1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well i see i have a lot more research too do sinds there are already radiators that are build the way i want it.

    like this one too airplex evo 1080 i

    And mounting one 250mm fan on it will probably do the job just fine.

    TY for the answers so far, i will be back when i have done more research so i do not ask questions i could have found on my one.;)
     
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    No problem, if you have time call them up and ask them what hardware is needed with the airplex evo 1080 i. That appears to be what you are looking for so far. In any case if you have any more questions don't hesitate to ask.
     
  3. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well i have trown overboard all i had till now,

    reasons beeing,

    The EK supreme will not perform good in a loop with more than only the cpu block it seems.
    And i am going to put more than 1 block on the loop.
    The Laing D5 is the same as the Swiftech MCP655-B, so i will check prices for wich one.

    The radiator can only be somewhat of two PA120.2 sinds the bigger ones like the airplex evo 1080 i or the MagiCool XTREME Nova 1080 Radiator are apperently FLOW KILLERS.

    So that's out of the question.

    insted of the EK supreme i will check the D-Tek fuzion or maybee a Nexxox x2.


    So almost back to square 1.
     
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Here is a suggestion:
    Fuzion for the CPU
    Maze5 for the GPU (with appropriate ram sinks, if needed)
    tubing size 7/16" ID, 11/16" OD (unless you prefer a smaller size tube)
    PA120.3 rad
    d5 pump
     
  5. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    In first term, wanna say thank you to EastCoastHandle for directing me to this post, and also DaMulta cause he saved my life in a previous thread that i started claiming for some help for watercooling, here's my setup:

    - CPU Waterblock: Enzotech SCW-1 (super high density, real mirror finish, i think it would be in the same level as Fuzion or DD, check the official page)
    - Radiator: HWLabs BlackIce GT Stealth 120x1 (installed with 2xSilenX iXtrema Pro series in a pull->push setting)
    - Reservoir: Thermaltake AquaBay M3
    - Pump: Hydor L20 Pro (brings 700 lph)
    - Tube: 1/2" (18-12mm) Tubclair
    - Coolant: Feser One Cooling Fluid

    As i was cooling just my CPU, DaMulta said to me to use this setup: res-out to pump-in, pump-out to cpu-in, cpu-out to rad-in and rad-out to res-in. It's working well and cools appropiated though i saw different setups to mount it in a different way, don't know if that setups will work better than the one i have, most common alternative i've seen is rad-out to cpu-in, cpu-out to res-in, res-out to pump-in and pump-out to rad-in ... but in this way the water passing through the pump will be always hot as well as the reservoir one, and my pump didn't resists water more than 35-45ÂșC so i think i'll keep as i mounted it, water is always "fresh" at the res and pump so now the question is referring to the rad, what will cool better, the 120x1 with pull->push fan setup i'm owning or a 120x2 just with push fan setup?

    Also i read in first post that the reservoir must be higher than the pump, mine's at the same level, maybe a few mm up but it was impossible to mount it in another bay to keep the good access to some parts of the mobo and also to let the airflow work better, i think the flow is working appropiated since it's all well cooled but i'll appreciate much your opinion. I'm adding photos of the rig for you to check:

    General view of the tube connection:
    [​IMG]

    Pump to reservoir detail:
    [​IMG]

    Radiator detail:
    [​IMG]

    Closed with cold cathodes on :D (sorry about the quality of these ones, i turn off the light to better see the cold cathodes)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Hope you like it though it's not finished yet, pump is directly connected with an AC plug and just doesn't fits to pass through PCI bays so i have to install a switch for it, it will be more comfortable for me and finally i'll can pass the cable through the PCI hole and close the other lateral panel without messing anything :)

    ps: DOM rig it's amazing and so well modded, i wish i could be less clumsy to do that beauty things, i can't beat it with mine :laugh:
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2008
  6. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    SirKeldon,
    That is one awesome water cooled setup you have there. Thanks for sharing.
     
    SirKeldon says thanks.
  7. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I was thinking of making two seperate loops.

    Are there any radiators out there that are a bit cheaper and still performs well, maybee the Nexxox xtreme rev 2 or two airplexe pro 240 or XT or EVO, or some black ICE type of radiator.

