1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Hardware help to improve my machine

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mof42, Jun 12, 2009.

1. mof42 New Member

Thanks Received:
    I am a newbie and trying to find what I can do to boost the performance on this little HP I got a while back. I have done nothing to modify the BIOS yet and would entertain any suggestions from the group.

I am a hardware engineer and I am running multiple OS's in Virtualbox VM's. I do PCB Signal integrity analysis using Cadence Allegro 16.2 , 3d modeling using solidworks and thermal modeling using IcePak and Flowtherm each running in their own VM.

I am open to any suggestions other than using MicroCrap Vista.

Thanks

Last edited: Jun 12, 2009
  2. Melvis

Melvis

Thanks Received:
    A Quad core of some kind maybe? like a Q9550 or higher?

And maybe update the Quadro with a newer version? or go with a ATI equivalent?

Otherwise the rest of your system seems to be pretty good to me.

Edit: Ooops sorry also....Welcome to Techpowerup Forums :)

3. mof42 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Thanks

This is a 2 quad core zeon processor system. I tried a couple of ATI Radon video cards but for the live of me I could not get them to work in Ubuntu 9.04. I have seen that ATI has sent 3 catylist updates since but I spent so much time with the xorg.conf file that I do not want to do that again. Do you know nvidia has SLI cards that can be linked that are Jaunty compatable?

4. Melvis

Melvis

Thanks Received:
    O ok sorry i wasn't sure if it was a Quad or a Dual core, well you can only go to about 3.2GHz i think with a Xeon Quad? Otherwise you would have to go with the new i7 Quad core CPU's but that will need a new Motherboard and DDR3 RAM.