1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

neccesary to get good cooling for the p35 chipset??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by panchoman, Jul 26, 2007.

  1. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i'm planning on getting this mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131180 and was wondering if the chipset cooling would wanna be replaced? i'm probably gonna up the vmch so that i can get some good fsb. you think i can get a good ~450 fsb outta it? i know the asus p35 boards go up to around that.. so i was wondering wheater i should replace the chipset cooling or if i can get my juice without having to change the cooling?
  2. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    I have that board. Got it a few weeks ago.

    The chipset doesn't even get warm, but I can't get my board to go past 405 fsb. Even at 6x multi, the board just doesn't want to POST past 405. I've heard of much better luck with the deluxe.

    Also, the board only supports RAID with 2 drives, and you have to use the e-sata on the back as one, the other is located between the PCI-E slots (in black).

    I like it though, works well and is stable all the way up to 405
  3. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
  4. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    568 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Have you raised the NB voltage? My deluxe wont boot past 390 FSB when the voltages are set to auto. I needed 1.55v on the NB and 1.4v on the termination voltage. Now it will easily hit 500+ FSB.
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    what temp does your nb load at when you have it at like 500 fsb?

    oh and btw, i'm considering this one now: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813128047 i believe the ddr3 version of this got the second highest fsb at toms hardware and its older bro got the crown.. plus its loads better... wish it had the heatpipe going all around like the expensive gigabyte boards..
  6. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    I haven't tried ALL that much, but I did set ALL voltages ('cept cpu) to their MAX (I have NB h2o block) and didn't see ANY difference. Still wouldn't post @ 406. But I also didn't drop the multi at that point (I went straight to 450 and tried to boot @ 6x with no difference)

    But I'll mess more tonight. I believe when I set all V's, I also set the 'reference voltage' which is like an x.67 and x.## I still don't know what they do but I'll leave them off and see if it does any better.

    FYI The board has quite a few V's to set - NB, SB, FSB Termination, and a bunch of reference voltages, as well as a CPU Damper
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    what does the fsb termination v do, and the sb and the referense v's?
  8. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    dunno :laugh:

    I'm guessing the FSB Termination has something to do with the NB and FSB (as the fsb runs through the nb). Southbridge is just the SB voltage, I don't know what that effects as far as OC. The reference V's are like multi's. In my bios I have like three choices: x.51, x.60, x.63 those may not be exact, but I know the low is around x0.5 and the high is around x0.65.

    I haven't found anything that would tell me what they are or what they effect. I tried BIOS Voltage values I found in a P5K Deluxe review, but still couldn't boot past 405 (BTW, it boots all the way up 405 and is completely stable on 'auto' volts for eveything but the CPU...cpu is @ 1.675 V :wtf: @ 405 fsb :twitch:

    Its a decent cheap board, just not sold on the OC value...I'll let ya'll know l8r when I get home and tool around
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    aight
  10. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    won't boot past 405 no matter what. Probably the board.

    It wouldn't boot x6, NB - 1.7, SB - 1.5, FSB - all the way

    Its a hard wall, 404 is fine. Last board got 30mhz better for every bios revision, so I guess we'll see.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page