1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    My DDC-1's never shutdown, even under the abuse of cooling a TEC, and I think I know why. My rad is always after my blocks. The rad is the last thing in the loop before the res. So my pumps are always getting water that's already cooled.

    Even after being on for the last 48hrs straight, my DDC-1 isn't even warm to the touch.

    I should note that there is no airflow on the pump at all. My setup isn't in a case, it's running on top of a table. lol.
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    ive been folding for like 3days and my pump isnt hot or warm and its after the blocks, with 1.552 volts :D room at 78F
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    Ok fellas a question again.

    I have a 2X120 Danger Den Black Ice radiator, and I am purchasing 4 of these for a possible push/pull setup.
    Im going to experiment with the fan setup a bit!

    I want to put my rad on top with 4 "risers" to get the fans off the top of the case, and really dont like the looks of the radbox.

    Is there a kit to get "legs" to support the rad a couple of inches above the case?
    Im assuming it is going to be a creative trip to the Hardware store!:D
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    yeah more then likely your going to the hardware store

    and the screw are 6-32 the thread I think you need and some nylon spacers

    I used the nuts that come with the screws to hold down the fans cuz they where lil to long but I think they make 3" that whould be what your looking for cuz you wanted at least 2" of clearance
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  5. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I would take the rad with you to the hardware store. That way you can get an idea of how long a screw you need :p
    I've seen people use long standoffs (just like the ones for your motherboard tray). You can check with you local hardware store to see if they sell it and it threads properly onto the rad.
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2008
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    Off to the hardware store I go then. I have some ideas already , just didnt know if there was a pre-packaged solution. Thanks fellas
  7. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    eastcoast do you actually think we would see those kind of temps in W/C? not likely, unless of failure i could NEVER see temps getting that high

    ive had my rig up and running for over 6mths straight and my idle temp would only be ~3c higher than the first day i fired it up.

    dont take advantage of the n00bs

    :toast:
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I have been water cooling for a few years now (since owning a P4). Based on your posts I have never had idle temps go up 3C just on it's own like that (keeping in mind ambient temps). I believe you are doing a disservice when you advise anyone against some level of caution when water cooling. Regardless of how this makes you feel I stand by my decision on the use of caution (IE actively cooling the pump). Therefore, there is no need to continue arguing about this we simple agree to disagree.
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2008
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Hey guys. I'm thinking of taking the watercooling plunge, but I want to start off slow. I want just a CPU setup right now, and I'll be adding a full coverage 3870 block in the future, and maybe a NB block too. I want to see what I can get out of my 5000+BE(s), because the cooler I've got now has them in the mid 50's at 1.5V. What would your recommendations be? I want to try to spend somewhere under $200 on the CPU setup for now.

    Restrictions:

    • Dual 120mm Radiator (I'll attach it on the interior of my case, and cut for a second one later)
    • Socket AM2
    • I want it quiet - I should be able to sleep with it under my bed
    • I like the look of bare copper, so a plexi topped block would be sweet!

    Thanks in advance guys.
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Here is one person's experience with a plexi top:
    Post

    Suggestion:
    -Swiftech MCR220-QP
    -FuZion
    -7/16" ID Tubing
    -MCP655 Pump
    -2, 120mm fans. You can pick which fans you want here as there are few to choose from.
    You could go with 120mm Scythe SFF21E S-FLEX™ Case Fan (49 CFM/20.1 dBA)
    OR
    Yate Loon D12SL-12 Case Fan - Black (47 CFM, 28 dBA) which are cheaper

    What I haven't included so far is the use of either a reservoir or T-line as I am not sure which way you want to go. You are going to have to decide on that one.
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I'm going to use a reservoir, as I've read that bleeding a t-line is a b*tch. I'll probably grab the Swiftech micro res for now.

    I'll be powering my radiators with ACRyan fans rated at 77CFM at 29dBA turned down to my liking.

    I've read really good things about the ThermoChill PA 120.2 (and .3) Radiators. How do they compare to the Swiftech QP's?

    And is that tubing specifically chosen, or will any 7/16ID tubing work? I might try to pick up some of the smaller stuff locally so I don't get gouged with shipping costs. And is Sidewinder based in California? I hate having to pay tax online...
  12. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    ThermoChill PA120.2 cool better then the Swiftech. I offered the Swiftech as it's cheaper but should perform a little better then HW when low powered fans are used, restriction, etc. Take a look at this post for comparison.

    I only provided that ID/OD tubing size as an option. You can go with what you like. However, that tubing size does offer the best bend radius when using 1/2" barbs (when I looked it up). Also, someone did a review of tubing sizes and came to the same conclusion found here.
    :toast:
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2008
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Man, I gotta get me some PA120.3 rads. lol.
  14. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I still wasn't sure about the head needed for a EK supreme.

    So i sen't them an e-mail too ask, this is they'r answer.

    Hi!

    I suggest about 1,7 m is enough.

    Best regards, Eddy


    So that's a lot less than i tought around 5.58 feet if my calculations are right.

    Considering that there will also be a radiator and reservoir be in the loop, the pump should produce a bit more.

    But i think a WCZ Laing DDC-1T Pump would be enough. 1 for each loop.

    I could also overvolt them to a plus.

