1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help getting MSI x58 plat. Setup

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by shevanel, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    The Msi x58 platinum came today so I started assembling everything.

    I'm having an issue where I push the power button and the machine starts up for 3 seconds then shuts off. This repeats non-stop.

    here is a hardware list:

    msi x58 obv
    1x3 kingston hyper
    antec ea650 earthwatts psu
    8600gt
    apogee gt waterblock

    I have the wb on as tight as I can get it without it seeming too tight tight.. this is the first time Ive had to use the bracket and screws, usually I'm used to the springs and thumb screw type.

    I cleared cmos and checked all conections but I do not know what is wrong, any advice, solutions or other input would be highly appreciative.

    Thanks

    I just tried to move the pumps rpm plug to the cpu1 panel and it didn't solve the problem.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2009
  2. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Try the ram in a different dimm slot. Take off the water cooling and put on the standard cooler to make sure that isn't the issue (not likely since it's only on for a moment.) Verify that everything is plugged in correctly.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  3. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I moved the ram to the black dimms from the blue dimms using one stick. When i use the black dimm it powers up but the blue leds on the mobo all go out. then it restarts again.

    i don't have a stock fan to test with :-(

    fack.
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Try loosen the block up a teeny bit or reseat it.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  5. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    ok will try
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh and if that doesn't work, pull the battery and clear cmos for 15 mins or so.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  7. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Would be useful to take a pic of your mobo and put it here, 'cause I believe no one in this forum use this board yet.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  8. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    loosened block = same problem

    resat the block but not as tight = same problem

    took out video = same problem
     
  9. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    are you using any adaptors for power? 4pin to 8pin. molex to sata? if you are, try not using those.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    all i have is a webcam, and in xp on this laptop it takes tiny 3.5x3.5 pics

    gonna try to clear cmos and see what happens. it has a clear cmos button on the rear i/o panel but ill still listen and do the battery too.
     
  11. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL

    nope the antec has proper plugs so i didnt have to use any adapters.. i have the 8 pin snug into the 8 pin and the other one is snug as well.
     
  12. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    took the battery out.. with the cmos battery out it stays powered on, doesnt reboot or power off..

    im gonna wait and try with the battery real soon
     
  13. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,961 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    If you tighten a block too much, the motherboard dies I have heard.

    Try without the hard drive or optical drives and see if you can get into the bios pressing delete.

    My first venture in X58 was a DOA Msi X58. I hope you won't have the same bad luck. :(
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  14. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i didnt tighten it toooo tight, i got down to where the screw gave resistance and then added a half turn.

    i put the battery back in and it powered on and stayed on, this was with no usb mouse, ps/2 keyboard..

    as soon as i restarted with kb/mouse it began looping on/off again
     
  15. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Try the mouse and keyboard in a different port?
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  16. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    if i take battery out and put it back in and restart it'll stay on but without post.. once i manually restart it the pc will restart into the on/off loop.

    even with no ram in and nothing else plugged in it still does on/off loop.
     
  17. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    There a speaker hooked up? Any Beep Code?
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  18. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,961 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Is it the X58 platinum SLI or just the regular X58 platinum?
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  19. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    its the sli version.. speaker is not hooked up.. will hoook up now.. for sake of trying to get it to post i disconnected all usb/hd audio heads.. i never use the speaker
     
  20. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    three long beeps before it restarts.. the beeps have 1/2 sec gap or so in between.
     
  21. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,961 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Could be the manual OC switches are set incorrectly. Check them out.



    [​IMG]
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  22. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    okay!

    the default switch was set.. thanks for that diagram i was looking for that!

    I just put one ram stick in the 2nd black dimm and I am at the bios!

    I'm going to try 3 black dimms now.

    pray for me guys lol

    cpu temp says 26C (seems too low)
    ioh is 67c (wtf is IOH)
    system is 42c
    all voltages look great
     
  23. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    3 black dimms is GOLDEN....

    Not sure if everything is A-ok but I'm posting without beeps and getting to the bios on 3 ram sticks.

    ...

    stay tuned
     
  24. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Trying switching back to the other's if you have DIMM's dead you may want to RMA.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  25. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    LOL this pc smacks my old q9550 silly.. this is stock.. wow.

    Thank you everyone that pitched in and helped me troubleshoot this thing! I am grateful!

    Im loaded onto win 7 i had on the old q9550, gonna tinker around then do a fresh install soon.. but everything looks good thus far.

    Man, that would have sucked! if this thing died.. you have no idea how rocky the road to i7 has been.. getting rolled off [h] for my first board.. then this today.. phew... im glad its working at least.

    Thanks all
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page