1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help building a gaming pc

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by aapmens, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. aapmens New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    netherlands
    hello kind of old topic but i had a financial bumper so had to postpone buying a pc by about a month. but the reason i restarted topic was because i was wondering about some things. hope you can add a coment

    the main purpose of the pc is for gaming


    Scythe Processor Koeler Ninja 3 AMD & Intel

    http://tinyurl.com/4nfqzga
    ----------------
    Samsung 1TB SATA300 32MB, HD103SJ

    http://tinyurl.com/4q2zrr8
    -------------------
    OCZ SSD 2.5", 120GB, SATA, Vertex 2

    http://tinyurl.com/6b8n34p
    ------------
    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium NL 1u 64bit OEM

    http://tinyurl.com/6ht33e8
    -----------
    LG DVD-/+/RAM GH22NS50 22x/22x/16x SATA (zwart)

    http://tinyurl.com/5w78gnl
    -----------
    Intel Core i7 2600K 3.40GHz 8MB Box

    http://tinyurl.com/65qpb43
    ------------
    Corsair Voeding TX750W 750W

    is this power gd enough you think?

    http://tinyurl.com/62v58ws
    ------------
    Corsair 2x4GB, DDR3, PC12800, CL9, Dominator

    i was told i could get better ones for this price?

    http://tinyurl.com/64qat9s
    -------------
    Cooler Master Big Tower HAF 932 eATX No PSU (zwart)

    http://tinyurl.com/y9qhzs7
    --------------
    Asus SABERTOOTH P67

    http://tinyurl.com/6et3hya
    ----------
    Sapphire HD6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E

    i see diferent brands most are the same but some have diferent memory speed of 1,25ghz and 5.0 does that matter?

    http://tinyurl.com/4l2lkhr
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2011
  2. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Are you using USD or EUR? Newegg's prices are in USD and you have them listed as USD.

    Off hand, I see that you've selected DDR2 memory and DDR2 is not compatible with your motherboard. You need DDR3. Also, the X58 platform (the chipset of your mobo) uses triple channel memory, so you (ideally) want even multiples of 3 for capacities. 6GB (3x2GB) is the most common config.

    I think you can get a better PSU for that price. Look at Seasonic or Corsair PSUs in that same price range. Nothing inherently wrong with that Cooler Master, but I think you can do better for that kind of money. Edit: @Jr: I was hesitant to comment on the PSU as it was kind of a nitpick. I agree it's a solid PSU, but $140 for 850W? I feel like you can do better. But after looking through some PSUs, maybe not. I'll take this back until I find something better.

    I would hold off on buying the 5970 graphics card for now. AMD is going to release their new dual GPU card very soon as in the first couple of weeks in January. Definitely wait until then because the 5970 will probably get an EOL. (end of life)

    The 2TB HDD is fine for storage, but it's slow to be used as a main hard drive. You NEED a SSD. You can't spend upwards of $1500 without a SSD. Find a SSD that uses a Sandforce or Marvell controller and get it. This is very important imo. Edit: Don't ditch the hard drive though, have the SSD for your OS and programs and such, then have the 2TB HDD for all your music and videos and such.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Everything will work together EXCEPT the ram. You are going to want some decent ram for that build.
    Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 2000MHz Memory Kit CL9.. ...
    That's the best I could find from a price standpoint. It's too bad these are on pre-order
    http://www.scan.co.uk/products/6gb(...000)-cas-8-9-8-24-dhx-xmp-df-ii-connector165v

    Rest of your build looks ok but I would switch out the GPU due to temperature reason and it being a dual gpu card
    SAPPHIRE 100312SR Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5...

    @angel

    That particular model PSU is actually pretty good. Granted I know I would rather look at some Corsairs, SeaSonics and Enermax's. But my point is that it would work out well. Yeah I know exactly what you mean. Alot better options for the cost.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  4. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    I also wanted to say that I think you'd be better off getting a HD 6950 or HD 6970. Saves you a good chuck of money, and can always get a 2nd later if you need more juice.

