1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,516 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,039
    you can go solid copper, its been done by modders before, hell I even remember a whole case that was part of the loop (not really a case, more of an open air structure from 1/2" copper pipe).

    The biggest issue is the cuts are very important because with a rigid system if one pipe is too long it will trow the next fitting off and so on down the line.

    In my opinion, I say DO IT!!!!!
  2. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,824 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I have a sample of 14" 1/8" ID,1/"4 OD. Do you think 1/4" 3/8" or 3/8" 1/2" would be better/easier to use?

    The main problem im having is bending it, I'm probably going to need some special tools to get a very clean bind with no kinks.

    I ran water over the top of one end and it was flowing out the other end and I'm not even for sure how fast my flow rate is from my sink.
    I tried using my hot water and the pipe got very hot to hold on to(I do have very hot home water Just wish i had a temp prob to get water temp to compare), do you think having copper pipes would increase loop temp? I did try just blowing on the pipe and it would get cooler so I think with a good intake fan blowing on the loop it would be good enough.:confused:

    Side note: Would a temp sensor that uses a laser pick up water temps?

    Attached Files:

  3. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
  4. what_what3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    No special tools required,

    cut tubing ~.75" longer than needed
    crimp 1 end in a vise or seal end w/ hot glue or plug end w/ bread ( old plumbers trick )
    fill tube with water
    crimp or seal the 1 remaining open end
    place upright in freezer until frozen
    now bend to your hearts content - just work fast

    use a mandrel of some sort - a sections of pvc pipe a great due to the variety of size
    MT Alex says thanks.
  5. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    Finally got my WCing set-up. The max temps are 35C and 39C for the GPU and CPU. That's with a case temp of 27C when they are individually at 100% load. I still need to test the case temps when both are simultaneously at 100% load.
  6. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Bought myself an MSI 7970 OC (all solid caps) to either replace or add to my current Powercolor LCS 7970. The PC card has a little bit of coil whine and I want zero whine. Little did i know, lots of cards exhibit it a little when you can't hear the fan covering it :rolleyes:

    So I bought the MSI one as I thought solid caps might help. Well, of course it didn't. Caps don't cause coil whine, chokes do. The whine is tiny though, not really an issue. My PC is damn near silent so I hear even the odd bubble going through the rad.

    Anyway, I tried to crossfire the cards but the tubing became an issue as the new block I put on the MSI card doesn't lineup with the inlet of the PC card and tubes don't flex in such a short space.

    Anyway, I kept the new card in and at the moment the PC card is for sale (in the forum).

    Here's the very similar but different current set up. Both inlet and outlet are on the underside of the card. I replaced the stock MSI fan cooler with the EK CSQ water block, backplate and a single slot I/O plate. It looks pretty neat to be honest.

    If I don't sell the other card quick smart, I will persevere with the crossfire build :cool:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    MT Alex, PopcornMachine and Cold Storm say thanks.
  7. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,760 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,607
    If your blocks don't line up exactly, such as mine, it is still possible to use tubing and flex it in such a small length. Cut your tube to the exact length you need, then drop it in boiling water for 15-30 seconds. It will then be pliable enough to jump the angled bridge, even if it is pretty drastic. Here's mine:

    [​IMG]
  8. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Also, lane issue shouldn't be a problem... your not going to notice a HUGE difference if you have crossfire in the first or 3rd lane that the board shows for "crossfireX"...


    [​IMG]


    Yes, it's ati with physx, but the same thing as what MT is going with..
  9. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Nice work guys. I've got an alternative as well. I have "Y" fittings. I might run my gfx cards in parallel. Means the flow will be reservoir - pump - 480 radiator - cpu - 120 radiator -then it splits to each gfx card and the returns join at another "Y" back to the reservoir.

    If my card don't sell, I'll post picks when I get the loop up.
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  10. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    I forgot all about this thread :( Here's my latest project:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,079 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    I see alot of $$ !
    Capitan Harlock says thanks.
  12. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    I see a lot of circles :D
  13. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,824 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Freaking awesome MAN! Great pic's.

    What Compression fittings you using? How's temps?
    t_ski says thanks.
  14. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    Those are Bitspower 1/2" ID 3/4" OD Shining Silver. Idle temps right now:

    [​IMG]

    Ambient temps are about 20C.
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012
    Delta6326 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Geez, that's just art right there man, amazing! :respect: :respect:
    t_ski says thanks.
  16. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Here's a question...

    Given that a loop's ambient water temp will stabilise after a while, does it really matter where the loop goes first (i.e - cpu-gfx-gfx)?

    I've just realised that the easiest no fuss tubing i can do is to use the feed straight from the radiator and go:

    res -> pump -> rad (120.4) -> gfx2 -> cpu -> rad (120.1) -> gfx1 -> res.

    As in below pic


    [​IMG]
  17. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    It does not matter so much as the water temps should be the same no matter which order you go in, but it may make your CPU a little warmer than normal. Typically, the secondary GPU will not get as warm as the primary GPU, so it shouldn't be too bad. I usually try to run CPU -> GPU1 -> GPU2 etc. to get the lowest temps possible on the CPU since it tends to be pickier about heat than a GPU. A watercooled GPU should get nowhere near as hot as an air-cooled GPU. Hell, my GPU load temps under watercooling are lower than my idle GPU temps under air-cooling. :pimp:

    In the end, it's what matters most to you.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    Putting the CPU in a hot section of the loop has always been a no-no. The overall water temp wont change however if you were to check temps pre-CPU and post-CPU they will be high post-CPU same goes for video cards.
  19. Guitarrassdeamor

    Guitarrassdeamor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    975 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    I've got the Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro. Never had a water cooling system before, but during my new build it wasn't that much more expensive than a good HS/F so I decided to pull the trigger. It is quiet for me and works well!
  20. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    Most of the small all-in-one kits work about as well as high-end air coolers and cost about the same. Custom watercooling kits work much better, but obviously depends on the customer's needs.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
  22. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,824 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Totally the Raystorm looks so awesome! They are also good performer.
  23. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I've just spent a mini fortune on more water cooling parts. Due to the heat from my GPU's, the cpu temp is rising more, so I've decided to split the loop and run a dual loop with two separate systems.

    Going to run the gfx cards in a parallel loop from my 120.4 SR-1 radiator and the CPU is going to run from two 120.1 XTX Coolstream radiators in series. Ordered a second D5 pump for the new cpu only loop.

    I'll post pics once my cursing and swearing is all finished when i build it up.
  24. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,473 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,572
    I like dual loops personally. Can't wait to see pics:toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    How do you plan to mount the two 120.1 rads?
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page