1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Cooling Solution For Overclocked i7-875K

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by NinjaNife, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    I have just finished building my first Intel i7 rig, and need some ideas for cooling it. I am overclocking to 3.8GHz right now (2.9GHz stock). I have a Zalman CNPS9900 NT right now, but my temps are much higher than I would like (idle at 35-40C, with Prime95 around 70-80C; I don't run Prime95 much because of that lol). I looked into Phase Change coolers a while back, but am kinda tight on money right now, so am trying to find something cheap for now (I have around $100-150 to work with; up to $200 if I must, but lower = better). I know that isn't much, but hopefully I can find something to keep the Prime95 temps around 55-65C or lower. Any ideas?
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,635 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Just a quick FYI, Phase Change is NOT for 24/7 usage, it's for benching and that's it!

    Now onto your question....

    The Zalman kinda sucks, to be brutally honest.

    Fill in your system specs, quite a few mainboards you can squeeze the Primoltech Megahalem on, it's a GREAT cooler, stick a few 120mm fans on it and you got yourself a beast.

    There are plenty others available as well, but lets start with the system specs!
  3. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Thanks for your reply. On the subject of Phase Change coolers, I know most of the time they are built only for benching, but some custom builders make 24/7 ones too. Not saying a lot, but I was pricing a few for 24/7 a few months ago.

    I haven't been able to figure out why my system specs don't show in the side drop-down list (I my old ones in the "System Specs" page on my profile, but that probably isn't the correct spot lol), but I can post them here:

    Processor: Intel Core i7-875K Lynnfield 2.93GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Unlocked
    Motherboard: MSI P55-GD80 LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard
    Memory: G.SKILL PIS Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)
    Power Supply: OCZ StealthXStream OCZ700SXS 700W
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932

    Those are the main parts. If you wanted complete system specs (sound card, graphics card, etc), just let me know. Also don't forget that the CPU is OC'd to 3.8GHz right now. Thanks for your help.
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  5. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Yeah I forgot to mention I would rather get something other than air for this computer.. TEC (what is that exactly anyway) or Liquid were the 2 I am mainly looking for, but need ideas for either pre-built systems or places/parts to build my own.

    Which is better (gets colder temps), TEC or Liquid (I haven't looked into either much; figured I would post here first lol)?
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Tech's are fine in the air cooler I mentioned . liquid cooling can be done a lot of different ways and can cost lots of money but you can go here to see what you like .
    http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l1/g30/Liquid_Cooling.html
    lots of kits there and you can even get into the high end cooling if you want . But as mentioned phase cooling is not for normal use 24/7 .
  7. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    So any idea what kind of temps I might be looking at with the Cooler Master Fan/TEC mentioned above? If I am getting 40C idle with the Zalman, how much more can I expect from the other one..
  8. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Google it ?
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    without modding the V10 temps wont be any better on it than what you got now. if you want to get your temps down get a decent water cooling system

    $22.95 swiftec MCRES http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmcmire2re.html
    $49.95 swiftec MCR320 http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmcqupo3xbl.html
    $66.95 swiftec MCP655-b http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmc12vdcpuw.html
    $59.95 Heatkiller block http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/heatkillerlt1366.html

    get tubing at the local hardware store and cheap fans don't forget to order barbs for the radiator/block
  10. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Thanks for the links. I have a few questions about some of the parts (to make sure I am understanding this lol). The water block you sent me appears to be for 1366 sockets (mine is 1156), but I have found these two which seem to be the same thing for the 1156 socket:

    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/wahecpure11l.html
    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/hecpureforso.html

    I would like to know why they are different prices and weights for the same price (they seem to have identical specs except for the weight and color lol). One is probably more expensive because of the extra material, but is the heavier one superior in any way? Or did they just make a cheaper, lighter model..

    Also, the radiator you linked seems to be a 3-fan model. I would like to be able to put everything in my case, but I think only a 2-fan one would fit (by replacing the top fan in my case I can put it right up there, since my PSU is mounted on the bottom).. Do you know if there would be a great difference, or should I just get a 3-fan and mount outside my case somewhere? Thanks for your help.

    *EDIT*
    I am also looking at the "Stackable" 2-fan models, which from what I could tell would allow me to have 2 radiators in my case if the first one isn't working well by itself (and both should fit perfectly in the top of my case :D).
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2010
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    i looked at the stackable ones for quite some time (even before release) and there has been alot of research done and they offer no benefits over a single 240mm radiator.

    as for the blocks one is full copper the other carries acetal in the top thats why its cheaper there is no $20 worth of temp difference (its a fraction of a degree) you can do the 2 fan one the temps will be about 2-3C higher at full load. if you are going to do a 2 fan model look at the hwlabs ones as well as those will give about the same temps as the 3 fan swiftech.

    part of the reason i posted the MCR320 is i have had them in the past and just got another one and love them they are good cheap rads.

