1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need for Speed: Most Wanted (Demo)

Discussion in 'News' started by Dark Ride, Nov 11, 2005.

  1. Dark Ride Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
  2. spectre440 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    948 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Israel
    the demo is quite good.
    graphics are great, as can be expected with EA's showcase titles...

    controls are a bit touchy though. not recommeded for playing with just a keyboard. definantly one of those games that you need a good wheel to fully enjoy.

    too bad my old 128mb 9600 pro dosent handle it very well. :\

    anyways, definantly a good download. :)
     
  3. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,341 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    I'll have to test it out with my MOMO wheel ..... later tonight maybe :) N4S :rockout:
     
  4. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I have a digital game pad, my xbox-pc controller bit the dust (I need a new usb plug)
    Think digital would be fine?
     
  5. Mad Cow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey, i have a problem when i try to install it. when ever i try it says i dont have directx 9.0c which i do have installed and it closes i even re-installed directx using the installer that the gave you in the download but it still doesnt work does anybody know the problem?
     
  6. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    481 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    To be honest I've always prefered keyboard controls over the joypad, I drive better on my PC than I do on a console haha!

    I customize my own control settings though to suit me, I prefer using the arrow keys, Right-hand Shift and Ctrl, Return key, numpad: /, *, 9, 8, 7, 1, 0

    Basically they are the ones I use.

    Arrow keys to steer;
    Right-hand Shift for Hand brake;
    Right-hand Ctrl for Speed Breaker;
    Return for Enter/Accept;
    / for Lookback;
    * for Nitrous;
    9 for Reset Car;
    8 for Next Track;
    7 for Change View;
    1 for Gear Up;
    0 for Gear Down.

    Overall the games graphics are brilliant, I love it totally, to me it outbeats the Underground series, as I disliked the fact the coppers where removed from the game. That's one of my favourite aspects of Need for Speed.

    So far, this Demo makes me crave the release date lol, I'm dieing to play the full game now!

    For those who have yet to try the game, please do try it if you like the previous Need for Speed titles, if you liked those, then this will blow your lid wide open in my opinion ;)

    --Lee
     
  7. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    Damn! I hate SA's "broadband". Now I can't download it coz my usage is too much! (only 2GB but the cap is at 3GB and there are 19 days left this month!) THAT SUCKS!! I hate Telkom.
     
  8. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    481 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    I'm with NTL and currently have no cap, all NTL users will be upgrading their current connections to a 10Mb connection sometime within 2006 starting with the 3Mb customers (Me! Yippee!).

    When the 10Mb lines are introduced there will be monthly caps then, then 1Mb will have a 30Gb cap, 2Mb will have a 50Gb cap and the 3Mb users will have a 75Gb cap.

    1Mb costs £17.99 -- Will upgrade to 10Mb with 30Gb monthly cap.
    2Mb costs £24.99 -- Will upgrade to 10Mb with 50Gb monthly cap.
    3Mb costs £37.99 -- Will upgrade to 10Mb with 75Gb monthly cap.

    As you can see, not bad really, the more speed the better for me as I like low latency while playing my games which I get now, but still those extra speeds will come in handy ;)

    --Lee
     
  9. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    Yeah, but you don't have a telecom monopoly in UK! We have, and they charge the most expensive rates in the world ffs! It's cheaper for you to call me from UK than it is for me to call my next door neighbour. And ADSL is HORRIBLY overpriced! Atm it costs R757($112 or £66) for a 512K/256K ADSL line and a 3GB cap. And for every additional GB of usage it sets you back another R65($10 or £6).It's really ridiculous.

    It's funny, they made a study. If I wanted to download a 100GB file, it would be cheaper to fly to Japan, go to an internet cafe, download 100GB and then fly back than it would to download it here in South Africa!! Now that tells you something eh? F*** Telkom (our telecoms monopoly which is also owned by the Government (40% shares))!

    And latency doesn't always make a difference if you get a higher speed line. The problem here is the ADSL lines have a huge latency and then the data transfers thereafter are at 512K. So you wait about a second before there is any data throughput.

    Go to www.hellkom.co.za (see the pun? :D )to see how our telecom company screws with us. ;)
     
  10. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    You guys should come over here to the US. I have comcast 4000/380 kb/s rock solid speed 24/7 with 10ms latency to local servers for $42 a month with no down/up cap whatsoever.

    On the subject of the game, I didn't like it because it never went above 30 fps on my X800XTPE. That just sucks. I get better fps on HL2 lost coast.
     
  11. Ombracol New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    NY NY
    Yeah I pay 65 for 8000/512 no cap
     
  12. Dark Ride Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    I'm on 56k dial-up :)
     
  13. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Africa sucks in general... Extremely corrupt.

    I get 6 mbps/384 kbps cable for $43 a month.. its great, I get full speeds and low latencys. Surprising though, as comcast has a monopoly on high speed internet here in seattle.

    Ill try NFS:MW next time im very bored.. ;)
     
  14. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    Tell me about it. And SA's pretty good as far as technology and such goes, except o'course our telecoms which is WAAAAAY behind all other African countries. In Tanzania for example, they have 8MBit wireless for next to nothing. It comes standard on alot of homes. My friend went there a while ago and he was surprised to see it! And then Telkom comes and say "our prices are competitive". Competitive with what??? Wireless internet in Antarctica? Oh no wait, that's cheaper still... :rolleyes:

    And I'd really like to check this demo out! What do you guys think of it?
     
  15. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    481 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    I think it's amazing, when it's released I'll definitely be buying it because I love it miles more than the rest of the NFS series!

    The cops are so good with how they response to things and personally, I love the scenery too, it's all just so amazing :)

    There is one level I love to do more than the rest on the Demo, and that is the "Road Block" in the Challenge mode, it's challenge three to be precise. I just love smashing through the road blocks and doing a runner in the Dodge =)

    --Lee
     
  16. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    Thanks! I guess I'll have to wait for next month... Can't wait!
     
  17. GM'er New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the same exact problem. Anyone have a solution?
     
  18. GM'er New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, I did some research and found the solution for the direct X problem on a Windows XP machine. Find the autorun file for the game and run it in compatibility mode for Windows 2000. The game will install properly then.
     
  19. Mad Cow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey i got it installled but now the thing crashes when i try to open it, i tried to windows 2k compatibility but it didnt work either. this game is looks cool but its kinda a waste of my time to try and find out how to play it
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page