1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,511 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,037

    Couldn't really agree more with this. It just so happens with my case I was able to get the rads before the components without too much fuss or extra tubing. My suggestion is once the case is there and you have all the parts, sort of play around with mounting and routing ideas prior to making any tubing cuts. One thing that I find really can simplify a loops look is 45* and 90* fittings before the barbs. This allows you to direct the tubing at things rather than large round bends to make it to the barbs that stick straight off of the components of the loop.
    MT Alex and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  2. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    ^^ Yes to this.

    You live and learn. Just built my second w/c pc and even though i bought some angled connectors the tubing was twisted due to torsion. I would heartily recommend buying rotary fittings as these allow the tubes to 'spin' making tube management so much easier. I have three 90 degree elbows (two off pump and one off rad) with rotary fittings and they make things super.

    Unfortunately my 30 degree angles off my cpu block are fixed and after remounting it I have (a) excess tubing and (b) torsion in the tubing.

    Next time I'll get it 100%

    Oh, and make a drain T port as well. Essential imo.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  3. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,225
    Oh, you mean like this? :D

    johnnyfiive and MT Alex say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    ^^ i like that
    t_ski says thanks.
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Oh dear god, that's so puuurrrrrrrty! :eek:
    t_ski says thanks.
  6. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Never get tired of seeing that rig. :D

    What are those blue fans you are using?
    t_ski says thanks.
  7. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Well this is how i fixed it. But i'm not satisfied.:(
    The plan is to cut the bottom out of the case and mount the 360 rad in there.
    This way i can take about half the hose length out of the loop.

    I think i'm going to buy a new CPU block and new tubing. But i was also looking at the Lian Li T60 test bench. That's pretty sweet to.:) I might be in to one of those.

    [​IMG]
  8. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,225
    Yate Loon medium speeds
    PopcornMachine says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,511 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,037
    I was thinking more like this! :p

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  10. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,511 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,037
    found that last night, its Limited Edition, and my first thought was your motherboard as well;)
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,511 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,037
    It was just to get back at t_ski for the invisible cables retort he had before:D
    t_ski and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  14. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    It's like $130 over here, but it's a good candidate for replacing my current one. It's a looker! Thats for sure.
  15. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,225
    Yeah, I was just gonna ask you about the new inviso-tubing you got there...
    sneekypeet says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Hey guys, I have my 3930 running happily under water, maxing at mid 40's (one core at high 40's, mid 50's). With my D5 vario and 120.4 SR1 would it be fine and dandy to add my proposed next buy (HD 7970) into that loop?

    I figure I don't need any more cooling power for just one card , seeing as I have the quad already. It's unlikely I'll o/c the gpu much and my 3930 stays at stock (well, auto's to 3.8).

    Thoughts appreciated.
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    With those temps I'd add it. Sure CPU temps will go up but yo have a lot of headroom left. Go for it! Got a pic of the current setup?
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  18. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yeah, post 1602. :)
  19. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,225
    I have the parts in my sig (CPU and 2x6970's) cooled with one 120x4 rad and one 120x1 rad just fine. I probably don't need the second rad, but I am mostly using it for a 180-degree turn in the tubing. Of course, the extra little bit of cooling it provides probably helps, too.
    the54thvoid says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    I haven't posted here in a bit, but got a question. After my tax return gets back I am going to have a local machine shop make one of these out of copper.

    [​IMG]

    My loop is currently 25% Dex-Cool 75% water and has been tested to -10C circulating hot side would be pure distilled water while the cold side would be the dex-cool obviously. I have a MCR420, MCR320 and MCR220 stack plumbed into the loop with multiple 320/220's sitting on the shelf depending on how this goes. Circulation provided by a D5 (@D4) and D4. That would be for the TEC side obviously the CPU/GPU side will be a maze 4 GPU and I can't remember what the hell I have on the CPU doesn't matter. Got a MCP350+top for the pump. Fans on the rads are Delta 250+ CFM 120x32mm in a push/pull.

    What should I shoot for wattage wise on the TEC's that block will fit 9 40x40mm TEC's. I have the powersupplies to run pretty much whatever (a big pyramid and multiple meanwells). I don't pay for electricity so I don't really care about the power draw. I am shooting for very cold and I am going to get this to be an all in case minus the powersupplies just for giggles.
  21. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,184 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    367
    I have a question about my loop. I know that copper and aluminum together will cause galvanic corrosion, and I have an aluminum radiator and copper blocks. But in order for galvanic corrosion to occur, the copper and aluminum parts would have to have electrical connection between them, right?

    My aluminum radiator is mounted to my wood desk and is electrically isolated from the computer and the copper blocks, save for the minor conductivity of the water in the coolant tubing. Do I need to worry about corrosion occurring over any reasonable period of time?
  22. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,225
    I thought it was a problem to have them both in the loop period, but I very well may be wrong...
    The Von Matrices says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    The Von Matrices says thanks.
  24. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes it's a big problem because the Anodic Index of the Aluminum is lower than the usual metals used in a loop.

    The differential in Anodic Index between metals in the loop must be less or equal than 0.15 V:

    Nickel -0.30 V
    Copper - 0.35 V
    Brass -0.40 V

    Aluminum -0.90 V, so it's safe to say that it's unsafe (no pun intended :p)
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2012
    The Von Matrices says thanks.
  25. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,184 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    367
    Yes, but galvanic corrosion can only occur if the metals can exchange electrons, right? And if the aluminum is electrically isolated, as it is being attached to a wood desk, then it can't exchange electrons with the copper blocks and therefore can't corrode. Am I missing something important?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page