1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need a new PSU, any ideas looking for modular.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mullered07, Apr 9, 2008.

  1. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    Ok was sat at my pc today and i could smell burning, turned it off whipped the sides off and started to have a good sniff round my components :wtf: lol anyways turns out it was coming from my psu, crappy hiper 430w, took a look inside and it looks as though somthings burned (you can see in the pics it almost looks like paper or foil on top of that wirey thing ? lol)

    So im in the market for a new one, now im thinking modular (POS Antec 900 is a bitch for cable management) however my MAX budget is £70 thats the top end, i do want to save a bit of cash if i can although i do want quality first. doesnt have to be sli/crossfire certified i wont be moving to a dual vcard setup anytime soon, im thinking a decent 550-600w would be well sufficient for my rig. anyone got any ideas what i could go for in that price range ?

    K800I 039.JPG

    K800I 041.JPG
  2. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    mullered07 says thanks.
  3. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    ill have a look at that your systems pretty similar to mine so should be ok, am i right in thinking the 520w as linked has 40a on 12v rail/s ?
  4. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
  5. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    yea thats what im looking at or a coolermaster real power 520w, i have put my old old ocz gamextreme 430w which is fine and has never had a problem although it does make a bit too much noise for my liking
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    wow thats 3 people for the corsair thus far, so no one take the coolermaster over corsair then ?
  8. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    corsair >>> cooler master
  9. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    what the hell is this ? dual power supply ? can you run both at same time? (ie one for gpu )

    ebay link
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    looks interesting, i'll see if i can find more info on it, but get the corsair either way.
  11. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    got a feeling its for workstation/servers
  12. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    Love my Corsair HX520.
  13. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    could be for running tecs or for people that are looking to upgrade later etc.
  14. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    meh nm decided to go with the corsair as a lot of ppl on here have it and reccomend it order it tomorrow for next day delivery, btw cheapest i can find it is on ebuyer for £63.23 (out of ocuk, dabs and ebuyer)
  15. Duxx Guest

    Its a brilliant little puppy. I have the 620hx(it was only 10$ more at the time than 520hx). I haven't had a problem once and I definitely can't hear it murmuring at me when i try and sleep :) I only wish the modular cables were sleeved and circular rather than straight and stiff as a board. Either way, its amazing. Do you have the old revision of the 900, hence why it sucks at cable management?
  16. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    hmm didnt know there was a rev2, might be the first and yea it sux, i need a dremmel to do some cable managment, thing is after taking out my hiper today and inspecting it, i thought what the hey it was still working when i smelled the burning musnt have affected the performance and proceeded to clean my whole pc and install the hiper again with the wiring more clean etc, took me an hour and then i plugged it in and nothing so when i replaced it with the one thats in now there was no way i was doing that again and now the wires are even messier than before :banghead:

    you hahve any pics of yours, is it noticeably different than the earlier 900's
  17. Duxx Guest

    They cut out 3 holes in the motherboard tray, one down by where the psu sits, directly under the mobo, and 2 that are vertically along the right side of the motherboard. Id take some pictures if i can find some AA batteries lying around. I dont have perfect cable management(24 pin cable cant quite stay hidden since psu is at bottom, connection at top) but it Definitely helps out :)
  18. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    yup mines the one with NO holes in it, what a schoolboy error :banghead: still sexy, first seen it on qvc when they were selling a "media centre pc" and was like wow thats one sexy case, got one and love it aside from the cable managment or lack of, but hopefully modular will sort that out somewhat and ill get my hands on a dremmel soon ;)
  19. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Not sure if the OCZ StealthXstream 500W is modular but that or the corsair, mullered. Hey panch, who makes OCZ's? topower?
  21. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
  22. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That's what I thought. Thanks choppy! Corsair 520!!!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page