1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    I have a question about watercooling: Is there any "failsafe" devices that can be added, say if the pump stops to function it cuts the power for the system instantly (so it can get overheated)? I have been thinking of gettin watercooling for my system for some time now (fans are a bit too loud), but I'm a bit paranoid...as usual.
  2. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    seeing a pump blow up to where it's leaking water is a strange one in deed... Now, if it stops and there is no water flowing, you'll know from it doing a bsod due to heat and that should make you want to check your loop out.

    Most all pumps now a day are lasting longer then you think and lasting years to come.. It's really worth the work if you study and know what your doing from talking and working it out.. Now, what you need to do? leak test it first then allow the system to go in.. That's the most "fail safe" that it can go.. Also adding a temp thermometer will allow you to have a digital read out on what your water loop is temped at.. if it's higher then it should be, you can check it out... clean the fans, and go at it..

    That's my thoughts and talks when a friend is thinking of water..
  3. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Considering water pumps in loops are just modified aquarium pumps you should expect them to be able to take a heavy beating without any problems. I've seen aquarium pumps run for well over 10 years without any problems, so I think the chance of a pump failing just like that would be very unlucky, and as Cold said, the machine would just shut itself off to prevent it from burning up.
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,525 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    Isn't that what the temp sensing in the chips and the motherboard are for? ( CPU throttling on the chip and the setting in bios to shut the rig down due to temps)
  5. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Also GPU throttling. I believe too high temps on a VGA card would BSOD as well, right?
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,525 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    It will crash the driver, keeping the cards at 2D speeds I believe.
  7. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,256 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    If the loop is on PWM cooling then you'd notice the noise stepping up too. As the guys have said, a cpu that gets too hot throttles or shuts down - gpu's are the same. I think it's only over volting that can seriously burn things out. Chips are designed with thermal limits and cut offs as design standards.

    As for leaks, as Cold said, you leak test it first with mobo off and use either a psu hotwire method (paperclip or retail accessory) or a standalone molex power adapter.

    Water cooling is actually very easy and tremendous fun if you have basic technical skills. Just do the research on fans, fins and fluids.
  8. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    The driver crashed for me when my MemIO temps on GPU #1 hit 99 and roughly when the core on either GPU hit 90, but wouldn't the GPU run essentially at higher temps in idle than a CPU on water? Would take a few extra degrees till the CPU BSODs due to its own temp.
  9. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    finally got my block mounted on my 5870, its just been laying in my drawer for like 4 months lol

    but would you believe i threw away the mounting screws?
    yeah i did :banghead:

    but found small screws in my pc box thingie, its mounted now, just gotta cut one of the tubes in the rig and connect the thing, and yeah.....its gonna take some time lol, im wasted
  10. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    I plug my pumps rpm sensor (or whatever that pin on a 3 pin fan connectors called) into one of my motherboard fan headers so i can monitor it from my mobo software (or speedfan etc)

    I haven't checked on my current motherboard, but on my previous one there was an option to sound an alarm or shut down, should a "fan" fail.
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :roll::roll::roll:

    Speaking of having stuff laying around for months, I just installed my CPU block on my AMD rig. I've had that block for over a year without using it. :laugh:
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    :shadedshu

    see lol :laugh:

    at least i got it mounted now, but i think my gpu is dying on my, have had small green artifacts for a month now, talked to sneeky, he said it could be vram thats failing,

    funny thing is that when i game theres no problems
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    See, I don't have that option, I use Speedfan for it though.
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    So when do you get them? When not gaming, like just browsing around and stuff?
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    exactly, and watching movies
  16. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Recheck the ram.. I had the same issues on video.. seen to be I set my multi of my ram down, and boom.. no more stuff.
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    What CS stated could be, is system stable, does this one crunch?
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Drivers and codecs can cause artifacting issues too. Update both.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  19. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    vram or ram ram?

    my ram is not oc'd, just running stock. and its started happening within the last month, and i had the system for like 5 or so.

    already tried that, no go
  20. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'm saying ram ram... play around.. just lower the multi... see if it works..
  21. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    coolio ;) gonna try it out later then :p
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    So did you? Stop slacking like you did with that water block... :laugh::laugh:
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i lowered the speed on the memory, and on my cpu, but it didnt help

    i cant seem to find the multiplier on my memory, but this is SB, not P55, x58

    cant find shit in this bios lol, well nuff tech talk here, its for wc lol
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It should definitely be in the BIOS dude...
  25. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Well my fan controller arrived last Saturday, been toying around on different times of the day (diff ambient temps and what not), and I can say I'm really happy with all my fans on their lowest settings. CPU temp seems to be roughly the same, maybe with a 1-2 degrees Celsius fluctuation in real world usage. I didn't stress test yet because I have been caught up with World of Warcraft Syndrome yet again.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page