    ^ Looks good, what did it do for your temps - what'd you have before that?

    Small loss at the fitting, they're usually about 0.37"-0.4" ID. Obviously your CPU block won't be gettting as much flow - with part of it going to the NB. But... perhaps a cooler NB and slight loss to the CPU will give more gain.

    I personally don't like the idea of using splitters, though I don't have any experience to talk about. In a series circuit, you know the flow is going to be the same throughout, and I think it's cleaner in the end.
     
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
  8. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Prior to the water setup at 3.5Ghz it got stupid hot. Idle was 40-45c and load was 60-65C. I never ran it for long periods of time because it got so hot. The cooling setup was a Scythe Katana II and a 120mm fan. With the water setup I'm idling around 30-35c and full load has not passed 47c. I'm in Tucson AZ and its been pretty warm lately, low 80's. My house stays around 74-76F during the day. So 30-35c idle is pretty good.
     
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    That's not bad at all. Good job :toast:
     
  10. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    EastCoast, do you think cooling my video card with my current setup (pump and rad) would be an option? I'm planning to get the D-Tek GFX II to keep my 260 cool. Will the DB-1 pump and the rad be able to handle it?
     
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Ditto - @75f ambient that is a really good delta. :toast: Don't have those ambient temps here in new hampshire atm :)

    Like the added VRM chipset fan.
     
  12. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I'm gonna wish I had your current temps when July comes around. It's going to be ridiculous hot here. Last summer we had multiple weeks of 105+.
     
  13. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Yes, it is an option. However, you have to keep in mind that you still want to actively cool components on your video card that would have been cooled from your OEM HSF. That means either
    A. Adjusting intake fan speed to accommodate
    B. Placing a fan near your video card for antiquate cooling.

    What components you want to cool?
    Ram ICs
    mosfets/vregs
    overall video card
    What that means is that you will need to find heatsinks for those components as well. Specially if you plan on overclocking.
     
  14. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I only want to water cool the video card and CPU of course. Fans will be installed in the case to keep the ram, video card and overall air flow in check.
     
  15. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Example of what I am talking about can be found here. The only exception is that you won't need the GPU heat sink.
     
  16. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Wouldn't D-Tek's heatsink keep the vrm and ram cool?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  17. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Regardless if the solution comes from Thermalright, Dtek or whoever, you still want to actively cool those components as your OEM HSF did.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2009
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
  18. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    ^^^ Sexy!!!:respect:
     
  19. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Hey dude, you changed your pics. Your rig isn't naked anymore! The window is great - no more blaring cold cathode.

    Is the radiator the swiftech 320 version with the resevoir at the top?
     
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
  20. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Yep, updated the pics. :rockout:
    The radiator is a Swiftech 320 with the res, yep.
     
  21. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Cool you did it right, no need for an external resevoir, your setup is exactly why they made that model (barbs down). Does that rad has a fillport at the resevoir end - the top in your config? It looks like it.
     
  22. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Yep, fill port is at the top of the rad/res. This is the exact setup I was going for. I didn't want anymore parts or tubing inside the case other than the required parts. Having the res built into the rad makes things much easier. Bleeding the system is painless, adding fluid is very easy, etc. Its perfect imo.
     
  23. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I was looking at pump/res combos and came along this combo. I was wondering what you guys thought of it. Pumps out 198gph.. It's different...
     
  24. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,207 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Haven't heard of it before except for on PPCs, but it looks like they basically built a res around a small aquarium pump, right? Because that's an underwater pump.
     
  25. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, it looks like that... I am thinking of putting water under the cards.. Just don't quite know yet.. :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page