1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help finding the bios for my 7970

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by intertubenerd, Oct 22, 2012.

1. intertubenerd New Member

Thanks Received:
    I did something really dumb and tried to flash my XFX R7970 DD into a Ghz edition (as you can probably tell, I'm pretty new to graphics cards in general, since flashing into a Ghz edition is for reference boards only), and what's worse, I didn't save my old bios first. Now I found the collection of bios here at techpowerup, and tried to flash back to the correct bios for my FX-797A-TDFC...it's not the black edition or anything, just the regular, voltage-locked edition I accidently went and bought thinking it was something else....but after flashing to the correct bios it still won't play any games at all, it either gives me a BSOD immediately in the case of Battlefield 3, or freezes with a black screen in the case of Shogun 2, or gives me a white screen and freezes in the case of World of Tanks. Anyway, on the box it says it's version 3.2, I was wondering if maybe there are multiple bios for this same model and I just got the wrong one. There's only one for this exact card in the the techpowerup collection, I was hoping that someone might have the one for version 3.2 or at least knows for certain if that one is the one and only correct bios for this card so I can RMA it without it going in with the wrong bios...please help.
  2. dark2099

dark2099

Thanks Received:
    Open GPU-Z and put the part from the BIOS version that is in parenthesis. There are 2 BIOS' I think will work for your card, want to see which you have on there now, and try the other.
  3. intertubenerd New Member

Thanks Received:
    113-797ATDFV10