1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. paopaovocal

    paopaovocal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    25 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Bangkok,Thailand
    my water cooling system

    After wating liquid cooling parts for long time.Here it is.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    more pics here
    AthlonX2 and Cold Storm say thanks.
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    I can almost guarantee all that watercooling wont fit in this HAF XB.Id eliminate the 80mm rad and go with the dual rads up top
    cdawall says thanks.
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]
    MT Alex, sneekypeet and Velvet Wafer say thanks.
  4. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    Motherboard is labeled out for delivery so it should be here soon so I can finish this up.
    Velvet Wafer and MT Alex say thanks.
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Motherboard was DOA, but I wanted to test fit the setup to get all the tubing cut.

    [​IMG]

    Rest of the thread
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2012
    Velvet Wafer and MT Alex say thanks.
  7. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,597 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,934
    I'm putting the paddles on this thread to resessitate it. Can you guys give [Ion] some advice?

    Will new tubing and clamps get him up and going? This is for a Thermaltake Bigwater 760 kit BTW.
    Last edited: May 3, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Actually it's not--this is for the custom loop I've but on my 3930k (the TT Bigwater kit is doing great).

    Specs are:
    XSPC RX240
    XSPC Raystorm
    XSPC X20 750 Dual 5.25" Pump / Reservoir Combo

    I've tossed the old tubing--will buying new tubing and clamps be sufficient?
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,128 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    The Bigwater is a pre-assembled factory unit? I had a look just there at a review of one. The barbs are 3/8" so i don't see why you couldn't just add new tubing and clamps to be safe. As long as the cpu block is there too. Or indeed, i guess this could be used to cool a gpu?

    It is noisy at load though (says the review).

    EDIT: too late .....:eek:

    Yes, it would. I'd go for tubing that is one size narrower than the barbs you use. And on that front - remember your fittings.... (barbs or compression)
    t_ski says thanks.
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,302 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    my guess is that the fittings are what leaked. You must wrench in those fittings to keep them from leaking, because just a slight twist in the tube is enough to back the fitting out when installed finger tight like you can with say a BitsPower fitting. Clamps aren't such a big deal, I mean I have used zip-ties, or those Herby clips that come with the kits.
    t_ski says thanks.
  11. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,128 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    That's why i like rotary fittings. Freedom to move the tubing.
    t_ski says thanks.
  12. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,597 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,934
    [Ion] was looking at some 7/16" Primochill tubing. 1/2" clamps are OK with this, right?

    Thanks guys! :respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,302 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    I used 3/8" and there was no need for clamps as you have to heat and stretch the tubing. 7/16" isn't enough of a jump to warrant clamps in my opinion as I would guess that needs stretched as well.

    1/2" clamps wont close enough and may make them be out of round or in the case of the Herby style clamps, may not close with any pressure.
  14. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,597 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,934
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,302 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    Let me find one of mine, squeeze it all the way closed, and get the calipers out to find the minimum ID of the clip;) (also those are what I was calling Herby clamps).

    I figured out what I missed. My clamps are 3/4" OD clamps, and when the clip is all the way closed I get a measurement of 47/64" (just less than 3/4") or 18.5mm. From what I am seeing, the 1/2" clamp may tighten enough for pressure on the hose, but since he has to stretch the tubing, essentially he is thinning the OD of the tubing as well. Also with that same clamp just locked on one click, it is 15/16" wide, so maybe using 3/8" clamps and not closing them all the way is a better way to look at the clamps needed.
    Last edited: May 3, 2013
    t_ski says thanks.
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'm running the TT Bigwater on a 3.8GHz E8500--it's doing great. Last night I robbed off the fan and forgot to put on a new one, and the system remained fully stable (albeit at 80C)
    It's not the fittings. I didn't have enough of the factory tubing to reassemble it, so I tried to use some tubing left over from a fountain project one of my friends did last semester. The tubing is too big for the barbs--that's what leaked. The kit came with some of these--they do a good job, but I don't have enough. I think that if I buy half a dozen of them and then seven feet of this I should be good to go. I think
    Thank you! Would cable ties work? The only ones I Have here are tiny ones, but I have some real ones at home (I'm moving home again in a week, anyways)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,302 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    I have had great success with zip ties and a pair of pliers to make sure it is tight, then just clip off the excess.
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    OK. In that case should I just order the tubing? Would that be sufficient to last a few days until I can cable-tie it as well?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,302 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    well the 750 pump isn't that powerful, so I am guessing that the 7/16" tubing should stay in place just with the pressure of the barb on the fitting. I use 3/8" without any clamping on 1/2" barbs and you have to cut it off the fitting.

