1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need an upgrading advice

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DTAT, Jul 17, 2009.

  1. DTAT

    DTAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey guys, i need to upgrade my pc to play games. ( like GTA4, GRID, CRYSIS ) i think the new pc will only cost me about < 800$. Any advice:toast:thanks first. My current pc: main: abit ab9, ram :2GB 800 twinmos, hdd 160GB seagate vga: evga 8600GT 256MB, PSU acbel 400W:D
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    So your trying to upgrade your current one?(is that what you meant by the new PC)

    If so, Definitely get a better video card, i don't know how big your monitor is but getting a GTX 260 would be a good pick, there cheap on newegg and offer lots of performance. Also your PSU, i have never even seen that company(Acbel) and i would recommend going with some more wattage if your going to be upgrading alot of parts in the system. And if you can try and throw in an extra 2GB of RAM. Also what CPU do you have?
  3. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    there wouldn't be any point in buying a new System man. just upgrade your current.

    Get a better GPU, more RAM, better PSU, and a better CPU maybe? which one you have in use? also, a second HDD if you can.
  4. DTAT

    DTAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry i forgot to post my cpu:D my cpu is e4300 1.8GHZ, and my monitor is LG T711S 17inch. If so i can use a gtx260 on pci-express 1.1:confused: right? . Acbel is the new company but i guess it's not very popular
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2009
  5. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Yes you can use any PCI-E 2.0 card in a 1.1/1.0 slot.

    I would definitely recommend upgrading pretty much everything in your system as its definitely on the low end side.
  6. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    get a q6600, a gtx260 or 275, 2 more gb of ram and a 600w good brand (corsair, ocz, pcp&c, antec) psu
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    so a whole pc without a case and mobo LOL that was kinda funny

    get a new system that one wont do really gta 4 or those games justice

    get a cheap phenom II system 4 or 6gb of ram and a fast single hard drive like a samsung F1 or a fast WD
    even just keep the 8800gt till the new line of cards are out other wise a 4870 or a gtx 260 is plenty
  8. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    he dont have a 8800gt, he has a 8600gt which is way worse.
  9. DTAT

    DTAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK thanks you guys very much:):D. So if i get an sli mobo, which mobo should i choose? (giga, asus, abit, evga...)Or i just get a 1pci express mobo to run a hd4890 or a GTX260( to save money:D):toast:.Otherwise i just keep the current mobo and upgrade to 8GB Ram:rockout:.Can someone recommend which case i should pick out, my current case is very noisy
    P/s: I just upgrade inno3d ichill 7950GT to evga 8600Gt:shadedshu, and still can't handle anygames:banghead:
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2009
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,008 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    acbel PSUs are weak, generic PSU's. they arent very good at all.

    http://www.acbel.com.tw/PDF/P_PC/PS2_400W_i.PDF

    18A and 16A is weak by todays standards, but enough for a low end system. the problem is that since this is a cheap PSU, those arent sustained ratings - they're peak (which means that the PSU only needs to do it for 60 seconds, it can burst into flames after that for all they care)


    You're going to need a 512MB video card with low power requirements. something like a 9800GT green edition, or a radeon 4770
  11. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    The reason you can not play any games is because your processor is very weak, at 1.8 GHz its very under powered and its probably an old Conroe architecture. The 8600 GT is not classified as a gaming card in 2009, it came out in 2006 and couldn't play games that well back then either. I would believe your old 7950 GT is almost as fast as your new 8600 GT, its surprising that people still buy video cards without reading reviews first.


    We can help select some components for you if you want?

    How long does this rig have to last?

    Do you do anything else other than gaming?

    Are you in the United States?
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2009
  12. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    thought i'd save you guys the trouble getting a list of products lol if theres any i'm missing please do say or any flaws:
    [​IMG]
  13. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    ^
    I can not believe that after 3 years the Q6600 Kentfield is still $200. $135 for a motherboard you may as well go i7 at those costs?
  14. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i couldn't find a normal pro on newegg :S so i had to choose the turbo and q6600 is abit too expensive,Q6700 is cheaper than that in UK
  15. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ya for some reason the Q6600 actually went up in price on Newegg.

    When i went on there i was shocked it was now at the $200 mark.
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  17. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i don't trust OCZ psu anymore after my experience with one of them,true AMD is another option and its cheaper,but i reconmended a new case because he might not have enough airflow and the gfx might not fit in his case unless he does some tidying.
  18. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    get a 8800 gt for ur pci slot....and hx620
  19. DTAT

    DTAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks you guys very much. So in general, i should upgrade:
    CPU: E4300=>Q6600
    Ram: 2GB 800=> 8GB 800 ( Is it ok?)i mean the main can recognize all 8GB ram
    VGA: 7950GT => HD4770 or GTX260
    HDD: add 1 more 500GB hdd
    PSU: 400W => CM 600W
    Main: use current
    Case: CM HAF922
    P/s: I'm not intend upgrading to 8600GT ( My 7950GT is broken and the company can't repair so i accept to change to 8600GT like their suggestion. I should have sold 8600GT and bought a 8800Ultra). Why on the box of my main it doesn't write any info that my main can support Core 2 Quad or Core 2 Quand extreme?:banghead:. And i just use my pc for gaming:D
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2009
  20. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    what resolution do you game on? and you should buy a corsair 650w
    the 4770 is class for 1280x1024,any higher could be a problem but if you have gd processor its all good i guess but still if your planning on gaming on higher resolution buy the gtx260
  21. MaximusE

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Cyprus
    for psu get corsair for sure. they are popular super look and powerful. :)

    now for the vga i recommend get a gtx 260 as cd said is very good one
  22. DTAT

    DTAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think i would get a gtx260 like you said:toast:. Now i just play at 1280x1024, maybe after a few months i will get an 19' Samsung LCD or a 22' full HD LCD
  23. MaximusE

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Cyprus
    im waiting to check some shots of ur new system together :). im using a 24" hp monitor at 1920x1200 resolution but i have a 4870x2 crossfirex setup

    i think 19" is a little bit small anymore. u should get a 22 or save some more for 24 or 26
  24. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I love my OCZ PSU.:)
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,008 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    mine worked fine before i upgraded, as well.
    CDdude55 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page