1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need a upgrade for my desktop

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by AdasT, May 12, 2013.

  1. AdasT

    AdasT New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom London
    Hello guys i need some help to upgrade my desktop
    my desktops specs are

    CPU:Intel core quad q6600 2.4
    GPU: Gtx 260 (which is dead now)
    Ram:4GB
    PSU: 700 OCZ

    im not planning to buy new pc yet because i need some money on summer to go on holidays
    so i need some few upgrades anny suggestions what is the best thing to upgrade so i can play games
     
  2. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,026 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    some 100-150$ gpu to replace the 260 until you can afford a complete system upgrade.
     
  3. AdasT

    AdasT New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom London
    when i will buy my new system once i come back from holidays
    you mean i need to buy same gtx 260 cannot i have higher gpu
     
  4. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,026 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    No buy some modern 100$ or so gpu that will outperform your old 260 but wont break the bank.
     
  5. AdasT

    AdasT New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom London
    do you think i can go with XFX Double Dissipation Core Edition Radeon HD 7770 AMD Graphics Card - 1GB
     
  6. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,026 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    AdasT says thanks.
  7. AdasT

    AdasT New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom London
  8. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    227 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    That's a rough situation... Your card is dead, and your CPU is that old.

    If you need a card now, it can't be something high-end because that would be a complete waste of money.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ivy-bridge-wolfdale-yorkfield-comparison,3487.html
    Some comparisons using a similar CPU (Q9550), just giving a info.
    HD7770 is pretty much your best bet here.

    Hope you manage to get a new system as soon as possible. :toast:
     
    AdasT says thanks.
  9. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,624 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,086
    Location:
    Rochester area
    ID pickup like a used 6870 or a a used GTX 460
    TBH spending any-kind of money on something that old is a waste of time
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2013
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    agreed with the above. if the rig is running everything adequately, then wait till you ave the money to do a whole new build. only hing I can think of is an ssd for the OS and if your not on win8 or 7 upgrade to one of those. the ssd could be used in your new build later on
     
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,197 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    7850 if you can pick it up, or 650Ti. Otherwise there are plenty used from 560Ti and 6870 and above which will provide good value.
     
  12. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    OC the q6600
    Buy a Radeon 7850 or 650ti
    Buy another 4GB of RAM, a stick should only be $20.
    Keep your PSU
     
  13. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    used 6870/6970

    even the new 7790 would be a good option
     
  14. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Last edited: May 13, 2013
  15. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  16. Black.Raven

    Black.Raven

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    199 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    I got an q6600 clocked at 3 ghz, it pretty much works for any game. check if you have G0 stepping, that version is way cooler than B3.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I dont know if OP is still watching or even in the same situation, but i have a spare GTX 275 you can have for free if you pay for postage, as my file server no longer requires a second GPU.
    Recently used the other GTX 275 for a LAN party second PC and it seemed up to the task.
    The one I'm offering is a PNY Joker Edition etc.
     
  18. Geekoid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    77 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    UK
    I'd avoid the GTX 460 - so many problems with that range of cards. A nice Radeon should be good - you can pick up a 6870 for around £100. Your PSU should be good as is, and both the card and PSU could be used in your new system. Also worth noting that Windows 8 now comes with a system builder licence, allowing you to do things that weren't allowed with the old windows 7 oem - like change motherboards.
     
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    problems with the 460s? not much more then any other card. they were the new 8800gt at the time. great price to performance.
     
  20. AdasT

    AdasT New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom London
    i wrote to you in pm
     
  21. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Just so you know, and I'm posting this publicly, the 275 is one hell of a power drinker.
    Also I'd appreciate it if you would send it back to me if and when you do buy an upgrade card in the future, as that Joker Edition card is held very dearly to my heart, but I dont like to have things laying around when somebody could really do with it.
    It's exam season at work(I work in a school), so I'm pretty busy this term, but if you PM me your address, I'll try and get it packaged while I'm at work and I'll scan in the receipt for postage.
    Then a transfer by PayPal would be just fine :)

    Here is a picture of the card:

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Geekoid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    77 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    UK
  23. EpicShweetness

    EpicShweetness

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    307 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Ft Gordon
    I had a friend that had a old Q6600, we found a bottleneck, and found a solution for it, but it might be hard to solve now a days. Solution replace your motherboard, and RAM (DDR3). The bottleneck is the RAM, and the bandwidth it allows. We found the greater this pipe is the better the CPU can "talk" to the video card resulting is a better utilization of whatever new card you go with. Speaking of which go with a 7750/70/90 sweet GPU for the money.
    Anyway, that's all I can come up with, and replacing your motherboard practically only makes sense if it's a stop gap (or it died). It's the closest thing to admitting defeat and replacing the whole damn thing.
     
  24. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,883 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page