1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help choosing parts...

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by OrbitzXT, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    Right now I have what most would consider a good system. I have an i5 750, 4GB of RAM, a 4870X2 (Which I'm trading for a GTX 285 + some money). Anyway, I play poker for a living and occasionally when I have good nights I like to treat myself to something. I'm considering building a new computer, but if I'm going to I feel like going a little overboard for a change. To a degree money isn't an issue for this build, but I'd like to not get absolutely ridiculous.

    I'd like to keep the PC I have now intact since I often have friends over, if there was a second computer in the room it'd be nice for them to be able to use it. Basically, I'm wondering if there are any of those crazy motherboards that have two CPU slots, along with Tri-SLI. I want to put a number of HDD's in a RAID 0 array, I don't think I want to use SSD's for this build. I have 3 HDD's in a RAID 0 array in this build I'm using now and I'm fairly certain it matches the performance of a high grade SSD.

    So great wise people of TPU, if you were building what we'll label an 'enthusiast' build, what kind of things would you be looking at?
  2. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    This seems totally excessive. Like waste of money excessive. But that's my opinion, you can do what you want.


    For a mobo, you may be interested in this board. I doubt it will be cheap. ($400+)

    3 HDDs in Raid 0 do will never match a SSD. Maybe in sequential transfer speeds, but a single SSD will have an access time that is a hundred times faster than a standard 7200rpm HDD. SSDs are the way to go. IMO there's no use in Raid-ing SSDs because one is already fast enough. You won't get any tangible results from having them in Raid. But definitely get SSDs.
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  3. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    It is, and now that a whole 30 minutes has past I'm talking myself out of it. I would like another PC though, but I'll be semi reasonable hehe. I'd still like it to be better than what I'm using now, and I think I will try a SSD.
  4. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    I'd build an i7 system with 3x2GB RAM, a 5970 or dual 5850s, and a super fast 128GB SSD or two fairly fast 64 or 80GB ones in RAID0.
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  5. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,392 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Thinking about going reasonable on us??? ;)

    I'm outta here and I'm taking this $1500 barebones setup with me...

    [​IMG]
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  6. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    Haha, well I'm slowly adding parts to my cart. At the moment I have an i7-920 and a GTX 285. I already have one GTX 285 so I'd like to get a second for this build. Currently I'm looking at motherboards. Are there any that are 1366 CPU slots that have Tri-SLI capabilities? I think for now I'm going to settle for the two cards, but I'd like the option of adding a third.

    Does a board exist that gives 16 lanes to all 3 cards? Or what is the best I can get? The best I've seen so far is 16/16/8
  7. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  8. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
  9. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    WTF are you talking about, that's what this whole thread seems to be...
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  10. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,392 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    If your case couldn't hold it, the Asus P6T7 should also work.
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    hahaXD dont even think the 800D has room for it :roll:
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  12. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    So far I'm leaning with that Asus P6T, and this Kingston set of RAM.
    Edit: Didn't realize the P6T7 was so much more advanced than the regular P6T. I need to check it out =p
  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  14. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    wait you play poker for a living?? how does that work?
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  15. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    You get good enough to the point where you win more money than you lose...
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  16. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    Currently I'm checking out power supplies. I imagine 1000W would be enough for the 2 285's, would it cover a third if I ever chose to add it? Also, some people used to tell me modular PSU's are bad. Are they? I was hoping to keep the inside clutter free. I'm currently eying this one.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182188
  17. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    :twitch: Rosewill
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    that was my thought too:roll:

    give us a budget bro, it will be MUCH MUCH easier to find stuff for you when we know a budget for the rig
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  19. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    No good? =( I've used them in the past for smaller builds, like a 550W model. It also has good ratings.
  20. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    LoL. Dont get me wrong, I have a lot of Rosewill around the house.... Just not their psu's. :D
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    The 800D has plenty of room, and still might make that board seem small;)
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  22. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    nope it dont work
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  24. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    Hm, I clicked on Make Public, and there is a check next to "Shared", let me try to find the correct link.
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    just take a screenshot instead,
    OrbitzXT says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page