1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need a little guidance.

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Evo85, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    After having multiple issues with my system, I have decided to start fresh with a new (and more modern) build.

    I plan on building around this CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103776

    What I need advice on is a good MoBo and PS. I am on a budget with this and would like to keep the cost at or below $100 each. I am more concerned with stability and longevity then OC'ing. I plan on using a single PCIEx16 Video card (ATI).

    I am not sure what other info you need so ask and I will be happy to answer. :)
     
  2. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    my advice for a cheap high performance amd system would be..

    6000+ cpu..

    abit an52 mobo..

    OCZ 600 watt psu.. a 500 watt one would do..

    ati 3850 or 3870 grafix card..

    2 gigs of cheap 800 ram..

    i know the combo works well.. better then a 790x chipset board.. cos i have run both of them..

    top of the line amd performance on a budget..

    trog

    ps.. if the system exceeds your budget.. sorry.. but i would not go for less.. better to go cheap intel..
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2008
  3. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,309 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    373
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I´d go for a AMD X2 5000+ Black Edition - it has a unlocked multipilier it´s budged and overclocks good - if Ocing interests you - go for it.

    Edit: ok you are not an OC freak but maybe a future one?
     
  4. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    hope u are making good use of that sandy laurijan.. 3 gig minimum..:)

    the black edition chip wont go as well as the 6000+.. not a great deal of point to it really unless its tons cheaper.. the last time i looked it wasnt.. might be now thow.. dunno

    trog
     
  5. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,309 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    373
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    After a lot of consuting with sneekypeet we came to the conclution that my valueram are holding me back
     
  6. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    I will def second the idea of a 6000+ and a nice 3850
     
  7. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    i dont see how.. u can always slow it down.. my sandy did 3.25 gig and with value ram.. i ran it at 3 gig 24/7 for a year before i sold.. its in mantilla in the Philippines right now.. together with its 1900xtx.. value ram and zalman cooler.. they are still quite impressed by such things over there it seems..

    trog
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,315 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,831
    TROG YHPM so we dont hijack his help thread!
     
  9. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    +1. Yes, this is the best value in AMD cpu's right now, for sure!
     
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  11. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    I am thinking about maybe going with an SLI MoBo. But would only run 1 Vid card for now. Most of the SLI boards only run @ X8 with one Vid card (instead of x16) on the PCI-E. Is that a major slow down? Even so I am willing to bet its faster then my old AGP 8X. True?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page