    To tell if you are going to be okay without anything, put the hose on a fitting attached to say the CPU block, then pull on the tubing while holding the block. If it pops right off, you need something to clamp it, if it stays in place, you are good to go.
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    With the tubing that came with the kit, I can't remove the tubing from the fitting unless the fitting is screwed into a block or something and I can grip it better. Even then, it helps enormously to heat it up a bit. So I assume for a few days I'd be OK?
    And the 750 pump is sufficient for a single block and two radiators, right?

    I saw this thread earlier--would it be worth my while to bleach all of the components of the loop as well? I'm not sure that I can get those tiny rocks, but bleach I'm sure is at the grocery store.

    And how do I avoid this happening again? I'm not exactly thrilled with this, surprisingly enough :p
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,302 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    the stock tubing is very loose on the fittings, so it should easily come off. Since you are going to a smaller tubing anyways, why not get 3/8" tubing, heat and stretch the tubing, and have no need for any clamps at all.

    As far as cleaning the loop, I don't know that I would go to bleach, maybe vinegar and baking soda, but I think bleach is a little harsh, and if you leave some residue, I have no idea how it will effect the tubing if pumped through it.

    The pump is fine for that loop, but not as powerful as say a 655/35x that may blow those hoses off the fittings (and why I mentioned it not being so powerful).

    If the rad is green, it was either a chemical reaction to the copper (oxidation) or you had natural light shining on something to grow algae. They do make additives to keep this from happening in the future too.

    Also to add, your link shows to me, bits of copper stuck in the pores of the tubing. Every time I have used clear tubing they look like that, and is why I no longer use it.
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    This is exactly what I have. The stock tubing didn't feel loose at all. I'm worried about possibly getting tubing that's too small--I have about 15ft of blue tubing here that I simply cannot force over the barbs. It just doesn't fit. It's Feser 3/8" x 1/2".

    And the rad wasn't green--just the tubing.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,302 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    Get a microwave safe cup/bowl, heat until it starts to boil. Dunk the end of the tube in the water for 10-20 seconds, then quickly stretch it over the 1/2" barb. It is tougher to do, but gives a slick finished result.

    like this:
    [​IMG]
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Quite frankly that looks amazing. The tubing certainly is stretched remarkably tight :eek:

    I'll try again tonight to see what I can accomplish. And this can just be stretched like that by hand?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,302 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    Let me give you the rundown....

    Try dunking it and pressing it over, thicker walled tubing is somewhat easier to do this with.
    I use thinner walled tubing, and I do have to heat them as usual, but I do also stick a pair of needle-nose pliers about an inch into the hose and open them backwards to help stretch the end. Usually a couple of times to really loosen it up. You do have to be fast though, because once the heat is gone from the tubing, it will be normal sized by then, and you need to start the process over again.

    I also suggest the barbs are in the blocks, rads, whatever, as it gives you much better purchase to push against rather than trying to weasel it over the barb only.

    Sometimes it may get tight on the fittings, but you just have to keep working it past the sticky spots until the hose hits the back of the barb. I have thought of using a bit of soap in the water to help it slide, but have always been able to work past it without an additive. (not sure if soap residue will end up in the loop and making bubbles) I have been known to use some good old fashioned spit to help them slide easier though;)
    [Ion] says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page