1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Crosshair 4 Formula Original BIOS

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by scaminatrix, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Hi guys and girls, I got a problem.

    I need to RMA my board (only 2 weeks old) but I've updated the BIOS. In the RMA Terms and Conditions it says
    "...must not be modified or physically altered in ANY way."

    And please, no suggestions of looking on the Asus site:
    When I first went to update my BIOS, I looked on the Asus site and noticed that the oldest BIOS listed on their site (0505 - first release version!!) was different to the version number/date I currently had (can't rememberwhat number/date it was :shadedshu ). I can't download the original BIOS from the Asus support site.

    Someone's gotta have the one I'm looking for... I'm a file hoarder myself, but the BIOS update went smooth so I let my guard down :shadedshu:shadedshu
    So can everyone with this board post the version number/s of the OLDEST BIOS you've got archived please?

    Thanks
  2. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Updating BIOS is allowed. Only if BIOS comes from the manufacturer and is not modified.
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,861
    hang tight, I think I can help ya out...brb
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,861
    Here ya go, I pulled it from my mobo driver disk... it's the same one I had when I got the CH4
    link



    sorry but Im not sure on uploading a zipped file here in TPU
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  5. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    As it has been said already, Bios updates do not count as modification. Since Asus provides them they cannot reject your RMA request because you updated the bios. In the past I have even been asked by Asus to try updating my bios before getting an RMA number to see if that would solve the problem.

    Just out of curiosity, what is wrong with the board?
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  6. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Thanks guys, I didn't know it doesn't count as modification.
    And thanks for the link, fusion I'll be keeping that just in case...


    It's unstable at stock speeds, blue screens etc. I thought I'd get the voltmeter out and use the ProdIt Voltage Measuring Points and... most of them are missing! I'll take a pic and post in a sec, but the solder for the measuring points is missing on most of the points!
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,861
    Has it been unstable sense you got it?

    Maybe you need to play around with the bios settings...
  8. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Yes, been unstable since birth! even on resetted bios, stock speeds etc.
    Overclockers co uk told me to test RAM, etc. I was like, "I've tested RAM. most of my voltage measuring points are missing." They tried to get me to KEEP a board with manufacturing defects! The ProbeIt is an important fature of the board. One that I cannot use! :roll:
    http://img.techpowerup.org/100617/17062010727.jpg

    http://img.techpowerup.org/100617/17062010724.jpg
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,983
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Your pictures are real blurry
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Yea, sorry I've gotta use flash, it's dark in the case!
    Can you see where the solder is missing from some of the points?
    4 out of the 9 points are missing solder completely and the GND one has a tiny bit but not all of it.
    I'm thinking if solder's missing THERE then it could be missing/badly done somewhere else on the board maybe?


    EDIT:
    She's off for RMA
    Thanks for your info, everyone :)
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  11. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    UPDATE:
    RMA 'd it, Overclockers UK are now sending it back to me saying that the motherboard has no issues at all!!
    Anyone know an Asus representative?!?
    They won't answer the support number so I'm having to go through Webnotes!
  12. kyle2020 Guest

    OCUK are notorious for being right arseholes when it comes to rma's - moonpig sent his maximus formula back to them and they physically damaged the cpu socket, preventing him from an exchange / refund, so be careful.

    Go straight to ASUS and avoid OCUK if you can, I never shop there anymore.
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Thanks man, yes their service was amazing on the stuff that worked. Looks like they're trying to charge me £10 for them sending it back to me aswell :laugh:

    On the up-side, the Asus Support site has a UK number. I'll wait for a reply from the Webnote I left them, then give Asus Support a bell.

    Thanks :toast:
  14. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    UPDATE:
    Got a mail back saying that the lack of ProbeIt points "will not affect the performance of this board."
    I sent a complaint to Overclockers Management, and someone else has created a new RMA number. He said he will replace the board as necessary, he seems a lot more helpful than the last person.
    It's cost me £40 altogether in P&P to return the board, have it sent back to me, and now I've gotta send it again!
    Has anyone tried/had any luck with trying to claim postage costs back from them?

    Thanks

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page