    [​IMG]

    just finished my build today if you want i can list specs off for you but vs the V10 with a modified TEC in it i am running 3-4C cooler using water than the V10 could muster at idle and 5-10C cooler at load
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah that is a nice setup . I plan to use my 225W tech cooler some time but for now I am just water cooling . I need to get a better PSU for the TEC block and mod some thicker wires so the thing stops melting the wires !
  13. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Okay. I have looked up some parts (some you showed me and then the others), and would like you to take a look. I am not sure if these are the exact ones I am getting, but hopefully you will be able to tell me if I am missing something:

    Pump: http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmc12vdcpuw.html
    CPU Block: http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/wahecpure11l.html
    Radiator: http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmcqupo2x.html (have to get this one for now; the HW Labs one is much more expensive)
    Reservoir: http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmcmire2re.html (I am thinking about getting a 1-2 drive bay one, but can't find one so far that seems good and is in stock lol)
    Hose: http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/dupvctu1id5o.html (probably get around 10 feet; should have extra then)
    Hose Clamps: http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/brmihocl7int1.html (15 of these should be enough, with extras to replace any I lose ;) )
    Hose Fittings: http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/big1trsi1fi.html (8-10 of these I think; 2 for the pump, 2 for CPU block, 2 for reservoir, and 2 for the radiator)

    Is that all I would need, or did I forget something? Thanks for your help.
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Only if you start to thank me . :toast:

    You should get a bigger RAD that would be all I see that can be improved on .
    NinjaNife says thanks.
  15. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    lol not sure what you mean by "thank me", but I clicked the "Thanks" button, and am now saying thanks to you for your help ;)

    Do you have any suggestions for a bigger radiator? I am trying to fit everything inside my case, which is why I went with the 2-fan model. I just checked, and could almost put 2 of them next to each other, but I need 1/2 inch more width in my case lol. Maybe I could put 2 of them on the side of my case.. Hmm... :(
    trickson says thanks.
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah that thanks button is totally cool . Thank you .

    Any RAD that has 3 or more fan supports . a try rad or quad rad would be better if you get the dual rad ( like I did ) you will find adding a tri rad to it will help keep things really cool in your loop .
    Oh and if you are going to add this inside your case you may not be able to do this I have mine set up out side my case .

    Look here .

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=119283
    NinjaNife says thanks.
  17. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    I have one question (this one may be pretty stupid lol). This is a pic of the side of my case:

    [​IMG]

    As you can see, there is one large 230mm fan there. I can take that out and put 4 120mm fans there instead.. Would it be possible/logical to just get 2 of the radiators I linked and run them next to each other? And if so, could that 230mm fan stay there (instead of having 4 individual fans on the radiators, just leave the big one since it should cover over 75% of both radiators). What do you think?
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    This is how you should set it up and with that case you will have a hard time getting it in . Mine is a CMstacker case and it would not fit !
    NinjaNife says thanks.
  19. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Would my idea work though? Even if I put the radiators on the outside of the side panel, would that one 230mm fan be enough for both of them? Specs on the fan:

    230 x 30 mm standard fan x 1, 700 RPM, 110 CFM, 19 dBA (support 120 x 25 fan x 4)

    The reason I ask is because I am unable to really put anything on the back (TONS of cables back there lol; all 7 expansion slots are filled with wires going everywhere), so the radiator must go somewhere at the top of the case or the side of the case (either inside or outside; I don't think either would affect how it works, just how it fits and looks).
  20. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    As long as you can get it to fit on the side or top or even the front . I do not think that the side panel will be good as you have to be able to access the side panel and with the rad on it it will very hard to do so .
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
  22. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Good point . Thank you Cdawall . If There is a will there is a way . :toast:
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2010
  23. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    POST REMOVED DUE TO NOOBINESS xD
  24. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    LOL !!! :laugh:
  25. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Does anyone know where I can get some good Quick-Disconnect valves for my hoses? I have seen some, but can't find many and am not sure if there are good kinds and bad kinds lol. Also, use Quick-Disconnect valves at all of the connections (at the CPU block, reservoir, radiators, pump, etc) so that it easily comes off? Or would that not work?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page