1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need advice for AMD system build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by olidude, Apr 3, 2006.

  1. olidude New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Hi guys,

    I'm building my first AMD stystem for a friend and I have some good prices on these parts:

    - CPU: Athlon64 3200+ skt939 ?Venice?

    - MOBO: Asus A8N-SLI

    - RAM: OCZ EL GOLD GX XTC 1 x 1G

    - GPU: Connected 3D X800GTO vivo pci-e

    - Case / PSU: Antec SLK3000B (comes with Antec Smart Power 400W)

    - HD: Seagate 160G/7200rpm 8M cache SATA (U150)

    - LG dual-layer 16x DVD writer



    He has about 1000$ CAD (taxes included) to spend. I will be ocing this machine's cpu/gpu and will change the stock fan/hs if needed. The only thing he will be doing with this comp is a little multimedia and play BF2. I think this mobo will be good for future upgrades. Like I said, this will be my first AMD build so any advice is appreciated.

    Do you guys think I'm on the right track?

    TIA
  2. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    An ATI Card with a sli motherboard isn't such a good ideia for upgrades, i will go to a Nvidia Card or a board with crossfire for future upgrades
  3. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    I would look for an Opteron 144 or 146 with a good stepping if there are still any around. Also either go with a GTO2 or a 6600GT. With the GT he could later run SLI. With the GTO2 he could flash it to x850XT PE. Also with the RAM you'd be better off going with 2x512mb to get dual channel. Unless he soon plans on getting another 1gb stick.
  4. olidude New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    I just rechecked the price listings of my supplier and there's a Forsa 6600GT 256M for 150$ CAD (120$ USD free ship)!!! I think I'll go with that instead. The x800gto was a temporary solution anyways. For the moment he just wants to run bf2 smoothly @ 1024 x 768 with AA on a crt monitor. Eventualy, the upgrade will be 2 Nvidias.

    Unfortunatly, the only Opterons left are the 142 and 148 and the Athlons faster than the 3200+ are just a little over buget. :ohwell:
    Then again, with the money I'll save on the gpu (~35$), I'll be able to get a 3500+ for 50$ more than the 3200+. Do you think this would be a smart move?

    ___________________________________________

    Indeed, he will eventually get another 1 gig stick. This is just something to get him up and running until he gets more cash. :)




    Thanks for you're fast response/advice guys.
  5. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    What about a 6800?
  6. olidude New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    They only have the 6800GT ULTRA left in stock and it's 300$ CAD. No deal on that one.
  7. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well looks like you're set then, only other thing I would check are the amperages on that PSU. I wouldn't bother with the 3500+, unless he doesn't want to overclock. Otherwise that 3200+ can easily exceed 3500+ speeds.
  8. maddr57 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :rockout: just got an amd setup finished today ,so here goes , opteron 148 , msi k8n neo4 , 1 gig of geil dual ddr ram ,wd 200 gig sata drive , and an asus extreme ax 600xt [el cheapo card not sure of anything about it, open box sale , and an antec case soprano 2. plugged it all in and its up and running. oh ya xp pro sp2.i`ll let you know how things go . put this together retail for @750.00 bucks canadian . the opty i picked up for 270.00. all you can do is shop around and try and stay away from salesmen , they`ll try and sell you the most expensive crap they have,your best friends are the net and google, read all you can and go from there.i realize this is an old thread but hope it serves to answer somebodies question :cool:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page