1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help on choosing my power supply unit

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Geoffie, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. Geoffie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm building a new pc. Some parts I already have (they are marked with *), other parts are still open for discussion (like the graphics card, but I posted that on the graphics card section). At a certain moment buying parts I came across a great deal on the Corsair Gold AX850 pro. I did a fast calculation on http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine and felt I couldn't let this psu go out of my hands. But now I have a clearer view on what my pc will be and I was wondering if the AX850 will still do the job. The box is still sealed so I could probably sell it for the price I bought it and then buy myself a Corsair Gold AX1200. I know that's way too much power for what I need but there isn't a 1000W model in that Gold AX pro range from Corsair and one thing I am sure of is that I want a Gold AX pro model from Corsair.

    So will the AX850 do the job?

    My intention is: video editing (probably with pinnacle), blu ray burning and playback, gaming like Crysis 2, Diablo III and Black Ops 2. I give you a list of my speqs. Some more facts that I can give: I think the pc will be on for an average of 8 hours a day and I want to use my system 4 years without problems. I have the ambition to overclock (see further). I do not have the ambition to put graphic cards in SLI.

    Speqs

    Cooler Master HAF X (standard 4 fans and probably upgrade it with an extra red LED top fan)
    ASUS Sabertooth X79
    *Intel i7-3930k (c2) (possible I will overclock, but not extremely, 4.0-4.2 @ 1.5v, if achievable with given speqs, I don't want to take it to an extra level (read custom water cooling) )
    Corsair H100i (comes with 2 fans, probably add 2 more red led fans to have a push-pull configuration)
    *Corsair Vengeance Quad Channel Memory DDR3 16gb (4x4) 1866 C9 (9-10-9-27)
    Samsung 840 Pro 128gb SSD (if sufficient for system and applicatons, otherwise 256 model?)
    Crucial M4 512gb SSD (for 'My documents')
    * IDE drive 7200 RMP 512gb from my old system that I will use as auto-backup
    LG BH10LS38 blu-ray burner
    * DELL UltraSharp U2711b (= 27" WQHD 2560x1600)
    GTX 670 or 680 (4GB from ASUS or EVGA) or HD7970 (3GB brand???)
    * TV tuner from my old system
    * Windows 7 Ultimate and Office 2010 Home and Student
  2. Play3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    AX850 will do fine. depending on how you want to spend etc a 750w would do the job very easily aswell, as long as its at least bronze. do you plan on adding anything else to the system later? eg crossfire/sli gfx cards.

    PS: Sabertooth X79 doesn't have an IDE slot
  3. Geoffie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's not really my intention to SLI or Crossfire although I'm not excluding it. If it would be the case than it would be for exemple in 2 years from now, if I can still get the same graphics card on ebay for exemple, than I might consider it since it will be much less money than and at that moment it might power up my system a bit. Furthermore I don't think of adding much more.

    It's a regular hard disk from my old system, thought that was IDE. How would I connect it than? It could me something else (SATA?), I don't know, I would have to dig for that...
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorā„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    If your hard disk is IDE you can't connect it to that motherboard directly. You'd need to buy an IDE to SATA converter card. I heard they're very cheap..
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,509 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    600w would be enough for you. the AX850 is overkill.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,447 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    DDD, you have to realize that SB-E is 130W stock so any OCing plus a GTX 680 and the rest of the stuff maybe more wattage than you think. AX850 would be more comfortable especially if he decides to SLI later.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,791 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,324
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Also the corsair unit is a very good unit. What ever psu you get make sure it is of good quality and has a strong 12v rail. I just fried a cheapie 600 watt unit in a Phenom II rig running a gtx 280 because it had a weak 12v rail. I have a 700 watt decent unit in it now and a Corsair TX 650 on the way for it. Just make sure you have amps on the 12v rail for your rig.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    IDE drives are also terribly slow. If you have the money, get a new drive, preferably one that has 1TB platters if you're looking for decent speeds.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page