1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need advice to build system for virtualisation purpose

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by johnsmith2020, Jan 18, 2010.

1. johnsmith2020 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi, I am a student and learning MCSA course. I have a laptop with Core2duo 2Ghz with 2 gb ram. When I use virtual machines on it, it gets hot and end up with Blue screen error. So I have decided to build custom desktop.
    I want to use it mostly for Virtualisation and Gaming purpose.
    I have read that AMD processors are good in Virtualisation and Gaming. So I want to build system having AMD Quad core or any other high end processor with 4 or 8 gb DDR3 RAM with good graphics card and with 1TB harddrive.
    The desktop should be able to run 3-4 virtual machins, Also pls advice about cooling system of CPU.

Pls advise the good configuration which suits my needs. I don't have so good knowledge about hardware.
    Thanks in advance.
  2. Jizzler

Jizzler

Thanks Received:
    How much are you looking to spend on it?

AMD or Intel would be fine as the major virtualization packages support both AMD and Intel extensions, AMD-V/AMD-Vi and VT-x/VT-d. It's just that AMD likes to include theirs in nearly all chips while Intel doesn't.

Depending on much training you'll be doing in multiple VM's, might want to consider a couple drives (separate or RAID) so that your host OS and VM's aren't sharing a single drive.
    johnsmith2020 says thanks.
  3. johnsmith2020 New Member

Thanks Received:
    I am ready to spend $500-600 (20,000Rs.-28,000Rs. (Rs.= Indian currency))
    Budget can be increased.

I want to use it mainly for virtualisation. I am not sure which processor is better AMD or INTEL?
    I am not aware about the latest motherboard and processors so I can upgrade them as per requirements. about hard drive and other peripheral I have a little bit knowledge.