1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,607 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,943
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,842
    Damn someone is proud:D
    Where did you get those leet invisible cables on the ODD in that first image?;)
  3. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,607 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,943
    I bought them from you, of course! That's where I get all my leet goods :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,842
    :roll: well played!
    t_ski says thanks.
  5. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,319 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,404
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,129 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,355
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Whooh!

    At last. My M4 bolts came in for my Raystorm cooler. New rig up and running (not done any OC yet :shadedshu).

    Ran Prime 95 for 5 mins and temps hit an alarming 37 degrees :laugh:, with fans stable at 700rpm. Awesomely quiet machine. No HDD, just two 120 GB SSD's for now.

    Some pics.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Gonna bench 3DMark11 at stock to see how it fares to my old i7 920@3.6.

    Next upgrade, any w/c next gen card!!

    Attached Files:

  7. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,129 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,355
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Just ran 3DMark11 at stock for the cpu and 950MHz core and 1075 on the memory.

    http://3dmark.com/3dm11/2361228 - 7987

    compared to

    7547 using i7 920 @ 3.6ghz and same gfx card with core and memory @ 970/1125.

    so 400 points more with slower clocks all around. :laugh:
  8. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,562 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Those are some sexy hardware close-up pictures! :eek:
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  9. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,607 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,943
    No OC yet. My temps are in the low 30's idle, which I'm wondering if I have a good mount on the waterblock. I am not using official bolts, just some M4's I picked up at the hardware store. My plan was to buy the official kit and some new thermal compound (I used the last of the tube on this mount and I haven't taken it off to see if it's spread out enough).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,129 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,355
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Ran a simple multi OC only with auto voltage (1.32v) and ran prime95 at 4.2GHz for half hour. Temp maxed out at 49 degrees.

    That sound fair?

    Should say, my fans never went above 900 RPM to keep it that temp.
  11. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
  12. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,129 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,355
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    My X79 rig. Does it need some lights under the gfx card???

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    having such a nice machine, you should do the cable management to perfection imo
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  14. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,129 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,355
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I'd need to do some cable modding. It's actually managed as well as i could due to the lengths of some of the supplied cables. Rather than sleeve things I've also used black tape around the normally rainbow coloured case wires. The led wires for the raystorm need some settling in but i could makethem more linear and less noticeable.

    I might come back to it and try and get your approval. Can't let the club down with shoddy cabling :D
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    thats the spirit, go for it, dont let the cables get to you!

    :wtf:

    but trust me, you will be so satisfied when you know it is "perfect"

    no compromises as Nils from MDPC would say

    for the lights, try one of those NZXT LED kits, they are long so you can put it all the way around the window
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  16. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,129 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,355
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    A little better. In my defense, all non black sheathed wires are taped up with black flexible insulating tape.

    [​IMG]

    Look no wires (sort of).

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  17. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Looking better. Hate how the block makes that area look due to wires... But a lot better improvement.


    :toast:
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yup much better :)

    if you really want more help on it go check the cable management helpdesk, they know a few things there

    oh, and if you want the tubing to look cleaner, take the cpu block and turn it 180degree to the right, :)
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  19. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,129 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,355
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yeah, I wanted the Raystorm logo the right way up but you can't see it anyway, lol.

    Thanks guys.
  20. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Hi guys.

    Question. I am about to reconfigure my water loop cause i only have the CPU to cool now.
    I have one 120 rad and a 360 Xflow. I am a little bit i doubt about how i'm going to connect it.
    The easiest way for me is to go from the pump to the 120 to the CPU, from the CPU to the 360 back to the pump. Is the watertemp in the loop the same all over? Then it doesn't matter how i connect it, right? Or is it better to go from the 360 to the CPU? Some help is appreciated.
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,842
    I don't know if the temp is that much different, but I always add the CPU to the loop or GPUs for that matter right after a rad for its best potential for cooler water;)

    You can see in T ski's PC at the top of this page, he has the line going from the pump to the CPU, and he isn't complaining about temps either;)
    technicks says thanks.
  22. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Yeah but will it make a huge difference if the CPU will be placed after the 120 or 360 rad?
    You can look at it from both ways.

    If i place the CPU after the 360 it might have ''cooler'' water then after the 120.
    But the 120 may struggle cooling the ''warmer'' water coming from the CPU more then the 360.
    How about the option to connect the rad's together before leading them to the CPU?
  23. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,607 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,943
    Some people talk about heat dump from their pumps adding to the loop. But for me, I was always concerned most with flow, so I've added the CPU block right after the pump. I also do my best to reduce the tubing as much as possible.
    technicks says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    austria
    really nice pics and setup
  25. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,677 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,567
    It won't make a difference either way. After your computer has run for a while your water will reach a temperature equilibrium, so the same amount of heat will be removed no matter what order your loop is. Just plumb it however makes sense and minimizes the length of tubing.

    I used to be absolutely OCD about keeping a rad before each component, but I gave that up our of necessity on my last build, and am glad I did. The only rule I still always follow is keeping the reservoir right before the pump.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page