1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Help I Think My Crossfire Is Bad

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by amdfanatic, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. amdfanatic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi i need help i download everst ultimate 5.0 and i was checking the gpu description and one of them is not runing at the sema speed of the other can anyone help me please
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    Try downloading GPU-Z and checking to see if both cards are appearing and running at the rated clock speeds.

    Also you can use Ati Control Center and unlock the overclocking section to see the clocks.
  3. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    652 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Remember, when you Crossfire or SLi, the faster GPU will always downclock to the weaker card. This is normal operation.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    crossfire doesnt downclock, SLI does.

    as to the different clock speeds, it depends how different. one could be a different clock speed, one could be in a low power state because it has nothing to do, and so on. With ATI it really means nothing for two cards to have different clocks.
  5. amdfanatic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i dont understand this???

    hi thnx for helping me im going to put the pictures of the gpuz and please tell me what is wrong im attaching some pictures so please help :(

    Attached Files:

  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    nothing is wrong Xfire is enabled
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    yeah that all looks fine to me
  8. amdfanatic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok but why the memory clocks are diferent
  9. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,029 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Thats because ATi cards idle at lower clocks so they consume less power. Once they are being used the clocks will go back up to normal. It's not a problem. I have the same with my 5770 xfire setup.
  10. TotalChaos

    TotalChaos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    737 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    it's their ULPS (Ultra Low Power State) tech.
  11. amdfanatic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thnx im good calm now going for the quad 4650

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page