    Otherwise it looks good.
     
  5. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,652 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
  6. aapmens New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    netherlands
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  8. aapmens New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    netherlands
    i probably wont go shopping on that site but i read somewhere on this forum you should show links and wel that site had a lot so.... i need to find a site in europe
     
  9. Smety

    Smety New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Before I make an actual assessment... are you looking to spend 1,500 USD or 1,500 Euros?
     
  10. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Not a problem. I'm sure someone here could tell you where to get stuff in Europe. Where in Europe are you?

    Judging by his (her?) last post the OP is dealing with EUR.
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I only know the 2 more popular sites scan.co.uk and ebuyer.co.uk also heard quite a few people with problems getting stuff from overclockers.co.uk
     
  12. Rule-R

    Rule-R New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    260 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Holland
    Aapmens, in what country do you live?
     
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    For those wondering, his IP resolves to the Netherlands;)
     
  14. Rule-R

    Rule-R New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    260 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Holland
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  15. aapmens New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    netherlands
    im spending 1500 euros its already above it probably but that wont be much of a problem. and i live in the netherlands, thanks for those sites
     
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    aapmens, looks like your best bet would be to shop at afuture.nl

    Just from taking a glance, it looks as though they got good prices and decent stock.
     
  17. Rule-R

    Rule-R New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    260 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Holland
    Depends on how fast you want to get the goods.
    4launch imho has the best service for a bit above lowest price, usually stock is perfect. They have the best discounts.
    Afuture does have good prices, but overall the availability is a little less and is not as renowned as Azerty and Salland.
    Azerty and Salland are renowned for their overall picture, but are a bit more expensive little less service and availability tends to be a bit less than 4launch.
     
  18. aapmens New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    netherlands
    i also put the same topic on another forum and got a few replies. and i was wondering what they meant? because i dont realy understand it.

    °°°°°°

    You do not want to go X58. This is an enthusiasts setup which can be difficult to get working correctly. Go with an 1156/P55 setup for better reliability. The speed is pretty much the same. I would pick an Asus board over the brand you chose.

    °°°°°°

    Asus P7P55D-E Pro and an i7-870.

    Use dual channel ram, the lower the voltage the better, with the P55 boards. 1333 speed is all you need unless you are going to be overclocking.


    ASUS P7P55D-E Pro LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s US...
     
  19. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I disagree with this statement. An X58 platform is no more difficult to get working than any other platform. Also there's no proof that a 1156/P55 setup is more reliable. I'm not sure where that user got that info from, but it's pretty inaccurate.

    I think the deciding factor to chose between X58 and P55 is A) Cost and B) Multi-Graphics Card capabilities. X58 is more expensive as a whole than P55. But with a budget of over 1500EUR, you can easily afford a X58 setup, so the price savings of P55 don't matter. Also X58 tends to have many more options for running multiple graphics cards, but since you only have one graphics card, this doesn't really apply to you.

    X58 is a very good choice for you, in my opinion.

    That setup is fine if you do go the P55 route. I also agree about the RAM speed. I don't really see the need for super fast memory. But if it's a good price, then sure, go for it.
     
  20. aapmens New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    netherlands
    stupid question, but without a sound card you can stil play sound right??
     
  21. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    If the motherboard provides it, yes.
     
  22. Rule-R

    Rule-R New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    260 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Holland
    Though for the ultimate gaming experience a "standalone" soundcard will give you the best sound ánd a little more performance.
     
  23. Rule-R

    Rule-R New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    260 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Holland
    Made a list of parts available in The Netherlands.
    Not including software it adds up to €1400,-

    List
     
  24. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Am i missing anything in this list:
    [​IMG]
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ive used onboard and standalone sound cards and i have seen NO difference in them unless you like a professional DJ or make your own music.

    Most onboard HD codec setups will game just the same
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page