1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Feedback for GPU-Z Installer

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by W1zzard, Feb 18, 2012.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,545 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,226
    For next release I'm working on an integrated installer for GPU-Z, so that people can find it easily in their start menu. This will also add an uninstaller to the system.

    When no existing installation is found, the following dialog will be displayed:
    [​IMG]

    If an old version is found installed:
    [​IMG]

    The installer adds only about 60 KB to the download size.

    Thoughts?

    This is targeted at less experienced users, so suggestions on the display texts are welcome if they help clarify things.

    ---

    I attached two builds of GPU-Z with the installer functionality to this post, so you can test the install and update features. (both versions are the same build, with just different version number for update)

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
    theJesus, Daimus, Maban and 3 others say thanks.
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,404 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Looks good to me! Very slick!
  3. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,623 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah I like this idea; will save me some bs.
  4. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,746 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    286
    Looks good.

    While you are at it, how about adding an update settings dialog that allows us to configure the updater on the initial run, rather than needing to go into the options menu?

    Thanks
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  5. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The installer looks very simple and easy to understand(as long as the user actually reads stuff on his screen).

    However, in the last windows you are referring to the system menu in GPU-Z itself.
    It occured to me that if you want to make GPU-Z as a whole more inexperienced-user friendly, you might want to make that system menu a bit more visible, perhaps even with a clickable button somewhere.
    Now you are referring to a menu that most of the users probably wont be able to find.

    I'm not sure if thats a good idea to implement in that way, but I'd just mention it anyway :D

    Edit: but indeed! great idea!
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012
  6. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    go for it, this is pretty useful
  7. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    instead of a DESKTOP short how about a TASKBAR pin?? other wise looks great
  8. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Great addition. +1 for the taskbar pin instead of the desktop shortcut.

    and thanks many times for this awesome piece of software!
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,545 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,226
    yeah, i noticed that, too, when the asic quality feature was released and forums were full of people who couldnt find the option.

    not sure where to put a button for it though, some people don't see the "?" icon for the pcie test
  10. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Perhaps the most simple and easy to find solution would be to just add another tab next to the validation tab?
  11. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    I like it, good idea :)
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,545 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,226
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd378460(VS.85).aspx

    :(
    Frogger says thanks.
  13. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,194 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,178
    Nice idea..... and I go with the additional tab idea too :toast:
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,545 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,226
    updated first post with test executables
  15. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    In de 0.5.9 version

    There is a problem with the "start installer" option you can pick from the system menu. One time after I hit the installer, it gave me a "windows error" sound, and the whole thing just vanished, including GPU-Z itself. Sadly, I havent been able to reproduce it, so i dont know what could be causing it.

    Secondly, if you choose "start installer" and then press cancel in the installer, it closes GPU-Z itself aswell.


    Apart from that, the installer is working fine so far, with both a desktop shortcut, and a start menu entry being made^^

    Edit:
    The uninstaller also works perfectly.
    Also, the updater works, as long as the older version of GPU-Z is closed. The error message you get when GPU-Z is still open might not be very clear as to whats wrong to inexperienced users however.
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  16. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    sorry to bring this up are but is there any gpuz gadget for windows 7 sidebar? official one not the others.
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,545 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,226
    sorry, no
  18. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    The installer should say that the currently installed GPU-Z is open and/or should be closed before installation instead of "Copy failed" and "Could not write file". And there's no icon in Programs and Features.
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  19. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    in near future?
  20. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,545 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,226
    won't even think about it until i know for certain that gadgets are part of windows 8
  21. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    lol it should better be an application then
  22. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Maybe it does not matter when I installed the program, Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2010 has issued the following message:
    19.02.2012 15:37:35 Found: PDM.Invader (loader) GPUZ_INSTALLER.EXE C:\USERS\ ...

    It is known that he was often mistaken. This may scare the less experienced users, but only with the specified anti-virus. Most likely other anti-virus software will not issue a warning. Installed on systems with Norton Internet Security 2011 and 2012, all right.

    The actual installation is very simple and accessible. Thank you for excellent work!
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,702 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,222
    i'm on kaspersky 2012 with no issues. you should probably update.


    installer worked fine here.
    Daimus says thanks.
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,545 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,226
    i contacted kaspersky regarding the false positive.

    edit:

    their reply, on a sunday! after like 1 hour

    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
    Daimus says thanks.
  25. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Installed fine on win7-64 & vista-32 will try later on win8 rig

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page