1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help overclocking Phenom II 955 BE

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by [H]@RD5TUFF, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Okay so I have general idea of what I want to do, I want to straight up OC by increasing the multiplier, but I want to know what core voltage I need to atain a stable 4 Ghz and what temps I should expect and whats safe.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,494 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,909
    On a 955 core voltage can vary at 4ghz. Start at 1.4v (which would be a great chip if it works) and work your way up. Once the CPU temp hits 60c it will effect stability so the bigger the cooler (or water cooling) the better off you'll be. It's probablly best to keep your RAM running at 1333mhz for now so it doesn't put any extra stress on the memory controller. :)
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    @ 3.8 ghz 1.4 v doesn't cut it but it does seem to be okay @ 1.45v and I'm running an H80 for a cooler so it never breaks 42c even under 100% load. Would you think if I went to 1.5v I could reach say 4.3 ghz? or maybe more, what kind of life span would that give me.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,494 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,909
    955's just don't go over 4ghz on air or water. With 1.45v at 3.8ghz you will be lucky if it is stable at 1.5v, 4ghz. Seems like you're covered for cooling. 1.55v is the "limit" according to AMD, but there will probably be some degredation over a year or so using 1.5v
  5. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Much appreciated, seems I have a chip with a taste for high voltage.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea, 955BE and 965BE loved higher voltages and most never reached over 4Ghz. I have had around 20 Phenom II BE quads and only 2 reached 4GHz with around 1.5V. Thuban is more of a clocker in terms of voltages I have noticed.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Well I have began the process of backing the voltage down ATM I am @ 1.475 v @ 4ghz and everything seems to be stable, but I am going to fire up burnin and let it go for about 24 hours, then throw futuremark and some other stuff to see if I can get it to crack.
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Nice voltages! If it can survive the tests then that chip would be a keeper!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Now you said you have a 955 Black..... Pretty sure that's a C2 stepping, in which case like to leak voltages. Be happy at 3.8Ghz, [H].
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    if its a c2, and does 4ghz with 1.5, then its definetly a keeper;)
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  11. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yeah found that out after making the purchase, but I got it for $60 brand new, so either way I am fairly happy.


    So far so good @ 1.475v @ 4Ghz, been running burnin for 3 hours so far ( @ 41c load ) and all seems right with the world so far.

    Also this
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,494 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,909
    3 hours burn test plus playing some games stable, I'd call that stable. :) As far as games go with stability, play some games using the Source engine like HL2, TF2, Portal, etc. Those games have shown me instability more than most. Anyways, once you have things "locked in", try increasing the CPU/NB (IMC) frequency a bit as that will yeild even more performance. Having low/tight timings on the RAM will definitely help too. Though, increasing CPU/NB frequency/voltage will bring more heat as well, so keep an eye on things. :toast:
  13. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I have played Global Agenda, Dirt 3, and about 15 mins of TF2, all seemed rock solid. Going to throw Shogun 2 at it this evening. I am honestly growing more and more convinced I can break 4GHZ @ 1.5 v .


    Also this as validation. :D


    Oh and the machine has been running uTorrent, and streaming some movies over the network while doing burnin.
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Looks like a awesome chip!!
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    lets wait for a few days after that testing, many times, when i was able to stabilize a system, around the 4 ghz mark, it almost always lost its stability after a day or two;)
  16. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    We'll see, I am pretty convinced in the stability department, also I like the temps a max of 47 c during the hottest part of the day in the hottest room of the house.
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page