1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

need help overclocking GTX 670

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by john.sa, Aug 31, 2012.

  1. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    bernie3674: what? u overclocked one GPU up to 1270 Core and another one up to 1215mhz ?

    i have an MSI OC edition and i cant even overclock beyond 1080mhz Core man.

    why is that?

    what fps u get on heaven unigen 2.5 max setting at 1920*1200 with the 4xAA ?

    I get 58fps on average.
     
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    No! they have the same temperature limit. Basically when you bump up the mhz you also should bump the power target or TDP.

    And your still beating that dead horse argument?

    You're not doing it right, thats why you can't overclock.

    Also overclocking your memory is nearly pointless as it does not yield much performance boost compared to core overclocking.
     
  3. bernie3674 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The new Kelper gpu varies from each sample. Sometimes u get a good card that can hit 1270, and sometimes u get a crappy one.... It's something has to do with nvidia. For heaven test, I don't remember cuz I always run 8xaa, and I'm sli at 2560x1600, so my current result can't be a good comparasion. If I remember I will run a test tomorrow and post here
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not really. Everything is like this. Luck of the draw. Your part will not overclock the same as the other. Every chip is different.
     
  5. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    then how i can overclock properly?

    i cant believe i cant even overclock higher than 1085mhz on Core even when i maximize the TDP and Voltage.

    My screen would turn black after 20 mins or 30 mins of benching or gaming and everything resets and the game crashes if i overclock higher.

    this is sucks man. please anyone who is an experienced overclocker help me with this.

    I would pay $20 for your help to your paypal.....
     
  6. bernie3674 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Are u using the default fan profile? If so, adjust it and make sure ur gpu is under 70c at all time. But most likely u just got a card that doesnt want to oc as high as the other ones
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    Many of us are experienced in overclocking GPU's. What MxPhenom says, and I agree is your card just isn't a very good overclocker. The only things I can see working as of now is getting a better cooler (be it air or watercooling) or getting a different card. I've run CrossFire and Sli systems and there have been a couple of times where one of my cards overclock like a beast and the other like a slug. You, unfortunately have a slug.
     
    MxPhenom 216 and Solaris17 say thanks.
  8. Black Mesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Canada
    Somehow I think nvidia tried to hard to reinvent the wheel this time around well with there Boost clock shenanigans and adaptive Vsync if it ain't broke don't fix it seems fitting in this situation. Better cooling seems to be in order when aspiring to max out the OCing on these 6xx series cards because of the thermal throttling that takes place. Such a shame.
     
  9. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    its not that easy. i think i have to play with TDP. i feel like the less the TDP is, the more i can bench or game before i get black screen and get a reset. i dont know why.

    what does this symptom sounds like?

    I think if anyone of you could remotely connect to my computer over the internet and check things for yourself, it would be great. and yes i would pay.
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Adaptive Vsync has nothing to do with this issue. The OP also has a reference 670 the MSI OC

    MSI N670GTX-PM2D2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 670 2GB 256-bi...

    And the reference 670s don't seem to clock all that well compared to the non-reference cards like the PE MSI version or Asus DirectCUs.

    The OP may have gotten a lemon at this point.

    Sounds like your PSU is not supplying enough power to the GPU when your boosting the power target. What PSU do you have specificially. Some Antec PSUs are good, some are utter shit.
     
  11. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,224 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    If you black screen at all.. Doesn't matter how long it takes you to black screen, the system is not stable. Using how long it takes you to black screen, is not a good way to measure stability at all. It just means the bug got you at a different time.. I'm agreeing at this point your gpu is likely just not a good overclocker..

    Differences between a 670 and a 680 matter, IF you have a system and set up that would be better suited for the 680. Higher res runs better on the 680.. A 690 though would be total overkill, for someone considering to get a 670 if the price was an issue.

    It'd be like me sayign "hey I want to build a single gpu system" then someone telling me I need to go sli.. My 680 does fine all by it's self..

    About a 690 vs a 680 though.. Again a pointless argument in any sense of the word.. That's like comparing 2 680's vs 1 680.. Price and performance wise.. Makes no sense what so ever.
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Its not even about that. He says the 680 is a worthless card in another thread and that the 670 is the same performance. But i beg to differ because reviews show the 670 about 10% slower in most games then the 680 and thats even at 1080P. Above that the 680/HD7970 reign supreme by a fair margin. Him saying get a 670 or save for a 690 makes me cringe with confusion. That would make sense if the 690 was anywhere near the price point of the 670/680, but its not its $1000. Just does not make sense to me.

    But regardless, his card most like does not overclock well. Its a reference 670 and its MSI.
     
    Zubasa and D007 say thanks.
  13. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,224 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Lol I hear ya. I don't even want to get into it. Even trying to contemplate it, is giving me a headache.. Makes no sense..
    Pay 300 for one card.
    Pay 500 for one card.
    pay 1000 for one card..lol..
     
  14. Black Mesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Canada
    Um ya it does the point is they are both gimmickry. OP needs to simmer down.
     
  15. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    The funny thing is it doesn't NEED to be overclocked at all. I know it's just in our nature to do it but honestly we end up talking a 5-10FPS difference in the end.

    Not worth the headache when the card AS IS has no issues running every game at high settings and gets great FPS.

    I've put an absolute ZERO effort OC on my card 100Mhz/50Mhz probably doesn't make ANY difference but hey old habits die hard. But then I haven't actually seen how far it CAN overclock either. Why? because I don' NEED too. The card handles everything just fine.

    My days of chasing a couple extra FPS or a few more points in 3D Mark are long behind me.
     
    Black Mesa says thanks.
  16. Black Mesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanx for talking logic OCing is a gimmick and IMHO if you need substantially more performance buy a faster card or buy two faster cards. IMHO OCing is stupid I mean 1-3fps on the low end typical and 5-10fps on the high end and the min framerates remain about the same as stock clocks LOL.
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    With newer hardware.. I can agree somewhat. Overclocking is freaking awesome if you're using older hardware and truly need the extra FPS. Then again, I overclock my hardware just to do it. It does help me with games like BF3 where it will use all of those OC'd cores but that's about it.
     
  18. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    dont get me wrong. GTX 670 is a mean card. but man i am disappointed that i cant get the card overclocked as high as some of the benchmarks on websites.

    i paid more than $700 for this card and bought it on finance.

    overclocking gives u free performance. u know free isnt bad.
     
  19. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,224 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    U Paid WHAT?!?!?!?!? for a 670?!?!?!? :shadedshu
    That's more than a 680 costs.............

    As for Ocing.. I just like doing it, it's fun...lol..
     
  20. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah. it worked out more than $700 when i got it on finance.

    now im paying $30 to the finance company every 2 weeks.
     
  21. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,224 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Lol idk what to say.. The day has come when buying a new card, is like buying a new car.. :laugh:
     
  22. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  23. bernie3674 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Holy crap that's expensive...
     
  24. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it was on special for $600. but i got it on finance cuz i couldnt afford paying it myself in cash.

    when i bought it on finance, it worked out to be more than $700.
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    Folks from New Zealand and Austrailia pay much higher prices.
     
    THE_EGG says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page