1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Damn, how do you manage that? My CPU runs warmer than that idle. And that's like 6C above room temperature....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    Two pumps, three radiators (480, 360, 240) with massive fans.
  3. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    You can try to cool an Intel hexa with many rads you want but it'll still be a hot bitch.

    I run a Mora3 9x120 + two HTSF4 140x3 and my 3930K hits 70C loaded on latest IBT with AVX 12 threads max memory.

    This with two 250ish watts graphics cards in the loop.
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    Topless Intel chip and 255 cfm fans should accomplish plenty. The do not put out anywhere close to sought wattage to heat a good loop that much.
  5. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    I'm afraid you can't delid SB-E as far as I know :| (if you mean that for topless)

    Also 255 CFM fans? I could barely bear Gentle Typhoons 1850 RPM. I just had to switch to Noctua fans.
  6. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,475 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,574
    Glad to see this club resurrected:toast:
    radrok says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    Ah I don't keep track of the ability to delid the current Intel ones. That's to bad goes you have to get old school and sand through the lid and solder to get down to bare core.

    I run 255cfm fans with spacers for the highest static pressure possible. Its a toy not my gaming rig so noise isn't an issue. My gaming rig is a bit simpler with a large air cooler and TEC.
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,025 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Rochester area
    sanding near a exposed core ?
    LOLWUT ?
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    Oh yes living on the raged edge. There are a couple threads on XS about it.
  10. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    [Ion], my 3970K is running about 51-55C load at stock, with 73F room temps. Considering the 1GHz+ OC and the higher room temps, that's not bad.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'd say that the room temps are pretty much the same for me. But for the extra OC and voltage involved I'm pretty happy. You have a more powerful pump and better radiator too, right?

    I thought that you had your CPU OCed too...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    Nope, no OC for now. I have the D5 pump and quad BIX rad.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    I run mine at 5,1Ghz with 1,5v if that helps.
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That seems like an enormous amount of voltage for a 32nm CPU to handle--right? If I can get 4.7GHz or so on ~1.4V I'll be happy with that.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    I use offset voltage so it's going to be at 1.5v only when needed, that'll help.
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Yes, I know my desk is a disaster, but whatever :p
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    It's not the cleanest setup ever, but it's not bad looking, wicked fast, and not too loud. I'm going to install the HD7950 at some point, but haven't had time yet.

    (yes, I also just posted this in the Your PC ATM thread)
    grunt_408, sneekypeet and t_ski say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Have fun! :pimp:

    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  18. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Bump! :fear:
  19. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    My rig complete with dust lols.
    [​IMG]
    And my new puppy
    [​IMG]
    PopcornMachine says thanks.
  20. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,475 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,574
    Rig needs some cleaning. Cute pup though:)
    Why are you missing a fan on your front rad?
    grunt_408 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    It is on the other side of the rad :laugh:
  22. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,473 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    612
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I'm in :)
  23. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    Prove it
    sneekypeet says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,473 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    612
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Bam ;P

    [​IMG]

    Its being rentavated right now though

    [​IMG]


    HammerON, t_ski and sneekypeet say thanks.
  25. hanumant New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My personal 4 socket server.
    4x AMD Opteron 6380 2.8Ghz, 16Cores (Turbo mode) on Supermicro H8QG6-i
    Watercooled
    64 cores in total with 180 Ghz

    Have fun!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page