1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

need advice on what to do with ssd

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by fullinfusion, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    I upgraded to a Vertex 3 ssd from a Vertex 2. I'm thinking of selling it but also thinking should I, or can I use this drive to utilize Intel's rapid storage software? and would it be worth it or not? The Vertex 3 is 6/gb's speed as the V2 is 3/GB's

    If below helps....
    all my games and such are on a WD 1TB 6GB's/sec Black Edition spin drive.
  2. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Do you actually notice a difference in speed between them... im not talking about benchmarks here, actual real world useage.
    I ask as I have an old (2008) kingston SSD drive thats slow according to benchmarks and the fastest SATA 6gb/s corsair SSD available and i cant tell the speed difference in actual real world computer useage.
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    Yes in daily things as an Example... I run Crap cleaner aka CCleaner and thumbnail is selected as being cleaned. The drive needs to get the info to display the Thumb nail pic when I open up the picture folder... and 6gb's vs 3gb's is really noticeable... plus WEI gives my ssd a score of 7.9 vs 7.6 to 7.7 depending on the day lol

    Booting seems the same...
  4. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    well if you can notice the diff's then thats good i guess... i weas a bit pissed spending £200 for my SATA 6gb/s drive when it was first launched not to notice any diffs with my old "slow" kingston sata II SSD :D

    If I were you id use that drive as a scratch disk if you use photoshop, bideo editing software... or install games and some programs to it for quick loading off of the OS disk.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    Yeah I only really noticed a difference when running the latest drivers, and Im not talking about the ones from the Asus site.... Bloody hell mate! These guys need to get there act together already. Why do I need to go to Intel's site to get latest fixes.

    Prime example... My new Asus Maximus Extreme IV Z-68 mobo!
    All of a sudden I was getting USB 3.0 overvoltage warnings poping up all over the place... Asus tell me its the mobo thats buggered.... :slap: Umm NO!!! It's Asus not updating and letting there guys know of the fixes to post in there D/L section.... One was a driver update and the other was a Firmware update... It's been over 24hr's now and this mobo has been nothing except perfect :rockout:
    twicksisted says thanks.
  6. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Is this a whole new sandybridge system or just the new mobo?
    I ask as you seem very excited just like i was when i upgraded to mine.. best system ive ever owned ;)
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    Yuuuup lol! Hole new SB system. I dumped the AMD rig after the huge Bulldozer Fail.... See the side for my spec's

    I agree! Intel is the Bomb! Cant believe I supported them for so long ;)
    twicksisted says thanks.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, you can give it a try.


    You kinda need to have OS installed with controlelr in RAID mode, or you gotta do some registry hacks first. Also, the gains are not immediate, as it takes soem usage before commonly loaded apps are put on the SSD, so the best i can recommend is that you use it for a month or so before coming to any conclusions.

    There are two modes, too, one is like full RAID, and if SSD dies, data on it is lost, while the other will have your data safe if SSD dies.


    Also, you can only use one combo like that, drives must be on Intel ports, works with RAID, and single drives.

    UH, hmm, if you have questions, I gots answers! ;)
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    Thanks Dave. I think I should just sell this drive... ya know keep it simple :rockout:

    But im going to sit on the fence with this one for a bit and debate if its worth it or not.
  10. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    if i were you id sit on the fence and mass-debate over your drive :D

    lol, sorry... yeah SB kicks ass! i cant see anything taxing my 2600K for many years!
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    Nor my 2700K ;)
  12. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    yum!... yeah that wasnt out yet when i upgraded to my 2600K
  13. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,600 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    intel rapid storage will stop the ocz toolbox from working fyi, i ran into this updating firmware

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page