1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Nice man, cool trick I just learned.

    I used teflon tape cuz I did get leaks at first on some fittings, the O-ring wasnt seating right it was getting stretched out on the base the more I tightened it. So I figured it was the only solution.

    @ techniks, I see you did plan ahead with the psu issue.


    Also thats an awesome looking rig man.



    EDIT: Got it working with the paper clip, Nice!
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2009
    technicks says thanks.
  2. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    I added a Second Rad (DD Black Ice GT 240) to my loop and I got a nice temp drop. Just wanted to share this with you guys, I think its amazing what kind of temps i'm getting.

    The pic is of my idle temps, Also my load temps decreased about 5-6C on both gpu and cpu.

    BTW cpu 1.55V // Gpu 1.40V// (2D)
    [​IMG]
     
  3. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I doubt those temps are correct.
     
  4. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Lol :laugh: 4C on one of my core, I beleive the temp drop is real though.
     
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Where do you live? 3dsage?
     
  6. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Where you live Alaska :laugh:
     
  7. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    NW Burbs of Chicago:D
    Those where taken at night and its like mid 30's (F),
    My Rads are sitting by the window and my rigs out in the open.

    I would hate that:p
     
  8. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Can someone help explain the use of a "top" in a loop? I'm not sure what the importance is for, flow? I'm a WC noob I know so any help is awesome.
     
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,207 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    "Tops" as they're referred to are either for a pump or for a waterblock.

    Ex. 1: Fit's acrylic tops for the DTek Fuzions are for aesthetics (they're clear plexi) and improve flow.

    Ex. 2: XSPC's pump tops do a number of things like increase pump flow, water pressure, etc.
     
    3dsage and mlee49 say thanks.
  10. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    I'm assuming not absolutely necessary in most single loop setups.
     
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,207 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Well it's kind of like if you have a car. Let's say you want some more oomph, so you bolt on a better exhaust. It's really just up to you.

    Tops are replacements, not addons.

    [​IMG]
    Image taken from Madshrimps.be

    The copper is the base, and the black plastic is the mid-plate and top. Not all blocks have a midplate and top, but the DTek Fuzion v1 does.
     
  12. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    You need to look at that link again :p
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Well going to do a full over hall on everything in the next 2 months.

    Case, Rad, CPU Block, res, fittings...
     
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Hey guys,how often do i need to flush my system out and change the water? Its been running flawless for at least 6mths.
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Whenever it starts getting nasty. lol. If it's still clear, and temps are still the same, you should be fine.
     
  16. stevebaker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm guna be cooling 2 xfx 8800 gtx's but can you explain this in line cooling thing to me please? How does it work and what other options do I have here?
     
  17. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Just a couple questions to all you w/c pro's:

    I have the XSPC res top on my pump.
    [​IMG]

    Is it mean't to be filled right up to the top eliminating air, or a small gap?
    Also the pump does get very warm to the touch, almost hot, will this radiate to the res affecting performance? If so would it be worth getting an seperate res?
     
  18. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    I am by no means a pro, but I have that res. And no, don't fill it to the top. Constantly add water until the loop is filled. I got a gap of about one, one and a half inch.
     
    ace80 says thanks.
  19. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    If you fill it to the top when the pump is on and you put the cap on, turning off the pump will cause the water to rise and may cause leaks. I have mine filled about 3/4mm under the top because this way the res will not get so dirty on the inside.:p

    And this way it's easy for me to check the flow since the pump is so quiet. Also the pump itself stays very cool.

    [​IMG]
     
    ace80 says thanks.
  20. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Cheers guys, i'm glad i left a gap when i filled it then.

    On a side note, the inlet tube through the middle of the res. Does it really have to be that long?
    Just seems to me the water comes in then straight back into the pump, no circulation time in the res. Or am i talking bs :laugh:
     
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It's probably there to help keep it more quiet, so the water coming from the line isn't splashing into the water in the res.
     
  22. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I've fitted a fill port to mine on the top of the case,with a tube from the fill port to the top on the res.
     
  23. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Ok so I got everything setup. I want to test the system before I put it on the board. How long should I let it run for? 4+hours?

    I put Teflon tape around all the threads and am ready to cut the tubing and clamp them into place.

    Any last minute checks I should go through before putting it in place?





    Necessity is the mother of invention.




    Oh and why the hell is this thread not Stickied!!!!
     
  24. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    It will most likely leak in the first 30 min through hour of use.
     
    mlee49 says thanks.
  25. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Thanks I'll test it for a good hour before putting it on the system.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page