    Have too read some test and reviews too find the best value for money radiator.
    Have been searching and searching but thermochill is the best of the best that's for sure, and worth the money.

    And have too find two pumps that will be sufficient for the job without costing a arm and a leg. I was thinking about two Hydor Seltz L30 i can get those for 27.76 euro each.

    Or two eheim 1046-790 for 30,00 euro each fitted with keramiklagerung. the ones with the better berings i understand.

    And what about the eheim compact pumps i have seen in a shop they are cheap and can get 1000l/Hour trough the tubing.

    The max price is about 40 euro for each pump other wise the amount of money spend will get out of control.

    Until now i have spend,
    166,45 Euro for the Thermaltake Mozart TX case
    44.91 Euro for three 250 mm fans

    and as it looks now,
    around 160 Euro for two PA120.2's
    around 50 Euro for a EK supreme

    i still need two pumps and reservoirs, and later on a gpu block
    Making it a 2 loop system.
    As well as cuplings and hoses,

    I have been reading a lot of artikels and it seems that 1/2 inch tubing is the better one, correct me if im wrong.

    Sinds the cpu will not likely get as hot as the gpu i will put the motherboard cooling in that loop, and schould still hev enough pressure i hope. Correct me if im wrong.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2008
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    The Swiftech MCR320-QP or Swiftech MCR220-QP should be a good, cheaper alternative. As for pumps the Hydor Seltz L30 should suite you fine.
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Well, got my Fuzion and Bitspower pump top installed today. With uncured AS5, my temp drops under load are between 7-10C. I'm ecstatic with the results. After curing,I'm willing to bet it will drop another 3 or 4C, like it did with the Apogee GT.
     
  10. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I have made up my mind about a few things,

    CPU loop: hydor seltz L30/ Ek supreme/ thermaltake aquabay M3/ Thermochill PA120.2
    GPU loop: hydor seltz L30/ to be decided/ thermaltake aquabay M3/ Thermochill PA 120.2
    Mainboard loop: hydor seltz L20/ to be decided/ T-split/ ALPHACOOL NEXXXOS XTREME I REV 2/

    The swiftech is very hard to find here.:shadedshu

    And i have found a site where the PA120.2 is at a good price, and they are the best so i will use them.

    If anyone thinks there is a better solution please tell me. TY.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2008
  11. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    I'm a total noob yet but i think you'll be fine just with two Hydor L30 pumps and one reservoir, both pumps will bring about 2400 lph together. Then add two Thermochill PA120.2 you were thinking, or if the money is a problem with that ones take a see to the HWLabs BlackIce GTX 240 here.

    I'll do a single loop but ensuring always fresh water this way: res -> 1st pump -> 1st rad -> cpu -> mobo -> gpu -> 2nd rad -> 2nd pump -> res. If you prefer a double loop: res -> 1st pump -> 1st rad -> cpu -> mobo -> 2nd rad -> 2nd pump -> gpu -> res.
     
  12. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well the trouble is the EK supreme will only function at top performance if the pressure is high enough.

    Putting it in too another loop will bring the pressure down, them you should use a D-Tek fusion.

    Is there any need for flow indicator.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2008
  13. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    @ wileE : nice to hear that you got such a noticeable improvement

    anyone planning on using ANY of the HYDOR pumps i HIGHLY reccomend using them with FREE FLOWING blocks as those pumps have very low pressure characteristics and you will not have good performance.

    you want to use a high pressure pump such as DDC/mcp355 with high restriction blocks or multi block loops.

    :toast:
     
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i'd say use the Laing D5/MCP-655. it's twice the pump that the DDC3.2/MCP355 is.
     
  15. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2008
  16. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    @ fitseries : the D5/mcp655 has only slightly better FLOW and better reliability

    @ [MD]Phantom : the EK is a high RESTRICTION block and i reccomend using a pump with higher PRESSURE characteristics to achieve good performance

    :toast:
     
    [MD]Phantom says thanks.
  17. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Oke i am looking for such a pump, i have been staring at some graphs here http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=10825

    But i am not getting it, and not al pumps are listed on this.

    Are all high pressure pumps that expensive?.

    And how can you see that the pump you are looking at is a high pressure pump?, i have seen a lot of pumps already in a lot of stores and schops.
    But how can you tell it's a high pressure pump.?
     
