1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help on Android Netbook please (OS not loading) [SOLVED]

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Black Panther, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Specs are WM8650 800Mhz, 256MB DDRIII. And an Android OS with which I'm not familiar at all.
    I'm not sure what my dad did because he wanted to remove the OS and install some Windows :rolleyes:

    Now upon powering it up the netbook remains like this:

    [​IMG]

    No matter which key or combination I press.

    Any clue on where to start?
    I've pressed all the F keys, Tab, Del, etc but I can't enter the bios or anything.
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,185 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Does it have a pinhole to depress a reset button?

    Edit: Is it the 7" or 10" model?

    Try holding down the power button; and, either or both, the volume +(up) and/or -(down) buttons.
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,411 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    reset hole?
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Yes, at the bottom. Pressing it only turns the thing off. Same as the power button.

    It's the 10" model.

    I'm searching for the volume buttons... can't find them :eek:

    Google isn't giving much help here. All I seem to be getting is results for pizza :laugh:
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,411 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    wait for Mussles to wake up. XD he our resident android technician.

    i think you may need to reinstall the system. your dad may have deleted some kernel files from the fileviewer XD
  6. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,185 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    ^This^
    If it won't reset... then, you may need to download some compatiable firmware for it.

    Either android; or, I believe, a modified Windows CE 6.0 will work.

    There are some forums around that have the files and info you may need.

    Here is a website that has the file and instructions for a 7", that is why I was wondering what you had.

    7 Inch Android netbook restore software - WM8650

    I had a tablet, with that chip in it, that I messed with... before it decide to go terminal.

    Yep, after looking, it seems that those don't have them, that I can tell.
  7. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Can you just reflash the stock rom
  8. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    I'd need a bit more guidance than that :eek: or perhaps you can point me to some online instructions?

    Thing is that as soon as I power up this netbook I get the Android logo and the version, and it stays like that (see photo in first post). No keys work, the mousepad doesn't, the reset button just turns it off, putting in a pendrive does nothing, and I don't know what I'm supposed to put on an SD card to make it boot, and whether I need to enter the bios to choose load order (like a normal pc). What's worse, I've never seen it working correctly so I don't even know what it's supposed to look like when it loads. :laugh: I have zero experience on anything which is not Windows...

    Edit:

    --The most important thing for me now is what to do to make this machine responsive to an SD card or USB to reinstall the OS, or perhaps even to 'reset it to factory settings' without going into a lot of trouble.
    --Then also whether I should reinstall Android 2.2 as was originally, or whether it is better to go for Windows CE or some other OS?
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  9. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,185 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Try this, maybe it will work... I hope.

    Disconnect the battery.
    Press and hold the power button until the Power LED does not flicker, or light up, any longer.
    Plug in battery & charger and see if it powers up correctly.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,682 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    you're gunna have to find out how to reset it in download (firmware upgrade) mode, and flash a new firmware to it.
  11. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    I tried some firmwares for the WM8650, but it's even worse now.

    As soon as I booted with the SD card in place all I got was a horizontal line on the screen. Not even an android logo... :(
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,682 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    you'll likely need to flash a new kernel and ROM at the same time - they'll need to match. the ofifcial ones may not be easily available, so look into custom roms that come with a kernel. may take multiple flashes of the same rom to get them to stick (first flash sometimes does the partitioning, with the second attempt actually succeeding)
  13. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    So this one should work? Or is it indispensible that I find one for 10 inch netbook?

    I also found several downloads for the WM8650 which contain a folder called FirmwareInstall and a file called wmt_scriptcmd

    Are those OK? ie they should work if I keep persisting?

    ___________________________________________

    Edit:

    Trying something....

    Getting this:

    [​IMG]

    ___________________________________________

    Edit again:

    Trying Uberoid something...

    [​IMG]

    But I'm getting this...

    [​IMG]

    It's been like this for over 5 minutes now. But I think this thing is slow... :confused:

    ___________________________________________


    Final edit.................


    YAY!!! :D:rockout::D:rockout::D

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2013
    95Viper and de.das.dude say thanks.
  14. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,185 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Sorry, I did not get back to you... I was under the weather.
    However, I see you handled it with your usual tenaciousness and technical abilities.:)

    Glad you got it solved, BP...:toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page