1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    by the way love the thread but the plastic hose clamps on page 1 are horrible they can shift around or even come off and they are not necessary for 7/16" tubing often system builders will buy a pack of cables ties usually 4" black or white for cable management or fans they work great as clamps. I would also stay away from 90' fittings it will just add more restriction with Tygon Tubing you don't need Smart Coils or Fittings because the Tubing has a good bend radius. Pump is fine :)

    - Christine
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2008
  2. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
  3. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    Here's my kit!
    1 D-tek FuZion with pro mount and accelerator nozzle kit
    2 swifteck Mcpsomthing pump
    3 3/8 id tubing with reducers for pump
    4 swiftech mcr220/res soon to be fillport I'm just too lazy to drill the hole lol
    and future switchout/addon of the mcr320 rad
    2x yate loon 90cfm fans (Idon't mind the noise)
  4. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    have a look at my last post, i think its in there :eek:

    what rad is the single 120? what fans? shroud or no shroud?

    :toast:
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I am using this pump on 17v with my meanwell
    DD12V-D5 Pump Fixed Speed

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    With the meanwell I can tell a huge differance in the way my pump runs.I just let it run 24/7 because it's not hurting anything. It sounds like a fish tank LOL.
  6. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    @ DaMulta : D-5b? there is some question as to the actual setting of the pump as they are reported to be fixed at setting 4 but there have been a few instances reported of performance identical to setting 2, so be carefull ;)

    i think the heat dump from yor pump at 17v would offset the perormance increase, 13.5v-14v is the sweet spot for your pump IIRC, 18v for an IWAKI ;)

    @ phillbrown : get rid of the reducers and run 7/16th tubing with 1/2" barbs

    :toast:
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I would get the d-tek FuZion. I've tried a few in my time and the d-tek is a better WB IMO. The storm was a good block for a single die CPU and I loved it but it doesn't compare to the FuZion.



    Thanks :)
    Not bad on the WB, are you a metal worker by trade?



    I know you can use 7/16" tubing on 1/2" ID barbs without the fasteners (at first). However, over time the tubing begins to "mold" itself into the shape of the barb and it may keep it's seal however in my experience it can fail, losing it's seal and dumping a hard stream of water onto your PC. If you remove your tubing from the barb after a few months it typically will not reseal itself like it did the first time you tried it (when the tubing was in new condition). You will see the end of the tubing taking on the shape of the barb making a air/water tight seal impossible.

    This is why I never recommend nor suggest installing tubing without fasteners. This is why the plastic fasteners are just fine, if they are loose and your hand is not strong enough to tighten it down, use a pair of wide moth pliers. If the plastic fasteners are to big/small then get the metal kind. However, these are a bit difficult to tighten down or un-tighten once the PC is put together for the video card and CPU WB as screwdriver is typically to long to properly maneuver. The plastic tighteners have an advantage in this avenue.
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2008
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i've got a d-tek fusion currently as well as a DD MC-TDX and a swiftech apogee gt and the d-tek is the best overall in performance.
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    slight update to OP
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I also use tubing with nylon in it.

    [​IMG]

    It's harder to fight leaks with it, but no crinks in the tubes.


    Also I have found it easier to just get one of these [​IMG] to bleed the system.
    It's faster and easier by far.
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2008
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I wasn't looking at the Storm, I was looking at the EK Supreme. It's been tested to cool better than the Fuzion, but it's about as restrictive as the storm.

    http://www.petrastechshop.com/eksuuncpuwa1.html

    Review here: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?/cases_cooling/ek_supreme_cpu_water_block/4

    I'm still torn on which block to get, Fuzion or EK, but I have decided to commit to running my cpu in it's own loop, so I don't think the restriction of the EK block will be an issue.
  13. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I see, well the difference in that review certainly doesn't justify the restriction. IMO, 2C and better would be worth it but in most cases it' less then 1C. :ohwell:


    DaMulta:
    That's not a bad setup. How long have you had it?
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yeah, you're probably right. Guess I'll just get the Fuzion. And not only that, I was thinking more about it, and they didn't test it against a jetted Fuzion. So with tweaks, the Fuzion will likely pull ahead again anyway.
  15. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I have had most of it from about September. I bought it when I was running two 180Watt Tecs on X1950XTX cards. It would idle at -2c, so the TECs was kept plenty cool.
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2008
  16. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2008
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    ok fellas here is my question. I am using some older parts and it seems to be working well enough for my E6400.

    I am using an older TDX waterblock with the restricter placed over the fins on the inlet side.

    I am also using a Hydor Seltz L30 which even at the 2 foot head to the rad will run 4.6Gal/minute.
    will removing the "cats eye" restricter, will temps go up or down?
  18. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    4.6 GPM how did you get this? using Martinm210's flow calc?

    flow calculator/estimator:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=151627

    the purpose of the nozzles/plates is to create turbulence which in turn increases cooling efficiency, i think your temps would increase by removing it.
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2008
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    http://www.overclockers.com/articles672/

    I did the math based on 275GPH @ 2foot head. Its 4.5888888GPM

    Also with the original TDX which DD doesnt show anylonger, they had like a 5 piece kit. Different sizes and one to do yourself, but they also said to try without.
  20. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    put your pump in a loop and those #'s will change because you've added restrictions, the #'s you're posting are free flow #'s.

    i posted the flow estimator for you incase you were unaware of its existence it is very helpfull

    what else is going in the loop?

    when got into W/C the 3 barb blox were king :laugh:

    i remember most of those early days including somethings about the TDX :p

    :toast:
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2008
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    just what is in the specs....no Graphics just CPU

    I dont see a flow estimator...could you repost...also most of the estimators dont use my parts in thier lists!
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2008
  22. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    leave the plate in there for reasons i mentioned earlier

    do you have any of the other plates?

    theres the link to the estimator in post #104
  23. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    nope it would be with or without.
  24. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    with the plate, check my previous posts if you missed something

    :toast:
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    Version 2.5 doesnt have my pump and I couldnt seem to get rid of the GPU block!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page