  18. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    So do you recommend me too a high pressure pump for my Enzotech SCW-1 to perform better?? (the inside circuit is almost the same as D-Tek Fuzion one, so i suppose is a high restriction block too)

    As for the radiator since i'm not a huge gamer i won't do a multiloop to the GPU, but i'm not sure what size to use, my case is mid-tower, just 45cm high and if i put a 120x2 rad i can't switch on the cables needed for the Audigy4 ... so i'm just thinking in another 120x1 rad that performs almost like one of 120x2, better than the HWLabs BlackIce GT Stealth 120 i'm currently owning, should i go to the Extreme version or a Thermochill PA120.1 will perform better?

    Thanks :D

    ps: all this modifications will be done within months but i'll enjoy hearing and taking notes of your recommendations :toast:
     
  19. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    The MCP600 is the old version the new one is the MCP655.

    If i would use that pump would it be enough pressure too do boot the CPU and GPU block?.

    Because getting 2 MCP655's is a little expensive.
    And wouldn't it be better then too use the MCP355 or a MCP350 because the MCP655 will put a lot of heat into the water.

    I really start getting crazy.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2008
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    [MD]Phantom, I suggest getting the DTek Fuzion instead of the EK block. The EK block barely bested the Fuzion, but the Fuzion it was compared against didn't have any optional nozzles installed. With a nozzle installed, the Fuzion performs better than the EK. Considering you are gonna have more than one block in your loop, I believe it is the way you should go.

    For a pump, An MCP355 with a different top would work great with the Dtek Fuzion and GPU in the same loop.
     
    intel igent says thanks.
  21. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Either will do quite well. The D5 is said to be a little more reliable. Personally, I run a DDC-1 with a top. It's down to personal choice, at this point.
     
  23. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    I read in many webs that this Enzotech i'm owning got the best of the Swiftech, DD exterior design and D-Tek Fuzion inside ... i'll need a new pump too, and as i'm reading all of you it seems a Swiftech MCP355 or any DDC-1 will fit but since i'll be condemned, i think, to use just a 120x1 radiator (still deciding if i'll get Thermochill or HWLabs BlackIce Xtreme), what will be the best option? One bringing more flow as the MCP655 or the MCP355 will offer the same performance? (the rad is outside and must be outside so i think i'll need more flow with the appropiated pressure these pumps will give me but correct me if i'm wrong)

    Also i'm noticing my pump with the hours gets hot, and so the water that flows inside it and goes directly to the CPU. Actually the circuit is res -> pump -> cpu -> rad -> res. If i change the circuit to: res->pump->radiator->cpu->res i'll notice better performance or since the rad is outside it will be the same?
     
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    With a single block loop, you won't see much difference changing loop order. Maybe a degree or 2. For a single 120mm rad, get the PA120 from Thermochill. Since you're running only one block, my recomendation for you are the same as Phantom. A DDC-1 with a top, or a D5 will both be more than enough.
     
    SirKeldon says thanks.
  25. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    @SirKeldon, i have seen a lot of shops al ready and a PA120.1 will cost almost as much as a PA120.2 with a difference of only 7 euro at times, and i have seen that the PA120.2 is performing considerably better. Maybee that would be a better choice?.


    Oke let's asses it then, as it is now

    1 pump i preffer the Laing DDC1+ 12v (i think)
    2 Thermochill PA120.2 (most expensive parts that's for sure)
    1 thermaltake aquabay M3
    1 D-Tek fuzion with nozzle kit
    1 Gpu block (still too be found)
    1 RADI120AL Magicool Radiator 120 aluminium
    1 Hydor Seltz L20 Universal pump

    Well this is it i think then, fluid and other minor things not included.

    it will cost around 300-350 euro's.
    A lot off money,

    And still i wonder if i use the Laing D5 won't that pump be strong enough too incorporate the EK supreme?. Reason it's a bit cheaper. The D-Tek wil cost me about 70 Euro and the EK supreme around 45 Euro, a difference of 25 Euro.

    The difference between the DDC1+ at 75.43 Euro and the Laing D5 at 80.02 Euro is only 5 Euro, so 20 Euro less spend.

    I have saved money for a good watercooled system but i am not prepared to throw it out the window easily.:cry:
     
    SirKeldon says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page