1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help CPU temp sensor not working properly

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by nocomplaints, Sep 26, 2007.

  1. nocomplaints New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    Need some help with my laptop please!! Have a Gateway 8550GB (original Specs 1.73 Pentium M, 1GB Ram, X700 mobility) which is now Pentium 2.26, 2GB and X1900. Initial results with Overclocking 2.5Ghz on the Cpu and 450 on the Gpu gave a 3410 on 3DMark 06 which was good but the problem is that the CPU temperature sensor only reads correctly at idle or for short periods of time under high load but then reads to 35oC and stays there until the CPU is unloaded again meaning the fan doesn't spool up cooling it correctly. If I set NHC to run the CPU flat out on the clock speed the temp reads fine until actually loaded up i.e run Prime 95 or a Game etc. It doesn't appear to be a sensor fault since if I block the fan off the Cpu temp reads fine unless loaded up then once under full load it read 35oC again even without any overclocking. Once unloaded the temperature reads correct again after a few seconds. The Main board is Intel 915 PM Pheonix Bios 59.04 (Think Gateway use there own modified version of Pheonix Bios). Any ideas gratefully recieved?

    Thanks
    Gaz
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,141 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,643
    try downloading core temp and see if that will read the temp
  3. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
  4. nocomplaints New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Unfortunately Coretemp doesn't work with the old Dothan single cores. Any other ideas? Could it be a bios conflict between old Gateway Bios and new X1900 chip.
    Thanks
    Gary
  5. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,741 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    I have the same problem with BIOS update, after update core temp is ~10c :D
    But you should try to use Everest, it can read CPU diode temp, wich is still normal for me

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page