    Technische Daten

    - Spannung: 12 Volt
    - Nennleistung: 10 Watt
    - Förderleistung: ca. 400 Liter/h
    - Druckleistung: 3,8 mHead
    - Länge o. Anschl.: ca. 62 mm
    - Breite: ca. 62 mm
    - Höhe: ca. 38 mm
    - Strom-Kabellänge: ca. 500 mm
    - Gewicht: ca. 220 Gramm

    Cost 48.69 Euro each.

    So i made up my mind two of these should be enough, i think.

    Maybee i'll make a different top for them like explaind on this and other forums, then it will be oke.
  15. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    @ MD : those pumps will be fine with or without aftermarket tops in your proposed loop

    @ eastcoast : yes my loop after running steady for months will raise its idle by ~3c. try yourself on your loop you will see what i mean, similar to "idling" a car. within regards to your comments on pump heat/cooling all i can say is :shadedshu some active cooling COULD be beneficial for persons using DDC style pumps in confined spaces, but NOT ALL pumps require active cooling.

    anyone new to aftermarket cooling (whatever it may be air/water/exotic) have a look here as well for further info

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=10


    :toast:
    [MD]Phantom says thanks.
  16. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Finally, i then have al the info i need.

    Solution,

    1 Loop EK Supreme, Thermochill PA120.2, Thermaltake Aquabay M3, Laing DDC-1T.

    2 Loop ( Gpu block ) Thermochill PA120.2, Thermaltake Aquabay M3, Laing DDC-1T.

    Thank you al for the info, im very gratefull.

    When i have the setup completed, ill post my information about the WC.

    :roll::roll::roll:
  17. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    Are you sure about the aquabays?, they look like they have captive thin hose connectors (based on this review on them), have you looked for others with regular G1/4 threads (i assume by you using Thermochills that you'll be running either 7/16 or 1/2 hose)
    [MD]Phantom says thanks.
  18. [MD]Phantom

    [MD]Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I see you are right, damn.

    Oh well ill start googling again.

    Thanks.;)
  19. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    swiftech mc-res ;)

    :toast:
    [MD]Phantom says thanks.
  20. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505

    Laing DDC w/ Petra'sTech DDCT-01s Top Combo
    Max. Head Pressure: 18.91 ft (5.76m)
    Max. Discharge: 246.6 GPH (933.5 LPH)

    Laing DDC-3.2 (18W)/Swiftech MCP355
    Maximum Head: 15 ft (4.5 m)
    Maximum flow: ~ 120 GPH (454 LPH)

    Swiftech MCP355 w/Custom Delrin DDC Pump Top
    Maximum Head: 12.92 ft (3.94m)
    Maximum flow: ~ 251.4 GPH - (951.65 LPH)

    AquaXtreme 50Z-DC12 Inline 12V DC Pump
    Maximum Head: 11.81 ft. (3.6 m)
    Maximum flow: ~ 185 GPH (700 LPH)

    Laing D5 Vario/Swiftech MCP655
    Maximum Head: 11.48 ft. (3.35 m)
    Maximum flow: ~ 317 GPH (1200 LPH)

    Eheim HPPS i - 12v DC
    Maximum Head: 10.17 ft (3.1m)
    Maximum flow: ~ XXX GPH

    Hydor SELTZ L 45 II Water Pump
    Maximum Head: 8.9 ft (2.7m)
    Maximum flow: ~ 950 GPH

    Danger Den MAG II - LE
    Maximum head: 8.2 ft (2.5m)
    Maximum flow: 567 l/hr (150 GPH)

    Danger Den CSP-MAG 12V DC Pump
    Maximum head: 7.545 ft 2.3 M
    Maximum flow: 9 l/min (143 GPH)

    Hydor SELTZ L 35 II Water Pump
    Maximum Head: 6.6 ft (80 inches)
    Maximum flow: ~ 450 GPH

    Thermaltake P500 12V Pump (CL-W0132)
    Maximum Head: 5.9 ft (1.8m)
    Maximum flow: ~ 500L/h

    This is all I could find on some of the pumps used so far. I am not sure what is available in your area.
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2008
    SirKeldon and [MD]Phantom say thanks.
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    F water I'm buying a phase LOL.
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2008
  22. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    traitor!

    j/k :) that would be sweet if you got hooked up with a phase ;)
  23. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Got a few more questions:

    1. Any reason to not get this pump over the regular MCP655? Is this one not adjustable?
      http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmc12vdcpuw.html
    2. How exactly are pump relays set up and what's the purpose of them?
    3. With the DTek Fuzion, should I get the nozzles? (I assume yes).
    4. With the Swiftech Radiator, should I get the Swiftech or DTek High Flow 1/2"ID Barbs?
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2008
  24. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well at xtremesystems theres a test that the MCP655-B set at 4 but shows to be lower to the MCP655 with the nob that goes 1-5 its only $10 more for the Swiftech MCP655

    pump relays idk I dont use one just the 4pin to the psu

    on the nozzles yes for the washer that it comes with and it depends how many blocks your going to have in the loop to which one to use
  25. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Well there's an option on Sidewinder Computers to add a nozzle kit to the Fuzion for like $7.

    And I posted a few more questions ^^

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page